We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility away from the tourism hotspot”
Review of Melati Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melati Cottages
Ranked #255 of 622 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Actually, I had had a booking for another hotel for three days, but after the second day I moved to Melati Cottages.
Melati Cottages is a very nice place giving you the feel of really BEING in Ubud. Away from the hectic of Monkey Forest Road, but still within walking distance (15 minutes) to the town's buzzling life, I consider it as a very good option for a stay in Ubud. The pool is very nice, too, and - as always - in Indonesia, the staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: I would go for the upper floor in one of the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed at Melati again in June 2012 for a yoga retreat and it was as clean, friendly and good value as ever. Im noticing a change in the surrounding businesses - a bit more sophisticated - and a tendency to charge US dollars. Turn right at the entrance and walk 200 m to the last dining room before the hill on the right. Cant remember its name but it does fab Indo food cooked to order. Transfers from the hotel should be $25 but the driver will try and charge $30 if theres more than one of you. It's bugger all in the scheme of things but annoying.

Room Tip: Room 8 offers windows overlooking the garden but not much privacy (folk can see in if you leave the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallergirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Simple, clean, close to town...perfect setting and location to explore Ubud. Good value. Only thing you have to watch is not all rooms are air conditioned and the descriptions don't indicate which you're booking when you book (says....ceiling fan OR air conditioning. Big difference). I insisted on a room with AC and they charged me extra for it. It was still worth it, but no one likes surprises like that.

Room Tip: Make sure it has AC if you care about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABC3702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Quiet, incredibly helpful and warm staff. Lovely pool, spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Ubud at Melati Cottages. The rooms were simple but cleaned daily, free breakfast was great and the staff were so helpful. Pool was really nice and food at the restaurant very cheap. We hired a scooter to get in and out of town which was great, wouldn't have wanted to walk up that hill especially at night. No bar fridge or tv in the room which I missed, but for $45 US a night I was happy and there was so much to do around Ubud that we didn't spend too much time in our room anyway :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I were signed up to stay thirteen nights at Melati Cottages but stayed twenty-three nights. We were very happy there. The service was outstanding; when my husband got sick, three housecalls were made to our room by doctors and their assistants during a two-day period, the first time arriving within ten minutes of our call! Our housekeeping staff did duties no one should be expected to do! Melati staff served a hot breakfast every day. The pool was open twenty-four hours a day, and we swam at least once every day, including a few times under the stars watching the fireflies. Our room had a moat around two sides filled with fish and blooming lotus blossoms. We met so many wonderful people from around the world; the setting was so condusive to making new friends. Ketut, one of our drivers, is the son of the owners of Melati, and not only did I experience a wonderful tour with him but he introduced me to his wife Jule who made a custom-made kebaya for me. If I ever return to Bali, there is no doubt I would return to Melati Cottages. P.S. There was no "fitness center" as listed below, but the pool was excellent. And I want to add that the location was so peaceful and quiet. And transportation was always very easy to obtain.

Room Tip: There are several choices. We personally preferred a room with air conditioning on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodKarmaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A lovely place to relax. My room was very large on a corner with floor to ceiling windows, providing lots of light. Out one window were rice paddies and the plot on the other side was waiting to be planted with corn or another vegetable. Some rooms face onto one of two large lotus ponds. It is located out of the main area of Ubud and it takes a 20-30 minute walk to get downtown. I especially enjoyed the walk although the road and sidewalk take some navigating. In the evening, it is easy to get a motorcycle to take you back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennykhounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1.7 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Cottages

Address: Jl. Penestanan Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 622 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £17 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Melati" means jasmine. This delightful complex consists of several 2-storey structures, each with a number of rooms all ensuite with balconies, looking out over the gardens or ricefields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melati Cottages Hotel Ubud
Melati Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing