We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”
Review of Villa Santun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Santun
Ranked #29 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Small boutique style villas with private plunge pools so close to the heart of Ubud. The staff are ever so friendly & helpful but also happy to leave you be in peace. It is a beautifully presented, clean and well placed 'hotel'. Giant is a real asset to the premises with his wonderful ways and delightful smile. Nothing is too much of a problem when you stay here. Everyday cute little towel animals are made & sweet welcoming notes left. Lovely touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Philipa,

Thank you very much for such of beautiful review. Seems you do like our towels art. Our staffs always want everything special for each guest who stay. This will make us also always remember our guest. Heheheh.. I believe that you will return back on your next visit in Ubud. Please send our regards to your family at home.

Warmest Smile
Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Super place to people looking for some quiet places - it's a little bit away from main tourists's routes. Gives full privacy (an idea for separated villas with swimming pools is great - though I was alone I can imagine how comfortable it could be for lovers!). It is very new so everything is clean and shining. Breathtaking views on rice fields and volcano. Just worth the price (and the cook there is an artist, belive me).

Room Tip: for parents with kinds there is a great two bed rooms suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oltak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Oltak,

Warmest greetings from Villa Santun.
Thank you for spending your time to write us your review. We really appreciate it. We love to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Santun Recently, and we are expecting to welcoming you back again in future. Please be healthy and have a happy life.

With Sincerely Heart,

Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After finding our accommodation in Candi Dasa unsatisfactory, we decided to move to Ubud.
We were very fortunate to find Villa Santun! We had stayed at Villa Pantulan 2 years ago and rang to see if it would be available. Luckily we spoke to Budi who manages Villa Pantulan and he remembered us. Pantulan was occupied but he suggested Villa Santun that he also looks after.
Budi was very kind and obliging and upgraded us to the four bedroom villa as the two bedroom villa was occupied. This suited us well as we were a family group of 5 that needed 3 bedrooms.
When we arrived at the villa carpark, we were met by the staff with golf carts to take us and our luggage along the path through the rice paddies to the villa.
When we arrived we were "blown away" by the warm greeting from Giant and all his staff and the beauty and scale of the villa! Budi even arrived to welcome us!
The villa is very new and clean. There is a large open living and dining area you enter into on arrival that overlooks the large inviting pool and the pool overlooks the beautiful rice fields; Bali's biggest and most holy mountain, Guning Agung, was looming through the clouds on the horizon! A truly magical vista!
There are four separate rooms that surround the pool and living area. They are very large and have very comfortable king size beds and semi open bathrooms. The rooms have every conceivable amenity including room safe and the latest iPhone/iPod dock with lightening connector. The towel art is the best I have seen anywhere in Asia! Elephants, frogs and dogs!
We only used 3 of the 4 bedrooms but the 4th room had a jacuzzi that we were allowed to use if desired.
We were provided with lovely welcome drinks and refreshing cold towels on arrival.
A delicious breakfast was included in the tariff and was served in the dining area at a time convenient for the guests. You could choose American, Indonesian or Continental breakfast.
There was a shuttle service available into Ubud at designated times and the staff would take you up to the villa carpark in the golf buggies then drive you into town in the villa's van. You could arrange for them to take you at your own time for a reasonable fee. We also arranged for a couple of motorbikes to rent which were brought to the villa and collected when we departed. A scooter is very convenient as the villa is about 4 km from the centre of Ubud. It is quite OK riding the scooter in Ubud, nowhere near as crazy as the Kuta area, with the possible exception of Monkey Forest Road and Jalan Raya Ubud at peak times.
The staff were absolutely fabulous! Always so obliging and willing to help with any request.
A highlight was to get up early and watch the sunrise over the rice paddies next to the mountains in the distance, just breathtaking. A picture is worth a thousand words, so have a look at the attachments!
The only slight comment I would make is the local roosters like to announce their presence quite early in the morning. Shutting the door to the open bathroom helps.
I would highly recommend Villa Santun and will certainly return in the future.
Thanks so much to Budi, Giant and all the staff from Made Tony, Ketut Jen, Ketut Sohrab, Made Alex and Wayan Linden!

Room Tip: Four bedroom villa for a large family group or group of couple friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brecker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Ketut Jen, Ketut Sohrab, Made Alex and Wayan Linden, Made Tony,

All of our staffs really up to know remember how to call your Balinese name. We really love your name.
Thank you so much for your fantastic review about our staffs, our new Four Bedroom Ricefield Royal Villa, our food etc. Budi also send his warmest regards to you all, and hoping for all to be keep in touch.
We are truly happy to have your presence in Villa Santun, and we miss it badly. By your review, we are more encouraged to expect your return in future. Looking forwards to it :)

With Warmest Heart

Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Absolutley fantastic. Everything about this place is amazing. The staff are out of this world. They deserve 10 stars for there service.We had a 2 bedroom villa and it was perfect. You wont be dissapointed by renting this villa. Its the perfect place to stay and 100% kudos to everyone for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportsgal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you so much to spent your time to write us review. We all of Villa Santun's staffs would love to thanks to you for choosing Villa Santun as your favorite accomodation in Ubud. We all be encourage more and more to do every best thing for our guest. We expect you and your family to return back to us in future.

With Humbled Smile,

Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Well, we are loving our stay at Villa Santun so much, I wanted to write our review whilst still here. So I write this from the little hut by the pool - and it's gorgeous.

We highly recommend Villa Santun to anyone coming to Ubud. It's very new, clean, spacious etc. we are in a one-bed villa which is perfect for two people. We have a private pool, overlooking the jungle. There is an undercover outdoor area with lounge seating and table and chairs. The bedroom is cool and roomy, and the bathroom is huge with an outdoor garden in it.

The service is fantastic! This morning the lovely Made took us on a rice paddy walk through the local area - it was very interesting. We are having dinner prepared for us tonight and brought to our room. We have a 90 minute massage booked for tomorrow afternoon, in our villa. It's all just too good! Giant, Ketut, Wayan, Made and the others are all working very hard to make this a brilliant place to stay.

In terms of location, it's a little out of the bustling centre of Ubud, which makes it nice and peaceful. As I write I can hear only birds and insects. We have hired a scooter to get around, it's cheap and very safe (honestly, we ride a motorbike in Sydney and it's 1000 times safer here in Bali!). So we can get in and out of Ubud in around 10 minutes. If you don't have a scooter, the staff will organise shuttle bus to take you in and out.

So I think I've said all I can. It's a great villa - ill definitely choose it again.

PS I've accidentally clicked 1 star for the fitness centre - and I can't unclick it! There is no fitness centre so please don't think this is a bad review of that!

Room Tip: We are in Villa 5 - one-bedroom with jungle view. It's great. On our first night we were upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Claire and Miles,

Haahhahahaa,,, you havent even left Villa Santun yet and seems you're already miss us. We want to keep you stay with us so that you will have more pleasant days in Ubud.
I am so glad that you love to stay with us. Thank you to encourage the others to stay at Villa Santun. It was really nice to meet you both in person, and have some little chat around. We will miss your presence here so much. We are also strongly hoping you come back to stay with us. We wish you Eternal happiness no matter where you are.

With Love from all of staffs,

Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Highly recommended if you are looking for a beautiful, comfortable villa with impeccable service that's not just professional but personable as well.

Giant and his staff were absolutely wonderful to us during our time there. Every interaction with the staff was pleasant and made us feel right at home. We would like to highlight an incident which demonstrated just how committed this villa is to good service standards. When we informed the staff that our villa (number 4) was quite noisy as the locals in the next compound were having a rowdy time at night, Dewa and his staff quickly went to request that the locals tone down their volume. They then accommodated our request to change to a quieter villa, and even threw in a complimentary massage for us as the second villa was actually a "downgrade" (the view from the pool was not as nice). We were frankly surprised by the lengths they went to make us feel comfortable and to empathise with us on having a good night's rest. And that for us was why we left Villa Santun that morning with the expectation that we will see them again someday when we return to Ubud.

Regarding the villa, it was gorgeous. From the corridor to the open pool to the verdant background, to the modern and well-maintained furnishings, we had little to complain about. The entire feel was reassuring and cosy.

Regarding safety, we didn't feel uneasy anytime during our stay there. There's a pick-up point outside the villa that you have to wait at while the villa gets its buggy over to pick you up, and the point is a bit dark in terms of illumination. But frankly, it wasn't an issue.

Regarding food, the breakfast spread is lovely and is served directly to your table next to the pool. The staff will set up the entire table for you while you frolic in the pool or lie by the sun bed. We noticed that the staff also respectfully set up the breakfast without being disruptive, and always left inconspicuously. The omelette is fantastic.

Regarding noise, you may want to ask for a quieter villa if you happen to be a light sleeper. Try to avoid picking Villa 4 as it's next to the locals in the adjacent compound. But if you're a deep sleeper, no worries. Anyway, the locals tend to sleep early at around ten or so.

Regarding convenience, the villa can send you to the Ubud town centre at designated times, and can bring you back at designated times as well (the latest slots are 7.15pm and 10pm). The staff are always quick to respond to any requests to transport guests to and from the pick-up point outside the villa.

Enough said about the villa. Now don't you want to go to there too?

Harrison & Natalie

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Harrison,

Warmest greetings from Villa Santun. Thank you for spening your time to write us such of beautiful review. We love to have you stay with us, and we love to serve you our best food, we love to host you with our authentic Balinese hospitality.

We understood you got some inconvenient experience during your stay. Our staffs had been alert and took immediate action to fix the situation. We are so grateful with your kindness to understand our situation. We are now happy that there will be no such thing happen again in future.

Thank you very much to encourage the visitors of Tripadvisor to come and experience staying with us. This means a lot for us. We are really looking forwards for your return stay with us.

We pray for your health and happiness from Villa Santun.

With Warmest Heart and Smile,

Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend over Easter and simply do not have enough good things to say about this place. The room was brand new, exactly like the photos. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa.

The daily breakfast and afternoon tea were served by the pool and was it the best way to start the day. I'd recommend going with the mee goreng and the banana pancake, The coffee is excellent too, the beans they use are exceptional.

The best part however was Giant and the staff. Anything we needed they were more than happy to help, and everyone remembered our names and would say hello and ask about our day as we came and left. They took us for a walk through the local village which I would recommend for anyone who doesn't mind some stairs. One night we came home quite late
(well after the kitchen was closed) but they were more than happy to cook us something to eat.

This was our first time in Ubud and in Bali and this little piece of paradise tucked amongst the rice paddies could not have given us a better introduction.

Room Tip: We had the basic one bedroom and it was excellent,so any room would be a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSantunUbud, Manager at Villa Santun, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Thomas,

Green Gem... wow... that is really big compliment for us. We are so happy to hear it. But what makes us more than happy is that to know you have enjoyed your stay so much at Villa Santun. So you enjoyed your breakfast and afternoon tea in your private villa, you are happy with our staffs, to be honest we are happy to have you stay in our villa, and to make you stress free during your stay. So I really wish to have you return back and stay with us. we also wish you live always in happiness and prosperity. Please send our regards to your girlfriend.

Warmest Heart,

Giant
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Ubud Padi Villas
Ubud Padi Villas
#28 of 609 in Ubud
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#6 of 609 in Ubud
177 reviews
3.3 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Villa Kayu Lama
Villa Kayu Lama
#57 of 609 in Ubud
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samkhya Villas Ubud
Samkhya Villas Ubud
#26 of 609 in Ubud
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santun

Address: Jl. Pura Ulun Carik No. 06 Br. Lungsiakan Ds. Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £70 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Santun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santun Ubud - A unique escape to Paradise Luxury 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom villas with private pool in countryside location Villa Santun is a small boutique complex of elegant private villa in Ubud, luxuriously appointed, just 4km from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, famous for its numerous art galleries, several museums, countless dance performances and gamelan concerts. Our private villas in Ubud Bali are located on the edge of a huge expanse of unspoiled rice paddies on the one side and jungle-like lush vegetation by a ravine over a small river canyon, on the other. This magical setting and the discreet service provided by our staff are guaranteed to give you an authentic Balinese experience. The access to the villas is by a small country lane, where no cars are allowed. We will meet you at our car park on the main road and bring you to your private villa with one of our golf carts. From now on you will be able to enjoy the peace and tranquility of Villa Santun. Each of our very spacious villas is built in such a way that it assures your 100% privacy, so you can fully relax by your pool where, our trained staff can give you a Balinese massage. A daily complimentary breakfast will be served in your villa. In addition, you can choose local or international dishes for your lunch and dinner which our chef will be happy to cook specially for you. As Villa Santun is fully staffed, you have access to concierge and room service as well as daily cleaning and the evening turn-down. Villa Santun is an ideal to stay if you wish to go rafting, trekking or cycling. Walking through surrounding rice paddies with a local guide is also a very rewarding experience as you get a chance to learn first hand about rice planting and the production process. A complimentary shuttle to the centre of Ubud is available, so you can visit art galleries, attend various dance performances or just shop at your leisure. Free unlimited wi-fi internet access is available in every villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Santun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santun Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing