We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury, in a jungle setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #5 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury, in a jungle setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had the Premiere One-bedroom Valley Pool Villa, which was was luxurious, large and had jungle views. Our pool was fantastic and really private. Great for a skinny dip beneath the stars... The staff were really helpful and friendly, the food good and the massage great. Would love to return...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    140
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
187
1,250
38
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Room: Stayed in Premier Villa 101 for 6 nights. Spacious room with tons of windows overlooking the jungle. Loved the outdoor shower and huge soaking tub. Huge area for closets/storage/vanity. We had one of the "subterranean" rooms described by another Reviewer. I didn't find this to be a problem--the room had great views and every morning you wake to exotic jungle sounds. The private pool was huge and I welcomed the shade when the heat was searing in the afternoon. Do the special Red Light dinner---it is wonderful and they make the patio area truly beautiful.
Surroundings: The grounds are lovely, with tons of tropical flowers. It is true there is no bar--stay elsewhere if you want that kind of hotel. This place is about tranquility and enjoying nature. You can order drinks at the restaurant and they will bring them to the terrace. We enjoyed live, traditional music there with fruity cocktails. We loved the main pool as well as the small heated pool.
Service: 99.9% of hotels could take a lesson from Komaneka. Each villa is assigned a Personal Assistant. Everyone greets you by name and with a smile. We received a written itinerary upon our arrival, with all of the times, locations, etc of the activities I had pre-arranged. Yes, it is true the quality of English varies. But keep in mind this hotel is owned by locals and employs only locals. On an island where the average person makes $80 USD a month, providing skills and employment to the community is great.
Food: The breakfast is yummy. I loved the fresh banana bread and juices. Try some jackfruit! 24 hour room service is convenient if you just want to laze around your private pool.
Other: We really enjoyed the cooking class. You cook at this neat outdoor kitchen hut. We made more food than we could eat! The cycling trek was an adventure. We also liked the tree top picnic and trip to the lake temple. The spa is relaxing and affordable. Last but not least, we stayed one night at Rasa Sayang at the end of our trip. This is a nice hotel too---but we missed the tranquility of Tanggayuda. Personally, we found Ubud to be lacking in charm and overly touristy---so we relished in the privacy and natural beauty of Tanggayuda. Hopefully, someday, our paths will cross again!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are worth the extra money. The cheapest Valley rooms are walled in and some are set ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skigirl874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for a week in July and loved everything. The staff is wonderful. The spa was very nice and the prices are reasonable $45 for an hour massage. We stayed in room 101. We had a large bathroom with an indoor shower and an outdoor shower. The private infinity pool and deck overlooked the jungle and made for very peaceful afternoons. The hotel set up a bike tour for us through rice fields and small villages which we really enjoyed. The cooking class was special too. the chef takes you to the market in the morning to select items for the menu. In the evening you make two different menus. The other amazing thing about the hotel is the location- it is outside of Ubud (10 minute drive) which makes it peaceful. Ubud is a very busy/noisy city. It was great to be able to have our meals in peace and quiet looking at the jungle. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersin, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you are looking for a quiet, stylish retreat for yourself and a partner Komaneka at Tanggayuda is the place to stay. There is peaceful and quiet ambiance in the whole complex. This boutique hotel is elegant in the best Balinese style. We were noticing and appreciating beautiful touches and details all through our stay. The grounds are beautifly kept and are artistic in their own right. All the staff members actually know your name from day one.There is also a shuttle to Ubud and Neka Museum.

Room Tip: Valley pool villas are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sercin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have recently returned from my holiday travelling around Indonesia – which was an amazing experience… Ubud was our last stop and we spent a lot of time choosing the right property to end our trip. We choose Komaneka Tanggayuda as we wanted the valley and river ‘tree top’ views and out of town positioning that this hotel markets. We were also very much swayed by the consistent excellent reviews on tripadvisor. We specifically chose to stay in a premier valley pool villa as it specifically offers ‘spectacular views of the river valley’.

The room itself was very nice - spacious and well designed, in keeping with many of the very best international hotel brands that also have resorts around Ubud. Outside of the room - the experience itself was less impressive.

The room allocated to us was on a lower level - and absolutely does not offer the views that we expected or that were marketed to us. In my opinion these 'subterranean' rooms should not be categorised or priced as they are. Our full sized swimming pool was unusable - being cold (unheated) as its permanently in shade (as it tucked under the terrace of the room above) receiving no direct sunlight. Damp climbs the wall next to the pool - which adds to the overall ambience. All in all - disappointing and a waste of money. I did try to discuss this with the staff on site, but language was a barrier... all staff we encountered had a good but basic level of English and it was difficult to be understood when raising non-standard items such as our issues with room.

The other surprise is that this hotel does not have a bar..... not I am not alcohol dependant but when on holiday like to have a pre/post dinner drink. This means that the hotel has no central focus or heart... other then the main swimming pool (which has a noisy full kitchen right next to it - hidden by some 1970's glass bricks - all very strange!).

Clearly many fellow tripadvisor reviewers have absolutely loved their stay at Komaneka - and it is a perfectly pleasant environment. However... if you have previously visited similar upscale resorts (Chedi, Four Seasons etc.) you may find that Komaneka lacks the wow factor and overall quality that you come to expect from these other brands.

Room Tip: do not accept a premier pool valley room that is not top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Daily delicate touches made our stay most enjoyable. Personalized kimonos, nice decoration and artwork in every room... They even had a photographer come to the hotel to take our picture when we asked for help with our visas for a last minute visit to another country. We were very impressed with the staff. We also want to take this opportunity to recommend the chauffeur that served us while we were there: Alit Krisnu. This man was so very careful and professional. It was a real pleasure being driven around by him. Both him and the staff at Komaneka made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Bali. We had booked a suite room, but were upgraded to a pool villa (unsure if courtyard or valley), which was amazing! The room was large and very stylish. We loved the plunge pool (no it's not heated but we found this refreshing). We also loved the outdoor bath.

Breakfasts were huge and very good, we ate it in our room everyday rather than at the restaurant.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner on our first night. The food was good, and prices seemed good compared to the UK, but then when we went in Ubud itself, we realised that was probably a bit overpriced.

The main pools were wonderful, it was great feeling like you were in the middle of the forest while having a swim! In fact the whole resort was immaculate.

All staff were very attentive and helpful. The shuttle bus into Ubud was handy, but i would note, it does not take 15 minutes to get into Ubud! One afternoon due to traffic it took about 30. Just something to bear in mind.

This was the first time we've stayed in a 5 star hotel, so can't comment on how it compares to others, but we loved staying there and would recommend it! Perhaps if you want to be nearer the centre, pick one of their other hotels (Monkey Forest for example), but we liked being right out of the hustle and bustle of Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Destinology, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing