We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #5 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is a really great hotel. I booked because of some of the reviews on Tripadviser but wasn't totally convinced until I arrived. The pool villas are really nicely set out with plenty of space and views across the valley toward some rice terraces. They also have either indoor or outdoor stone bathtubs in a garden type setting which I found really relaxing. The whole complex is set on a hill and nicely spaced out for privacy. The main infinity pool is stunning although there isn't much space to enjoy the sun - maybe 8 sun loungers or so. We had the pool villa closest to the main pool so spent more time with our own plunge pool which was more than adequate to cool off.
Service at the hotel is really good - nothing is too much trouble for them. One night we had a Balinese themed dinner - traditional clothes, the plunge pool covered with petals, lanterns, candles, a really magical setting. They even spent half an hour or so putting flowers into my girlfriend's hair. I think it was about $120 for the whole evening with a set menu and ok wine, which considering all the attention and flowers is great value. (Reserve in advance as I think they can only do one or two of these per night and most couples are honeymoon or anniversary types). I also did a day trip with picnic around the island to see some of the temples and rice terraces. Again fabulous service, finding the best spot in the botanical gardens and putting pillows and mats to ensure our every comfort.
I was concerned about the location before going, but it's not too far from Ubud (about 20 minutes) and they have regular courtesy cars or you can book a taxi. Personally didn't think there was a huge amount in Ubud and prefered the rural location of Tangayuda to the other Komaneka properties. (They have three properties, Tangayuda being more luxurious and targetting honeymooners. Better villas and views. Also went to Monkey Forest Road which was nice enough and really central for Ubud but nowhere near as nice as Tangayuda). Also went to the Four Seasons at Sayan for lunch but it was way overpriced and empty. I think overall Komaneka at Tangayuda is a great option for somewhere really special, luxurious but without totally blowing the budget. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    142
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
190
1,271
38
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Everything about the Komaneka Tanggayuda is incredible. From the friendly staff who know your name from day 1, to the private plunge pools overlooking the Oos River Valley and rice fields. Absolutely the best hotel my partner and I have ever stayed at.

Of course, we selected Tanggayuda as the destination for our honeymoon after getting married at the Bali Padma Resort in Legian. We could not have asked for anything more and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelAndCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We found Komaneka's Tanggayuda branch to be a spacious, quiet and professionally run establishment. Everything from the pool to the restaurant, the spa to the guest rooms is stylish and meticulously maintained. We enjoyed all the personal touches--the staff knowing our names, works by local artists (there is even an on-site gallery), and the ubiquitous little cookies. While we really appreciated Ubud's many dining choices, Komaneka's restaurant was an excellent option when we chose to enjoy a day lounging around the hotel.

Service was uniformly outstanding from pick-up at the airport to check-in, restaurant to housekeeping. Anything we needed was anticipated almost before we could ask.

While the hotel is located outside Ubud, the frequent shuttle made getting to the center of town quick and easy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotchNSoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Just came back from staying 2 nights. Really enjoyed this hotel. Stayed in a Valley view villa with private plunge pool. Whole Villa set-up is fantastic. From the beautiful villa entrance, with water lillie outside, to the lovely walkway to our front door with scented plants along the way, this was something special.

There really is a wow factor when you wander down the walkway and spot your own private plunge pool at the end with gorgeous views of the forest and a hint of rice terraces and a huge day bed.

Past reviews advised that the plunge pool was cold and they are correct. But for some-one like me who hates cold pools, I even managed to have a dip just so I could experience what it was like to gaze out from the infinity pool to the forest view beyond. Well worth it!.

The villa room is lovely and exactly like the photos. Very clean and quite spacious with a huge bathroom at the back with a unique stone bath overlooking an enclosed outdoor pond.

Like most hotels in Ubud, afternoon tea is complimentary and can be served pretty much where you want. We chose our Villa on our outside day bed and also in the restaurant overlooking the main pool.

The hotel also offers free 24 hour internet in their library which we were very impressed with. The library has big windows with views over the gardens so you do not feel trapped in a dark room if you need to use the computer.

Staff were so very sweet and always called us by name. Considering I was there with my twin sister, that is no mean feat!

Although not right in the centre of Ubud, there is a private car which takes you there and picks you up every hour and the journey is quite pleasant and takes only approx 10 minutes. They were even happy to drop us off and pick us up from a restaurant along the way.

The resort is so serene and the Villa so lovely that we had trouble leaving our day bed. It was so relaxing to sit and simply gaze out to the Ubud forest, watch the ripples in your private plunge pool or a visiting butterly fluttering off .

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My boyfriend and I have spent 6 nights in this heaven (initially 5 nights but we extended our stay in spite of our plans already set for the rest of our stay)! The staff is excellent, very helpful, welcoming, and so so so nice. We were upgraded to a valley villa, the view is stunning, the private pool was great and the gazebo to have breakfast in the morning is just the perfect place. The food was great, from breakfast to lunch, to dinner. This is the place to go in Bali if you want to escape city life, taste balinese spirit. And it's not expensive it's great value for he money. If I just have to say one word: dont hesitate GO there

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieChamonixBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We checked in on July 9th till July 12th and the place was beyond expectation. Its private and that what we wanted for our honeymoon. The service was excellance, Utami and her team was very friendly and accommodative. It can be seen as a bit expensive otherwise its an excellent place for honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2009

One night in this beautiful hotel, a haven of peace! beautiful greenery, and very nice rooms bungalows! a cautionary note, however, it is far from the city center, 10 km away! and finish is surprising ... by roads and tiny ... incongruous! but entry into the courtyard of the hotel is all the more enjoyable!

And specially thanks so much for I Made Candra (balibestways.blogspot.com)best my Driver based ubud

Phillip

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancePhilippe_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,850 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.8 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing