We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Funky Old Place in Ubud with Nice Grounds”
Review of Melati Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melati Cottages
Ranked #226 of 554 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Funky Old Place in Ubud with Nice Grounds”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My family of three stayed here for just one night earlier this month. We spent IDR 600,000 (USD 62), but may have been able to bargain down a bit with some effort. It takes 20-25 minutes to walk to the corner of Monkey Forest Road and Ubud Main Street. And the traffic does not make it a pleasant walk.

On the plus side: the second-floor room was spacious and had nice old wood floors; it had a big veranda furnished with cushioned chairs; the grounds are extensive, well-kept, and even include rice fields; there's a pleasant pool; and the breakfast was generous, tasty, and delivered quickly.

But the room (5) was poorly designed and had seen better days. The lighting was poor and included a bare bulb in the bathroom, which features lime-green tiles with rather depressing flower designs. Or maybe it was the color that was so creepy. The toilet is built on a 10 cm. pedestal, so you are literally sitting on a throne. The designer didn't think about ventilation--none of the large windows open. Get a breeze by opening the doors to the room and veranda--and avoid occupying the room while someone is doing the business in the toilet. (A huge window is there right next to the shower/tub, but it can't be opened and there's no fan.) Most annoying was a ragged sheet metal edge on the inside of the bathroom door that could easily cut one's hand.

Termites left wood shavings under one bed and the sheets were not particularly clean. The foam mattresses were uncomfortable--fat people and those with dicky backs in particular should beware.

Even with all those complaints, this is a place that should work well for some people. We spied a frequent guest who checked in and had a very specific room request--she clearly knew what she was doing. At a lower price, a better room at Melati would be a good option.

Room Tip: Avoid #5 and take a look at a few different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
26
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I will start this review with my only criticism - the rooms are a little worn and the bathrooms could do with an update. They are scrupulously clean, but their age makes them look a little grotty, and that is the only reason I am not giving Melati 5 stars. Apart from that, I have only good things to say about Melati Cottages. The gardens are stunningly beautiful, the views across the rice padis are lovely and the location is handy to Ubud if you don't mind a bit of a walk or are prepared to pay (very little) for a taxi. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful, and the food is really good and great value. If you want somewhere inexpensive to base yourself for a long stay in Ubud, you could not pick a better place. Also handy to know that the staff will double you on the back of a bike to Ubud or Bintang supermarket for 30,000Rp return (about AUD 3). A tip to the management - spend a little on updating the bathrooms and you will recoup the cost in no time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rice padis get the afternoon sun and can be quite hot. Ask for a room on the east s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieRix243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

My sister was doing a yoga retreat and I met up with her after she finished and was lucky enough to get room 7 all to myself! I could not believe what I got for the price (40 au per night) i had this huge apartment with aircon a bathroom with bath and a big balcony overlooking my very own rice paddy also overlooking the pool and resturant it was a family room with my 4 poster bed with nets and 2 single bed. The staff were lovely and my room was serviced and. CLean linen everyday. The pool is lovely and u get a basic brekky but Alchemy is only a 2 min walk through the lovely paths ( you don't have to walk along the road) and Yellow flower and Lilly's restaurants are 5 mins away plus heaps more nowhere near the busy roads its heaven! I will be returning for sure! Note the price i paid was because hardly anyone was there

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My first stop in Ubud and what a sanctuary after Kuta! Spent 4 nights on a retreat with a group and felt sorry to leave. Gracious and unassuming staff who remember your name and melt into the background until you need their assistance. As previous reviewers noted, some of the trimmings aren't present and a good clean of the mozzie nets is overdue, but general cleanliness is good and the positives far outweigh these small details. Our shower curtain was clean. Slept deeply on comfortable bed despite lack of air con. No extras like bar fridge or hairdryer in bungalows but very spacious and deck area wonderfully large.
The gardens are meticulously maintained each day by a band of staff sweeping up stray leaves. Breakfast has volume and variety sufficient to satisfy. If you want more trimmings, there are villas rather than bungalows. Location is a little out of Ubud and brings more of a village feel, yet still offers easy access to some special eateries,massage centers and short walks through restful paths and rice paddies. Well worth considering for the price. I'd return.

Room Tip: If you want total privacy pay the extra for a villa as walls in bungalows very thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A beautiful grounds with spacious rooms, a nice pool, good breakfast, and helpful staff. I've seen cleaner bathrooms in my life, but have also definitely seen much dirtier ones. The location is a somewhat intense walk from Monkey Forest road and it's surroundings, but it's doable. Plus, there are shops and restaurants closer by if you don't want to wander into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

When reviewing this place, it must be remembered that this is a low - mid range resort. I stayed here for sixteen days and had a room to myself for $35 AUS. The room was very large and spacious with a double bed and a single bed, charming wooden floors and a huge balcony over looking the surrounding gardens and pool. The rooms are cleaned every day and a fresh ( albiet grey colored) towel is artistically placed on the freshly made bed, topped off with hibiscus or franjipani. My biggest gripe with this place is the mouldy shower curtains. I just dont understand why this has to be the case. If I come to stay next time I will bring my own!
The mosquito nets are also a bit grubby and I aggree with Raquel84, this may not be the place for you if this sort of thing bothers you. Normally I would find this too much, but there is such a charm about this place, I am able to overlook the less than perfect finishing details.
There is a very gorgeous walking path from Melatti to the Flower Cafe and Intuitive Flow Yoga Centre and although Melati is a twenty minute walk into the bustle of Ubud, I enjoyed the quiet feel once I returned here.

Room Tip: There is one block of rooms, that are smaller than the others. If you are not happy with the room yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnOffering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you aren't precious then you'll appreciate the good things about the place. Yes the rooms are a little dully lit and the curtain could do with a wash.They clean rooms daily and do this well. For the money they setting is gorgeous and the pool is lovely and it's clean. There's not much in the way of things going on which we loved and they less than push you for extras which is also a change from most other places we stayed.

It's quite far out but in a lovely quiet area and if you don't mind the walk into the busy centre it's ideal.

I'd give it a very good rating but that would be a bit too forgiving if you were to think of it as very good accommodation. It needs some TLC!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.9 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#93 of 198 in Ubud
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Villas and Spa
Ubud Villas and Spa
#137 of 568 in Ubud
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Cottages

Property: Melati Cottages
Address: Jl. Penestanan Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 554 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Melati" means jasmine. This delightful complex consists of several 2-storey structures, each with a number of rooms all ensuite with balconies, looking out over the gardens or ricefields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melati Cottages Hotel Ubud
Melati Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing