We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sayan Terrace Resort
Ranked #72 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Yes the views are spectacular! We did not regret our three night stay, but had conditions been better we would have stayed for weeks...as we are in Ubud for awhile. The staff is very sweet, but completely incompetent. We live in China and have a lot of patience for this kind of stuff...but every day we had the same conversations! You must order your breakfast the night before, which is fine, but we made it simple (or so we thought) and said the same food, every morning (we were to stay for 8 nights) at the same time. Every morning we would have to call to ask where was the breakfast. "Oh, but you never order." Then we had major construction directly in front of our room starting at 8am! We had blurry eyed workers staring at us while eating. We accepted the construction saying we would leave by 9 am everyday since we thought the room rate was fair. Overall, great grounds, but with an incompetent staff there are too many places to stay in Ubud. As we left, the manager apologized for the very loud construction saying it would be finished in two months! We are understanding people, but...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeandXiaoHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is a small hotel. Simple but comfortable. Of course it is not a 5 stars hotel, but the bed is very comfortable and the rooms are clean ! We asked the hotel to organize a field trip for us. I really liked it. The breakfast is simple but good (home made pancakes and omelet) and you can enjoy a beautiful view.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DavidGR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have been a couple of days in this beautiful resort. It is small but as soon as you get in you feel the peace of the place and you relax immediately from the traffic outside. My room (very big) had a big terrace with direct view on the rice fields and forest. Unbelievable views and atmosphere.
Kind staff.
All positive and I highly recommend the place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mottina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The good news is that the price is right and the view of the Sayan valley is unbelievable from most rooms and from the pool. It is spectacular. the food is also good and the staff is very friendly.
The bad news is that the hotel itself is in a general state of disrepair -- lots of mold and crud. the wifi doesn't really work all too well.
This hotel is outside of central Ubud and you really will have to take a car to get anywhere. As in most of Bali, it is not safe to walk around. If you are lucky to find a sidewalk, chances are pretty good that it will be in very poor condition.
It is possible to do a hike from here -- but you MUST take a guide. It is very dangerous (even with a guide) and you could easily get lost. Don't assume that you can follow the LP map and be okay -- you won't be. If you plan on hiking the Sayan valley, walking sticks and proper shoes are highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are several room options -- apparently all of them have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Good choice if you want to stay in the Ubud area away from the crowds. Only downside is the unfinished building behind the hotel. For the rest, it's certainly a place we recommend. Go for room 105! And... I had the best nasi campur here ;-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Huibert74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This is a review of some perfect walks that start at the Sayan Terrace Hotel and I would advise ONLY to do with a guide as:

a) its more fun if someone explains to you all the local plants, views and houses

b) the trail is at some points hazardous and also not easy to follow, you might get easily lost

Two general options:

A circuit around the river or following the river initially and the continue to the rice fields

Both walks are around 2-3 hrs at a leisurely pace and lead through some really beautiful areas with abundant local flora !

The guides will usually end the walk in their village where you can taste some organically grown teas and coffees and chocolate, they are also happy to drive you home to your hotel or villa

Did not meet a single other tourist on both walks, but amazing views and real jungle feel.

Make sure you bring adequate footwear, there are some steep and slippery passages and some sections are on small ridges, so you should be surefooted as well.

One guide who is especially good is usually resident at the Terrace Hotel, but can also be booked by phone:

Gusti Ngurah Arya
+62 81 337 364 144

2-3 hr guided tour will set you back around 300k IDR

Highly recommended for some inside into the valleys and the local communities

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
15  Thank Isselerhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just spent a week at the Sayan Terrace Resort at the end of September and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quite and lack of crowds. If you enjoy hotel style rooms and big buffet restaurants, swim up bars and the like (which all come at an expensive price) then book elsewhere. Sayan Terrace is small resort with secluded one room and family style villas located about 5 kilometers or a little bit more from the centre of Ubud . The Garden Restaurant (about three tables in the open) is very limited but why eat there?. Every night we took a taxi into Ubud and ate at a different restaurant every night. We took advantage of the Resort's one free shuttle into Ubud each day and paid for taxi back (only 50,000 IRP). Ordering the free breakfast delivered to your room each morning and sitting on the balcony or porch of your accommodation and taking in the view was so relaxing. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The day we left we had to leave the resort at 6:00AM to go the airport and they arranged to deliver our breakfast to our villa at 5:30 in the morning. How's that for service!.
We will definitely consider staying at the Sayan Terrace Resort again on our next holiday to Bali

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 197 in Ubud
546 reviews
3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 197 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayan Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayan Terrace Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Sayan | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayan Terrace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sayan Terrace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayan Terrace Hotel Ubud
Sayan Terrace Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing