We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
Ranked #105 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not for light sleepers”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

It would be perfect if not for the nightly traditional dance performance near the property.

Room: Great and spacious, especially that we were assigned with no. 1 villa (newly renovated) at ground level. The door opens into a sitting area where you would have in-villa meals. Everything else is great.

Staff initiative was lacking when there was a dog howling loudly outside the property; in the middle of the night with each episode lasting more than an hour, and short interval of less than 10 mins 'resting' time. When tried to phone the frontdesk, no one picked up the phone. No one was attending the frontdesk when we went to there; we also noticed many other guests were standing outside their villas trying to find the howling dog.

This went on for 2 nights (both the traditional dance performances involving drum beats and the dog howling), and the dog howling only stopped when we requested the staff to chase away the dog. After 2 sleepless nights, we had to cancel the remaining bookings and move to another location.

Aside from these, the villa would be perfect as the staff were generally very helpful and friendly (except for the initiative part) when approached.

Room Tip: Bring ear-plugs for light sleepers as the property is located conveniently along the belt of busiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quirkymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    76
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
115
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

stayed 7 days which was too long in a rather gloomy traditional styled room TV hair dryer, room lighting shower all pretty useless Hard surfaces in room needed thorough clean Breakfast adequate Had dinner first night but not again !!!!! Did not try spa Plus side ? Very private (occupancy was low ) not too much music noise from Monkey Forest Rd central to Ubud 2 mini tours thrown in were very good Staff were accommodating but poorly trained ( check out murky pool ) & had minimal English Would we stay again ? Possiblity not we have stayed in better places in Ubud

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Our stay was excellent, we got a Deluxe villa due to the fact that we have 2 children's but we end up sleeping at the top room all of us, this guys provide us with a mattress so all good, as someone else point it out TV is hopeless we couldn't watch news or anything at all during our visit. The boys at the front wonderful, breakfast for us was excellent, as much juice as you can drink lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elytenrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

One of the most beautiful rooms I've ever stayed in. I only wish they offered breakfast BUFFET!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaziarH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My friends and I just returned from our stay at Barong and thought it was a pretty lovely place to stay. We booked the two bedroom villa which includes a private pool and jungle view. Very typical of Ubud, which one would grow to love. Cleanliness was a big plus point for the villa - the pool was cleaned every morning. HUGE toilets were kept spick and span awaiting our daily return. :)

My friend left his glasses behind, only to realize it after leaving Bali. The staff were helpful enough to find them in some cupboard where it was hidden and help safeguard before someone collected on our behalf.

On the downside, there are mosquitos around the area and roosters crowing... but I suspect that's all part of the Ubud experience so you might get it anywhere you stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evewkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Booked a deluxe bungalow but was upgraded to a deluxe villa with pool! What a pleasant surprise! Bed was king size although the sheets had a slight musky smell. Pool was a real indulgent! We chilled out on the pool chairs at night moon gazing. Shops here oPens around 11am and close about 8. We had our complimentary breakfast in our villa with a choice of continental or american. Great plc for couples as the compound only has 10 or so units and all rather private. If u want a better view choose the deluxe bungalows as it's on the second floor with a big balcony, can overlook the surroundings with rice fields. Also walking distance to the monkey forest and the famous bebek bengil restaurant. TV channels limited to lOcal channels only so not much entertainment. Radio channels also mostly local radio. Best to bring your own mp3 or CDs .wifi is available free for our villa. There's a convenience store right across Barong so can buy some tidbits beer or water. Cheaper than using the mini bar.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
313 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

In the center of busy Ubud, this hotel is a heaven of peace and tranquillity. A very charming place, with an efficient staff. One of our best memories of Bali.
It would be too long to give details as everything is perfect !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Hamelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#37 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#96 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#97 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#51 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Property: Barong Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#66 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#86 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing