We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hideaway in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
Ranked #115 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We loved our recent stay in The Barong. Had a great bungalow with a quiet courtyard. The pool was wonderfull. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location on Monkey Forest road was perfect, close to many restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were wonderful especially the Indonesian dishes.
We took a lot of trips around Ubud and further out. Ubud is a good base for the northern areas like Kintamani or the beaches or local trips around rice paddies. Just a great location.
We had a great guide and driver Komang Sudamara (balioriginal@yahoo.com) who made our trip very special. He was extremely knowledgable and frendly as a guide and a very good, reliable and safe driver.
A great place to experience the culture of Bali. We are so happy we went here first before spending a few days at the beach. This is real Bali

Room Tip: the bungalows were more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just had 10 days staying in a villa with a private pool. Just perfect. The staff were so attentive. Right in he heart of Ubud with about 30 restaurants within 100m. Already missing our onion ring calamari with fries for our light mid day snack.

Room Tip: Rooms further back in the small complex are quieter, but some nights thebase notes from a nearby bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBuckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful private villa, clean spacious and cool. Lots of little personal touches flowers on bed, bowl of fruit, insect repellent. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Very tasty and filling breakfast. Very central in Ubud. The villa it self is tuck away off the busy street you can miss it if you blink. We stayed only one night here but we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Loved the place and the location.
Must go and stay and keep going back
Excellent food and service
Lovely private suites
It is an excellent hide out for couples who would like some privacy, newlyweds and the likes. We took the private suite which has no room service and a private pool all for yourself. The rooms were lovely and the ambience was great!

Room Tip: Private suits for Honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss Ranjani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The idea of the pyramidal reception hall is nice even if you have to climb up & down every time. Side walkway are very worn and look a bit dirty. The garden is nice but too old and not very well attended. Our Room no.5 catches the first lights of sunrise. Wifi was working perfectly. Room is worn but still very fascinating in its way, bathroom is large and shower is still with the old handhead that was sprinkling water allaround not thru the holes, this was a little puzzle as a lot of water overflows in the bathroom.
Morning we reserved the shuttle for going to a wellness centre, when we were back at 6 pm. We find another receptionist that didnt know nothing about our evening program so we cannot go to the wellness centre as the hotel car was already well park and driver back home.
For the price they require, it does not worthwhile to enjoy of this place.
English here still seems to be a remote language for the staff.

Room Tip: Complaints are not well understood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Barong resorts is really nice, we have been upgraded upon our arrival to a private pool villa, very surprising indeed. Room is beautiful and quite, bathroom super spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast served directly in your room with no charges.
The only concern is the central position of the resort, too central for us. Ubud in August is quite a mess, Monkey forest road packed with cars all day and night and barely have enough space to walk on the sideways.
Beside that, no noise was audible from our room. Great service and great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickolas979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Ha il suo fascino! But for the price they require, this hotel is very neglected and abandoned to itself.
The shower head worked very badly and water sprinkled non from holes but along the edges....
No shuttle service available after 6 pm, and they know that there are not taxi available in Ubud and that there are only private cars available for 10 times the price.
Receptionists dont speak good english, who may does it, is not well trained to support queries from customers, there is not a computerized system, everything go ahead manually, so if you place your request it will be lost and next receptionist coming cannot read any requirement from customers.
They are wild to understand but very sharp for money, and when you check out many come to check if you have quit without have stolen anything.
Because of receptionists and the driver that went back home, we cannot find a car to reach the wellness center, and so we lost our massage at 7 p.m.
The walkways beside the reception hall, look a little bit dirty and not properly cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
6.6 mi away
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.9 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
2.6 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#73 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#95 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £47 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing