We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #5 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

First I have to say that I plan most of my hotel stays based on tripadvisor reviews. Usually this is a great help, but this is the first time I simply do not understand how the hotel has such good reviews.

Both my partner and me travel quiet a lot and we appreciate luxury but are not fans of over the top venues. And we are def not very critical, but we were deeply disappointed by this hotel.

Some examples where we were disappointed
- the terrace with the pool was very dirty with leaves and all kind of things. It has not been cleaned for very long time
- there was construction work going on, just next to our "villa". Everyday from about 9 am-5 pm
- the view from to the valley was very disappointing and the pool was much smaller than what you expect from the pictures
- the spa was expensive

Considering that we paid USD 250 per night this is simply not acceptable.

We def would not recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank BrittaHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    141
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
189
1,258
38
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Our week at Tanggayuda was sensational - but left us wanting more! The attention to detail by the wonderful staff made our stay much more than just a holiday.
Our 'Komaneka Family' ensured that we wanted for nothing; our villa felt like a part of the village but the facilities and service meant we didn't go without the luxuries and pampering we enjoy.
The meals (especially our romatic dinner by the pool) and afternoon teas were too tempting to resist and the Balinese authenticity is a special touch.
We are already planning our next trip and will bring friends to enjoy the amazing experience that is Komaneka at Tanggayuda.
Thanks to all at KAT and the Tripadvisor reviews for the recommendation!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kliftop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed at the Komaneka at Tanggayuda for 4 days in between staying at the St. Regis at Nusa Dua. We wanted a base in Ubud from which we could explore the northern part of the island as well as all the art and craft villages in the vicinity.

While it cannot be compared to the opulence of the St. Regis, the property is charming, well-maintained and the staff are SUPERLATIVE. We stayed in the villas and loved the traditional architecture. Although the hotel is not the newest, or the most plush, all the furnishings and the property are kept in excellent condition. And our private plunge pools were worth the price of admission - it was unseasonably warm and humid and so it was lovely to lounge in the pool in complete privacy. I thought we would be eaten alive by mosquitos but I did not even see one.

The beds were large and comfortable and the bathrooms featured large volcanic stone tubs. There were so many complimentary extras - fresh flowers, fresh cookies, lots of bottled water.

I had several special requests for our rooms, and all were executed perfectly. Our entire trip was a birthday celebration - two of our travellers were celebrating milestone birthdays - and to honour their birthdays almost the entire staff of the hotel gathered in one our villas and presented them with two personalized birthday cakes with candles. They proceeded to sing them happy birthday and wished them most sincere good luck. It brought tears to our eyes - they really made us feel like family.

We ate exclusively at the hotel restaurant and sampled a lot of local fare - all delicious. We also had room service which arrived promptly, and was perfectly hot and fresh.

Regarding the hotel amenities: If you are a fitness buff the workout room is small but adequate - a recumbant bike and a universal would be a nice addition, however. Don't worry - there is plenty of exercise without the gym - lots of stairs at this property to keep you fit. My mom tried the Spa and thought it was wonderful. There is a nice little well-stocked gift shop. The free shuttle to town is frequent and quick. There are also lots of free activities. We took the free tour to Petulu and the local rice fields (definitely worth it), learned how to make baskets of offerings, and had a traditional Balinese afternoon tea break.

All in all a GREAT stay - raised several notches by the amazing staff and service. Would not hesitate to come back again.

A note about Ubud - we took several shopping trips into town and found few bargains. In general, we found anything of quality to be VERY expensive. Further, I lost sight of my wallet for one minute while at the counter of one of the puppet and mask shops - I turned around to catch a glimpse of a mask my mom had found - and found that it had been 'relieved' of about $250 dollars worth of Rupiah. Couldn't do anything about it as the shopkeeper would not fess up - and I should have known better. So tourists beware.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cal8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Komaneka at Tanggayuda for 4 nights at their Valley Pool Villa on their honeymoon package in mid-Jan 2010.

The Villa was excellent - fully air-conditioned with a spacious bedroom, and toilet area complete with rain shower, and stone bathtub. The Villa came with an outdoor small private pool, veranda, and deck chairs, all of which were cleaned daily.

The hotel staff were warm, friendly, and made us feel very much at home. The daily hourly complimentary shuttle van service to Ubud town was very useful. The special honeymoon dinner was delicious and included the popular local dish - crispy duck. The hotel restaurant was nicely decorated, and the menu offered Balinese and western dishes at reasonable prices. The in-house spa was well equipped and comfortable.

We were impressed in particular by:
(1) Access to the other 2 Komaneka resorts at Monkey Forest and Bisma: We were able to visit these 2 other resorts using the hotel's free shuttle van service. The hotel welcomes guests to use the facilities at the other resorts. The Monkey Forest location provides a useful rest point for travellers who wish to walk around Ubud town centre.
(2) Friendliness of staff: From the housecleaning staff, to the resort manager, all the staff whom we met were warm and friendly and tried their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Their service was professional and always given with a smile.

One thing we would have liked better done was the insects at the Villa. While the housecleaning staff took pains to minimise the chance of insects entering the indoor area (e.g. spraying insecticide on the outer edges of the villa), a small number invariably entered. Guests are provided with repellant, insecticide, and mosquito coils to aid with keeping insects away.

All in all, we would definitely recommend Komaneka at Tanggayuda to tourists travelling to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnarvon western australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Well we went back again and it was just as good this time as it was the first time. Our hidden paradise away from home. Of course everyting went smoothly from the airport pick up to the check in. Our room was right next to the resturant and the airconditioner was playing up so we were moved to a new room straight away.
Our first morning breakfast was of course chocolate croissants and indonesia breakfast. Our eyes were bigger than our stomachs so we took the chocolate croissants back to our room for later. Morning and afternoon teas were served by the pool with lovely indonesian treats (yum yum)
We decided to explore Ubud a little this time round and used the shuttle service to and from without any hassels. The resturants in Ubud have excellent service and food and you cant go past Tropical Seafood and Grill which is just down from the Ubud Markets. The food is great and the beer really cold and the service is - well it for yourselves. we went back five times.
We had a free candlelight dinner which we did not take so instead my husband had a free massage and I had a facial. (worth doing)
The staff are all great and know you by name from the first day. You do feel a little special and that is what Komaneka is all about - making you feel special and welcome.
The day we were ready to leave we were given two white komonos with our names on them as a gift from the staff since this was our second visit.
You can check out all the reviews and most of them are true - you may get the odd one that was not happy - but what do they want.
This is our home away from home in paradise and you cant go wrong with booking.
Thanks to April and the staff for another exceptional holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waimeha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

What a lovely hotel! My husband and I just spent 9 nights at the Komaneka at Tanggayuda and agree with all the prior positive reviews. It is not surprising that this hotel has stayed on top of the tripadvisor.com popularity list for the last few years. The grounds and villas are very special as are the friendly and attentive staff. We stayed in Valley View Pool Villa 106 and thoroughly enjoyed the privacy, atmospheric décor and tropical vegetation surrounding our abode. Each morning we awakened early to see magnificent sunrise over the rice fields beyond our villa.

Although the hotel is about 20 minutes out of town, the hotel provides frequent free shuttles. We took advantage of the hotel’s free excursions to the Nekka museum, the heron village at Petulu and delightful afternoon teas served at the Terrace Café with its sweeping views across the pool to the rice fields beyond. The cooking class that the hotel offers is wonderful…..early morning visit to the market in Ubud followed by an extensive cooking lesson probing the delights of the Balinese cuisine. Do not miss scheduling a “Red Light Dinner” one of the nights that you are there. We chose to have ours by the main pool, which was decorated with a multitude of candles, floating flowers, a special menu and our own waitress. Quite spectacular! The same dinner can also be scheduled in your own villa with flowers filling the pool and your courtyard filled with candles.

Bali offers many hotel choices. We believe the Komaneka at Tanggayuda is the best for those who would like a romantic, charming and tranquil stay!!

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Stayed again for the 2nd time in their valley pool villa`s .
And Surya and his staff spoiled us again. They welcome and treat you like family.
Even gave me six star service , when I came up with a special request.
Shuttle service is excellent.
As their huge,delicious breakfast , do try the crispy duck from their restaurant; it is even better than the one from famous ? Bebek Bengil restaurant .
Can only say hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing