We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
Ranked #108 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
hookstown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here six nights and enjoyed it very much. The location is perfect.....half way between Monkey Forest and the market. There are numerous shops, convenience stores, and restaurants right outside the hotel....convenient to stock up on bottled water and snacks. The rooms are big and clean......huge tiled bath tubs. Each room has their own courtyard and veranda....lots of privacy. It is a welcome quiet retreat from the noise and activity of the street. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. It is easy to arrange tours, shuttles, or renting a car or motorbike from the hotel, or from the many others on the street. The included breakfast is served outside in front of the hotel, or if you prefer, in your room. There are three set breakfast munues to choose from: The Balinese breakfast, which offers typical Asian fare..rice and noodles with vegetables, The American breakfast, which is eggs, ham, and sausage, and the Continental breakfast, which is assorted breads with juice, tea or coffee. The food was prompt and excellent, as was the service. People have commented that the rooms are a little worn, but I think it is in a way that adds to the typical Balinese charm. I would definitely stay here again.

way that adds to the Balinese charm.

Room Tip: Can't beat this location and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    76
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
115
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Barong Resort in Ubud has wonderful villas. We stayed 4 days during our honeymoon and really enjoyed the location in the heart of Ubud. Upon our arrival, the staff had a delicious chocolate cake with fresh fruit waiting for us in our villa. We walked all over the town of Ubud from the resort location. This was a great value for the price in Ubud. We then went to Jimbaran to stay at the Ayana Resort and Spa for luxury accommodations in a different part of the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Rooms really needs an up grade. The curtains are see through and the cut out bits don't close to give you privacy. The power goes out alot and I even had the kettle plug sparking blue.
The staff are lovely and do go out of there way to look after you. Perfectly located in the main street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Situated on the Monkey Forrest Road, this is a lovely place. There are only 12 dwellings to book here, and they are all bungalows (mini villa's). The rooms are traditional with king bed, mosquito nets and nice wooden carved doors and furniture. The rooms are a little old, but they are clean and charming, i loved the character.

Each bungalow has its own mini courtyard with tropical garden. The pool is very nice, completely surrounded by foliage, trees etc. The staff are great, the food service was also great. Wifi worked well, and of course, TV had HDMI inputs for my Media Player. There is a large 2 or 3 bedroom villa at the very back of the resort with own pool and bbq balcony and a separate outdoor dining / social table, it looked great! (i went for a sneaky look seeing as the hotel was only 50% capacity when i was there).

Only a couple of minutes walk to all the great restaurants etc, i'd stay here again next time for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexxyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Barong Resort has a near perfect location right on the main street walking distance from most important places in Ubud and all the restaurants in town .

Once you enter the Resort , its traditional Balinese decor takes you in a holiday mood right away . The staff is welcoming and warm . The most amazing thing about this resort is that as you walk towards your Villa through lush greenery , you are transported from the busy street outside to a setting in the middle of complete nature ... green , silent and private .

The Villas are traditional looking with thatched roofs , traditional wooden doors and a traditional four post bed with white netting . The private pool is small but adequate for cooling yourself in the humid weather . The amenities in the Villa are complete with a LCD television , mini bar , tea and coffee maker , fresh towels every day , safety locker , mosquito repellent ( quite thoughtful ) and sun beds near the pool .

They serve breakfast both in a small eating area near the reception and also have in room option without an extra charge . The breakfast is wholesome with three choices of American , Continental and Indonesian . Theres an in room dining menu for lunch and dinner with a lot of choice and the preparations are quite nice . Service is quick which is a definite plus with not having to wait desperately for some one to turn up to solve a problem or bring your food when you are famished .

The common pool is also very pretty surrounded by lush greenery near the Spa . We had a complimentary Balinese massage with our booking which was an absolute pleasure .

Great place to stay in Ubud , would love to stay again if ever in Ubud .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram_It1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Ubud is very small. And this hotel is located exactly in the center of Ubud. 5 min walk on the left and you are in the Monkey forest. 5 min walk on the right - and you are in Ubud palace. Numerous restaurants are nearby.
Hotel is absolutely charming and lush green. We've stayed in one bedroom villa with private pool which was absolutely necessary in this humid climate. Room was spacious with all the amenities, daily fruit basket/biscuits and nuts, bathroom had bathrobes, slippers towels, hairdryer and etc.
Couple of times we had problems with safety box which were solved immediately.
Check-in was very nice and professional. In my opinion, staff has some problems with English, especially restaurant staff, it was really difficult for me to understand them. But they did their best :)
Breakfast was really tasty and fulfilling, every day we have ordered breakfast to our villa. There are three options: American, Continental and Balinese. We also had lunch and dinner in the hotel. No complaints.
In general, highly recommended property and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay here relaxing and enjoyable from the moment we were welcomed on our arrival at airport. The resort layout is a more traditional Balinese style and definitely our preference for accommodation. The room upstairs spacious, hot water and water pressure best ever experienced in Bali.The balcony overlooking the garden, peaceful and private setting to enjoy the lush surroundings and breakfast if preferred. alternatively dining area at front of resort. The choice is yours. Pool very refreshing, small pool chair area four in total, however not a problem as we had our balcony.
Good central location to stroll around Ubud enjoying sights and restaurants. Staff were excellent, always helpful and the special touch of decorating the room and surprise cake treat were a thoughtful and special touch for our anniversary. Particularly enjoyed the hotel activities of morning trek and visit to Putula village highly recommend. Overall a wonderful relaxing stay and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae60w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#103 of 198 in Ubud
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 198 in Ubud
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#109 of 198 in Ubud
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Property: Barong Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#71 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#89 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing