We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room and bed, very Balinese..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
Ranked #106 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Huge room and bed, very Balinese..”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Barong Resort & Spa. The location is strategic in Monkey Forest street, walking distance to Monkey Forest, many restaurants, shops and spas. We booked Deluxe room on 1st floor. It has a nice balcony with bale-bale overlooking colorful trees and plants. The room, bathroom and bed are really HUGE. We planned to ordered an extra bed, but the bed is so big that can take 4 of us (2 adults, 2 teens) in it without squeezing ourselves. The breafast is good, fried rice delivered to balcony. The staffs are nice but need to smile more. Quiet and very Balinese..enjoyable.

Room Tip: choose Deluxe room no 5 on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arsu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    76
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
117
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We booked what we thought was their 2 bedroom villa for our family with 3 young kids but on arrival found it was actually 2 separate villa's that weren't interconnecting and were on different levels which was a problem for us.

The hotel didn't clearly communicate this when booking even though we said we had kids so it was a frustrating and disappointing experience for us.

The hotel handled our feedback as well as they could have but if you are a family with young kids this place isn't a good option.

The 2 bed villa which had a pool was right down the back of the complex which didn't have a very nice feeling about it and was a bit run down particularly in the bathroom.

I think this place ideally suits singles or couples.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Good sized room, huge bathroom. Stayed three nights, bit hit and miss wether they turned down the bed. Turned up the first night in the dark, second night turned down the bed and left biscuits, third night same as first. Breakfast was excellent. Nice pool. A short walk down the hill to the Monkey sanctuary. Plenty of shops and restaurants just outside the door.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tassietraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Barong resort for 4 nights as part of our 25th wedding anniversary holiday. The accommodation is perfectly located close to the Monkey Forest, amongst some great restaurants and shops. The rooms are set back from the road so it is very quiet. The room had been decorated for us, flowers in the bath saying Happy Anniversary, bed decorated and they also made a cake for us. The rooms are immaculate, quality of service is fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. Good choice of breakfast served either in your room or in the eating area at the front of the hotel.

The hotel arranged a tour guide for us for a day, Made Slamet (085238 195283), couldn't recommend him highly enough, very knowledgeable, took us to the rice terraces, various temples, great value for money.

Would definitely recommend this accommodation!

Tip, don’t pay more than 350,000 in a taxi from the airport, first taxi driver tried to charge us 600,000.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room overlooking the swimming pool, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We loved our recent stay in The Barong. Had a great bungalow with a quiet courtyard. The pool was wonderfull. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location on Monkey Forest road was perfect, close to many restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were wonderful especially the Indonesian dishes.
We took a lot of trips around Ubud and further out. Ubud is a good base for the northern areas like Kintamani or the beaches or local trips around rice paddies. Just a great location.
We had a great guide and driver Komang Sudamara (balioriginal@yahoo.com) who made our trip very special. He was extremely knowledgable and frendly as a guide and a very good, reliable and safe driver.
A great place to experience the culture of Bali. We are so happy we went here first before spending a few days at the beach. This is real Bali

Room Tip: the bungalows were more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just had 10 days staying in a villa with a private pool. Just perfect. The staff were so attentive. Right in he heart of Ubud with about 30 restaurants within 100m. Already missing our onion ring calamari with fries for our light mid day snack.

Room Tip: Rooms further back in the small complex are quieter, but some nights thebase notes from a nearby bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBuckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful private villa, clean spacious and cool. Lots of little personal touches flowers on bed, bowl of fruit, insect repellent. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Very tasty and filling breakfast. Very central in Ubud. The villa it self is tuck away off the busy street you can miss it if you blink. We stayed only one night here but we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#110 of 196 in Ubud
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#97 of 196 in Ubud
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 196 in Ubud
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Property: Barong Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#71 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#88 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing