We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper honeymoon relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #6 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper honeymoon relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having spent a great week in Perth with friends before travelling to Bali, we were ready for some real down time when we got here. The taxi ride from the airport was fine, it's a bit of a trip, almost an hour, but that was expected and traffic wasn't too bad. Once we got to the hotel, it was smooth sailing. Complimentary cocktails on arrival and lovely little biscuits (which I grazed on the entire time we were there) were a welcome respite while checking in, which was relatively quick and easy although I think they were a little surprised at me doing all the talking and accounting rather than my husband!
I had chosen a premium valley pool villa, which was absolutely lovely. It really was secluded in that no one else could see you while in the room or on the balcony or in the pool. The view out over the rainforest was absolutely spectacular. The suite itself was huge - bed was so comfortable and the nightly turndown service is such a nice touch, along with the lovely cotton 'nightdresses' that are left for you - very comforable in high humidity I have to say. The bathroom was two separate areas- one with his and hers wash basins and dressing areas and then a separate area where the bath and indoor and outdoor showers are. My husband really liked the outdoor shower - I'm an indoor girl!
What I noted was that they have everything you could possibly want from a necessity point of view, down to having insect repellant on the balcony so if you are a traveller unfortunate enough to lost their luggage, you will be fine here. If this is where you end up, you will have all the toiletries you need and something to sleep in for the night, rather than your own clothes. Luckily that wasn't us but I did think about it during our time there - it really is the little details that make the difference!
The suite had a private pool which was so nice. Only issue with our room was that it was downstairs so we lost the sun quite early in the day, which was a shame but didn't detract from lovely early morning swims post breakfast. You could choose to have your breakfast (which was very tasty every morning) just about anywhere in the resort but most mornings we made the effort to go the restaurant and enjoy the view.
The resort itself is full of little areas that you can go and hide in. There are two pools, a lovely terrace upstairs from the main restaurant, a lovely shaded lounge area where classes happen (particularly handy if it rains).
My one and only real gripe, and this probably is more of a personal thing, is that while staff were lovely, the attention could be a little over-bearing at times. The frequency with which you are asked how your day is going and what your itinerary for the day is became somewhat annoying for me after day 2. Friendliness and helpfulness are always appreciated but my one bit of advice would be to maybe hold back a little and if guests really need it, they will more than likely ask for assistance!
We really enjoyed our little trips into Ubud and the visit to the monkey forrest was nice too. The shuttle that takes you from the hotel into town is a great service and we used it all the time, getting picked up at Komaneka at Monkey Forrest, who always had little bottles of water at the ready for the weary shoppers.
If I was ever in this part of the world again, I would definitely go back and enjoy the delights of Komaneka and Ubud once again.

Room Tip: If you are going for a valley pool villa, ask for one upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neevus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    138
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
181
1,240
37
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
De Panne, Belgium
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

During our stay in Komaneka at Bisma we had a visit to this nice sister hotel.
Again a perfect experience, but the meal prepared by the Chef Executive Mr. Wayan Bagiana and his Staf was Devine just like the service. An address to remember during our next visits to Ubud and we hope there will be many of them

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcetannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for a few nights at the end of our trip to Indonesia. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect way to end our holiday! The resort itself is set in lush hillside forest with spectacular views from the restaurant and our room. We booked a premier valley pool room which was just stunning. Spacious bedroom and living area, enormous bathroom with his and hers sinks and wardrobe areas, a roll top bath overlooking the pool and forest, and both indoor and outdoor showers. The TV had a great selection of movies via Apple TV which was great for when we were relaxing in the room. We could see the sun come up from our bed, the view was unforgettable. Was also great to have a private pool area and outdoor space to ourselves. The food was excellent and really well priced, with a generous breakfast included. But the main highlight was the staff! They really made us feel special, so attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The complimentary afternoon tea was excellent and they showed my husband and I how to make 'offerings' which was a lovely touch. There is also complimentary wood carving and yoga. Highly recommend booking the cycling tour through local villages and rice fields which was organised and hosted by the hotel staff. They also arranged scooters for us for a very reasonable price so we were able to take our own excursion to the volcano. The hotel is a few km away from Ubud centre but there's a regular shuttle (which is a hotel taxi!) and the cabs are really cheap and plentiful anyway. All in all a great base from which to explore Ubud with staff that made the experience feel truly cultural and utterly unforgettable!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natlefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was really expecting something completely different. Considering the price, I was thinking it would be one of those top luxury boutiques all white and perfect... but wrong i was.
This place has a lot of heart and soul... mostly thanks to the employees who truly try to make you happy. The two pools are lovely and the jungle views truly fantastic.
The villa was very nice , the outdoor stone bathtub was lovely and the private pool very sweet (if only a tad too cold in december).

Would i go back? Absolutely.
Is it worth your money? Yes.
Is it a place for children? No

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This resort exceeded all our expectations......
From the moment we stepped into the compact but cozy lobby the staff went out of their way to make us feel at Home. The staff made it a point to remember first names, likes and dislikes. My daughter and I are vegetarians and they went to the extent of printing us a separate vegetarian menu. The food was excellent.
The property is nestled in the middle of rice fields. We stayed at the pool villa. The rooms are spacious and well stocked with everything you may need during your stay. The swimming pool overlooks the rice fields. The washroom is spacious with a rustic feel to it.
The property is a little away from the town but there are hourly shuttles which work great for any shopping or sight seeing.
We would highly recommend Komaneka Tangayudda to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMAILROOPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Probably one of the best Hotels i have stayed in long time. It was so good that there is not much to say. The service was incredible, every single member of the staff was trying to any they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were upgraded to a private pool villa and it was just incredible with a view into the jungle.
It was very nice and quiet and all you could hear at night was the sound of the jungle.

My only regret is that the Spa was fully booked and we couldn't try it out.

Room Tip: if you can afford, get a private villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDeluxe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Komaneka at Tanggayuda is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. It's small property (in terms of rooms/villas) and it felt very warm and homey. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a nice cool drink and a cold towel. One of the staff explained to us about the facilities and concept of the hotel. After filling up some information, we were taken to our room. We booked a suite but were upgraded to a valley pool villa! What a nice surprise!
The villa was beautiful, with a nice view over the valley and rice fields. It had a small but very nice pool. Inside, we were amazed by the amenities and style. Top notch! It even had an Apple TV loaded with lots of good music and movies. The bathroom was massive with an amazing bathtub. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept like babies.
The hotel has 2 infinity pools, both extremely beautiful. They don't get sun at the same time so you can actually switch during the day.
The food was absolutely delicious. We had breakfast everyday, lunch, room service and even the afternoon tea. We were never disappointed. Upon check in, they asked if we had any allergies or dietary requirements. I'm lactose intolerant, and when I went to the restaurant later that day, they had removed the all food containing dairy products from the menu! And every page on the menu had my name on top of it! We were stunned.
Service is definitely the best I've ever had. Staff is attentive and approachable, always smiling. They call you Babak (for men) and Ibu (for women). Most of them seemed to know our first name which was really impressive. We felt at home, and actually, when you're coming back after leaving the hotel (whether for a day trip or a quick walk), they welcome you with a "welcome back home!". Amazing.
Regarding the location, it's about 15 minutes from Ubud centre. Quite honestly, we didn't mind at all. There's a shuttle to Ubud regularly and that was just fine. We also did a morning walk nearby the hotel for 2 hours, leaving around 6am. Although it was overpriced in my opinion (about 50USD), I still think it was worth it as our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable.
I'm dreaming of going back and would recommend this hotel to anyone especially couples. It's a perfect place for relaxation and/or romance. I can't find anything bad to say about Komaneka at Tanggayuda. I fell in love with that place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing