We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hideout in the Middle of Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barong Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
Ranked #98 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideout in the Middle of Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Barong Resort has a near perfect location right on the main street walking distance from most important places in Ubud and all the restaurants in town .

Once you enter the Resort , its traditional Balinese decor takes you in a holiday mood right away . The staff is welcoming and warm . The most amazing thing about this resort is that as you walk towards your Villa through lush greenery , you are transported from the busy street outside to a setting in the middle of complete nature ... green , silent and private .

The Villas are traditional looking with thatched roofs , traditional wooden doors and a traditional four post bed with white netting . The private pool is small but adequate for cooling yourself in the humid weather . The amenities in the Villa are complete with a LCD television , mini bar , tea and coffee maker , fresh towels every day , safety locker , mosquito repellent ( quite thoughtful ) and sun beds near the pool .

They serve breakfast both in a small eating area near the reception and also have in room option without an extra charge . The breakfast is wholesome with three choices of American , Continental and Indonesian . Theres an in room dining menu for lunch and dinner with a lot of choice and the preparations are quite nice . Service is quick which is a definite plus with not having to wait desperately for some one to turn up to solve a problem or bring your food when you are famished .

The common pool is also very pretty surrounded by lush greenery near the Spa . We had a complimentary Balinese massage with our booking which was an absolute pleasure .

Great place to stay in Ubud , would love to stay again if ever in Ubud .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram_It1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    74
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
113
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Ubud is very small. And this hotel is located exactly in the center of Ubud. 5 min walk on the left and you are in the Monkey forest. 5 min walk on the right - and you are in Ubud palace. Numerous restaurants are nearby.
Hotel is absolutely charming and lush green. We've stayed in one bedroom villa with private pool which was absolutely necessary in this humid climate. Room was spacious with all the amenities, daily fruit basket/biscuits and nuts, bathroom had bathrobes, slippers towels, hairdryer and etc.
Couple of times we had problems with safety box which were solved immediately.
Check-in was very nice and professional. In my opinion, staff has some problems with English, especially restaurant staff, it was really difficult for me to understand them. But they did their best :)
Breakfast was really tasty and fulfilling, every day we have ordered breakfast to our villa. There are three options: American, Continental and Balinese. We also had lunch and dinner in the hotel. No complaints.
In general, highly recommended property and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay here relaxing and enjoyable from the moment we were welcomed on our arrival at airport. The resort layout is a more traditional Balinese style and definitely our preference for accommodation. The room upstairs spacious, hot water and water pressure best ever experienced in Bali.The balcony overlooking the garden, peaceful and private setting to enjoy the lush surroundings and breakfast if preferred. alternatively dining area at front of resort. The choice is yours. Pool very refreshing, small pool chair area four in total, however not a problem as we had our balcony.
Good central location to stroll around Ubud enjoying sights and restaurants. Staff were excellent, always helpful and the special touch of decorating the room and surprise cake treat were a thoughtful and special touch for our anniversary. Particularly enjoyed the hotel activities of morning trek and visit to Putula village highly recommend. Overall a wonderful relaxing stay and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae60w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Barong Resort & Spa. The location is strategic in Monkey Forest street, walking distance to Monkey Forest, many restaurants, shops and spas. We booked Deluxe room on 1st floor. It has a nice balcony with bale-bale overlooking colorful trees and plants. The room, bathroom and bed are really HUGE. We planned to ordered an extra bed, but the bed is so big that can take 4 of us (2 adults, 2 teens) in it without squeezing ourselves. The breafast is good, fried rice delivered to balcony. The staffs are nice but need to smile more. Quiet and very Balinese..enjoyable.

Room Tip: choose Deluxe room no 5 on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arsu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We booked what we thought was their 2 bedroom villa for our family with 3 young kids but on arrival found it was actually 2 separate villa's that weren't interconnecting and were on different levels which was a problem for us.

The hotel didn't clearly communicate this when booking even though we said we had kids so it was a frustrating and disappointing experience for us.

The hotel handled our feedback as well as they could have but if you are a family with young kids this place isn't a good option.

The 2 bed villa which had a pool was right down the back of the complex which didn't have a very nice feeling about it and was a bit run down particularly in the bathroom.

I think this place ideally suits singles or couples.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Good sized room, huge bathroom. Stayed three nights, bit hit and miss wether they turned down the bed. Turned up the first night in the dark, second night turned down the bed and left biscuits, third night same as first. Breakfast was excellent. Nice pool. A short walk down the hill to the Monkey sanctuary. Plenty of shops and restaurants just outside the door.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tassietraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Barong resort for 4 nights as part of our 25th wedding anniversary holiday. The accommodation is perfectly located close to the Monkey Forest, amongst some great restaurants and shops. The rooms are set back from the road so it is very quiet. The room had been decorated for us, flowers in the bath saying Happy Anniversary, bed decorated and they also made a cake for us. The rooms are immaculate, quality of service is fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. Good choice of breakfast served either in your room or in the eating area at the front of the hotel.

The hotel arranged a tour guide for us for a day, Made Slamet (085238 195283), couldn't recommend him highly enough, very knowledgeable, took us to the rice terraces, various temples, great value for money.

Would definitely recommend this accommodation!

Tip, don’t pay more than 350,000 in a taxi from the airport, first taxi driver tried to charge us 600,000.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room overlooking the swimming pool, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#92 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#51 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#100 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rouge Villas & Spa
Rouge Villas & Spa
#71 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Property: Barong Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#63 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#81 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing