We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samhita Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samhita Garden
Ranked #116 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stumbled across Samhita Garden on an earlier Ubud stay this year whilst we were checking out another well known hotel in Jalan Bisma for our August holiday, our usual hotel Tegal Sari was booked out. Well what a find, an idyllic hidden oasis virtually in the heart of Ubud so we immediately booked a two storey suite room by the pool.

August comes around and after a few days stay in Seminyak we arrive in Ubud at 11am not expecting to be able to check in when to our delight we were told we were being upgraded to their brand new two bedroom villa. We are very happy!
The very private villa was in absolute pristine condition it looked like it had hardly been used. Big bedrooms with comfortable bed, dressing room with a safe, double vanities in bathroom with over sized bath and separate shower plus an outdoor shower. The spacious living/dining area also had a kitchen, we were lucky as Wifi worked in the villa.
There was a turn down service at night which you don't often get even in the more expensive hotels.
The gardens are beautiful and the pool is a perfect size for the hotel.We never had a problem getting a chair for a short respite between market visit and walks in the rice fields to the wonderful Sari Organic Cafe.
Breakfast simple but adequate leaving plenty of room to indulge in Ubud's wonderful restaurants for lunch and dinner. The wonderful Cafe des Artistes is right next door.
The entrance door to the Samhita has a statue of a rooster now we know why!
We found the staff delightful no lack of smiles......for us Bali is "the island of smiles".

We are regular Bali visitors, this was our 33rd trip, so we have stayed at many hotels over this period and we will most definitely return to Samitha Garden. We would be happy in any of their immaculately maintained rooms, the older ones near the pool have more Balinese charm. You can not go past the location just a short stroll to the heart of Ubud however far enough away to have a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimifroufrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    37
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
54
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed a Samhita Gardens for 3 nights, and loved it. The staff were so friendly and the rooms and property so well looked after. Breakfast was lovely, location was great. You are still so central to everything, but feel so far away (very quiet)...... what else can I say, you would be crazy not to stay at the Samhita Gardens. We are booking for next year.... why look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellers023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Off a popular side street, with modern, clean and spacious rooms set way back from any street noise on beautifully maintained grounds. Clean bed sheets were a plus. Quiet for relaxing in your room or by the pool. Rooms were cleaned 2x/day. Staff was pleasant and respectful. Breakfast was okay, but with all the great cafes in Ubud, we didn't mind going out for a change. Internet cafe, laundry and restaurants right outside the premises. Wireless internet couldn't pick up from our room, but only nearer the lobby area - that was the only drawback. There were sounds of roosters, but that's to be expected in the countryside. Always had hot water and air-con was another plus. Would definitely stay there again, but rather on an off-season price. Location was perfect for walking to all the main streets. Last note, if you wish for a view of rice paddies - we didn't have one on the first floor supreme room, but the 2nd level rooms might have had some views. Booked with a balidiscoverytours.com as communicating via the hotel was alittle slow.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank meclovesbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Arriving after 7pm in heavy rain, we were greeted by a team of friendly and helpful staff. Check-in was super efficient and within minutes we were being escorted to our rooms.

My wife and I were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite, one of only two. Our children aged 16 and 10 shared an upstairs room close to our own. All rooms are really spacious and very clean. The rooms were in fact discreetly serviced once in the morning and again in the evening, bed linen changed daily and towels twice daily if required. Nice clean linen with good quality towels.

This location proved to be just perfect, it's possible to walk easily to the central attractions of Ubud. The pool has to be one of the nicest for this size of property, sparkling clean and set in some of the best maintained gardens you will come across. Even when the hotel had a higher occupancy we were often the only people using the pool with many guests out exploring Ubud and the many nearby attractions. The staff were always tending to the gardens or rooms but seemed to be very conscious of maintaing a discreet distance, having said that they were never far away should you have any requests. This perfect balance is something we really appreciate.

We'd first viewed Samhita Garden some four years earlier when staying at another property. We were really impressed with the fact that this hotel looked as good now as it had then, and for a property of it's 10 years it's a shining example of the way the management have been committed to maintaing a high standard of presentation.

We found each and every one of the staff to be delightful, friendly and professional at all times. We initially planned to stay here for just 4 nights prior to moving to a private villa in Seminyak. After just 2 nights in Seminyak we changed our plans completely and returned to Samhita for another 4 nights. One of the best holiday decisions ever made and a real testament to the way we felt about our experience!

A fantastic place to just "be"!

Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robsta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Samhita Garden, Really nice room, well maintained. Gorgeous gardens and pool. Simple healthy breakfasts. Will definitely go back,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckley567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Paid $85. US/nite. This is a classy hotel in a great location. Rooms are spacious with nice lighting and amenities. A/C could have been colder, but was ok. Rooms have mini-bar and safe. It's true that staff was not as gracious as at other hotels, however, they were perfectly nice and helpful. Pool is lovely. Breakfast is standard Balinese fare (choice of Continental, American or Balinese). Location is fantastic - short walk to center of town. I would highly recommend renting a motorbike from across the street ($5./day) to get around Ubud, however I would not drive more than a few miles in Bali - you must be a native to negotiate the traffic. Internet cafe is steps away across the street, and hotel is next to Cafe des Artistes. Bali Buddha restaurant delivers anywhere in Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviebbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

On my many trips to Ubud I've stayed at a wide range of hotels including others on Jalan Bisma. This was my first stay at Samhita Gardens and, for the price, the upstairs deluxe room was great value. It was a large room (overlooking the lovely pool and gardens) with high Balinese ceiling and private, spacious balcony. I really enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and felt very relaxed. I've marked 'service' down because we, at times, felt hassled by some staff who seemed over keen to sell tours etc. The location is excellent with massage places, shops and very good restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall, a lovely place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.0 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#99 of 195 in Ubud
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meruhdani Guest House
Meruhdani Guest House
#5 of 45 in Gianyar
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.1 mi away
Villa Capung Mas
Villa Capung Mas
#26 of 523 in Ubud
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samhita Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samhita Garden

Property: Samhita Garden
Address: Jl. Bisma | Kawasan Wisata Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Hotel Class:3 star — Samhita Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Samhita Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samhita Garden Ubud, Bali
Samhita Garden Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing