We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Amazing; Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #6 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Amazing; Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in April for 4 nights based on the fantastic reviews and weren't disappointed in the slightest! It's hard to know where to start given that there are so many positives:

- I've never stayed in a hotel which offers such an amazing level of service. Everyone is incredibly friendly and goes out of their way to help you with anything you need, spend time explaining where everything can be found in your room and what it does, learn your name, stop and say hello to you etc.
- The hotel itself is a lush paradise, with an incredible infinity pool looking out over the forest views. The grounds are very well kept. We didn't even use the second pool as the main one was so perfect and was never even that busy!
- We were upgraded from our courtyard pool villa to the next pool villa up, which was really special. Not only was it massive, had its own private pool overlooking the forest, lovely outdoor bath, but also some nice home comforts such as Apple TV with lots of pre-stored films and fresh fruit and cookies to keep you going for snacks.
- The breakfast was really good and reasonably varied. We also had a special dinner included on one of our nights, where we had our own waiter and service provided on the very top floor of the restaurant under the stars, which was unforgetable.
- While we never had the free afternoon tea at the Komaneka Tanggayuda, we did take advantage of it at one of the sister hotels, Komaneka Monkey Forest, where we were treated with exactly the same level of service, friendliness etc.

The location is arguably the only negative, being about 15-20 mins drive from the centre of Ubud, but the hotel puts on a free shuttle every hour or so until about 10pm which is handy and some people may view the distance as a good thing in terms of being away from it all.

Just a few things to add as being helpful for prospective travellers:

- expect to pay about 250,000 to 300,000 Rupiah for a taxi from Denpasar airport (this is quite a bit cheaper than the rate offered by the hotel);
- while we landed quite late from our flight from Hong Kong with Garuda (about 8pm), we didn't have any queues at immigration so don't necessarily think you need to pay for the hotel's optional "fast track" service through immigration;
- if you like white water rafting, definitely do the rafting in the river about 1 hour away by bus transfer (this is about grade III-IV rapids and much more fun I would imagine than the rafting offered more locally)!

We were very sad to leave, but have great memories of our stay and would 100% recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Ubud!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnH1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    138
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
181
1,240
37
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for more than this hotel...every single thing was fabulous. If you want a time out in luxury, this is the place...rooms with private pools, breakfast served anytime of the day under your pool cabana, free afternoon tea, great food, excellent service..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilylondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

You really will not believe how beautiful the place is until you go there. Such an epic view into the jungle off the resort with infinity pools spilling into the jungle, restaurant that shares the view of the whole valley, and shuttles into Ubud centre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexBud2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul mn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

After a vacation at a chain hotel with too many people and predictability. my memory goes to my stay last year at this amazing place. I was there as a single traveler but never felt either lonely or intruded upon. The staff was so gracious, the serenity wonderful, and everything as perfect as could be. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Superb service. The best I have experienced in my life. The environment is excellent, however it's the people that really stand out. They let me feel that they are trying their best to make the guests comfortable. They are nice, generous, I wondered how they are so motivated and even want to have a talk with their owner/management team to learn a lesson :) Maya Ubud(which we stayed another 2 nights) is bigger and maybe have better view, but the service and feeling this Komaneka provided to guests absolutely excels in many details. Wonderful experience, btw their food quality is also very good, I especially like the duck.

If going back to Ubud, I definitely want to stay at this place again. Really want to thanks the staff there for such an wonderful experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdccaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've never experienced such hospitality! Before our last day, we were plotting our return. The beauty of the Komaneka experience is that whichever resort you stay at, you can use the facilities at any of them. Bisma has a particularly nice spa and large pool and gym. But we personally preferred the Tanggayuda because it is truly "away from it all" and our pool villa was sublime. We understand there's a new Komaneka going up on the beach, too. Given the huge breakfast included in the room price, the caliber of the huge rooms themselves, and the unbelievable graciousness of the management and staff (and even the owners whom we were delighted to run into) I can imagine we'll ever stay anywhere else when in Bali.

Room Tip: Premiere Pool Villas--never thought I'd care about having a pool on my own deck, but there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVBLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I am apprehensive about writing how wonderful this place is for fear of the whole world discovering the true gems that shine brightly in the Komaneka group of resorts! I have already written a glowing review (and lengthy synopsis) of Komaneka Bisma, and alas, the only thing that could come close to equalling that superb place would be one of it's sister resorts, Komaneka at Tanggayuda. I will simply add here, that like it's counterpart at Bisma, this resort is amazing!

In comparison to Bisma, Tanggayuda is incredibly peaceful and quiet, has an amazing expansive mountain backdrop, and is a true secluded oasis! You tend to see more honeymooners & couples here rather than Bisma which does attract a few more families with its more varied room configurations. As for Bisma, the Tanggayuda resort is beautiful, the staff are excellent and the level of service is the most personalised we have encountered of all the 5-star resorts we have stayed in around the world (a huge thank you to Gengduk at Bisma, and Dewa at Tanggayuda). This does mean that it is located a little further from the centre of Ubud town - a mere 10 minute enjoyable shuttle ride (complimentary and departing every hour). I actually prefer the location, resort facilities and spa of Bisma; but I love the seclusion, spaciousness, peace and quiet, and the new Batukara restaurant with its amazing breakfast views at Tanggayuda.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa (Bale Daja) at Tanggayuda which is stunning - a 2 storey villa with 2 bedrooms, 2 huge ensuite bathrooms, study, living/dining, large L-shaped infinity pool and pool deck, a huge upstairs viewing deck with amazing mountain views, and wonderfully decorated with bespoke furnishings. We were only here 2 nights (having spent our first 3 nights at Bisma) and were so disappointed we couldn't have stayed for longer.

The most difficult aspect of our stay? Deciding which of these two superb resorts to return to next year…...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing