We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and memorable experience”
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #50 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ketut's Place is in a stunning location in beautiful grounds, once you have gone through the front entrance and you have settled in your room it feels as if you're in the middle of the jungle (including wildlife!) so prepare for it to be noisy at night because that's when most things wake up. I liked it because it didn't feel like a standard hotel, it felt like part of the experience.
The family that run it are lovely. Part way through our stay I wasn't well due to a pre existing condition and the family were very kind to me and the lady of the house made me a tea to help. On the final day, Ketut tried to get a taxi for us but when it was late he insisted on taking us to the places we wanted to go and dropping us off at our next hotel with no expectations.
I was sad to leave when went went to our next place, I'm happy we chose here as part of our honeymoon, it was memorable.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms at the back cost more and back onto a ravine and overlook jungle. Be prepared for w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at Ketut's place for a week from June 3rd.
This was our second visit which we enjoyed even more than the first one. The gardens are beautiful, room 12 was just as charming as before, & the family delightful.
They welcomed us as old friends & made us feel like valued guests.
It was so quiet & peaceful you wouldn't know you were in busy Ubud.
The walk down to the town is only 10 minutes & if you don't want to walk back up the slight hill it is about $1.00 to $1.50 for a taxi ride. The next street Jalan Kajung has some very good inexpensive restaurants which can be accessed via a couple of lanes. There are also lovely walks into the rice paddies & jungle from there.
We look forward to returning to Ketut's & thoroughly recommend it as a peaceful, friendly, family place from which to enjoy ubud.
We met some lovely fellow guests who all appreciated it as we did.

Thank you ketut, Made, & Family.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the ravine are very private & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the grounds were nice, however compared to other hotels in ubud for the same price, thus was poor value. Very noisy location and the buffet they prepared was 200000 to. Crazy price!! I much preferred the hotels that were in the rice paddies were you could sleep at night in peace.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliaschics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed a few nights here by recommendation of a friend. The owner Ketut was not friendly to us and he gave a really bad vibe. Our booking was not correct and there was an issue on arrival. While we waited patiently over an hour until it was sorted out, involving us paying more money of course even though it was the properties error, Ketut asked us if we wanted a beer. Upon checking out, of course we were charged for that drink (in addition to a few others we had). Not quite sure what has happened to hospitality here. The bathroom was very outdated in the apparent suite, the best room on property, however i think in general Bali accommodations below 75 USD a night don't get the bathroom right. If you go to Ubud, I would recommend a different place to spend the night.

Room Tip: If you are insistent to stay here, guess take the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nycsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was in Ketut's Place at the time of the Kuningan. It was an eye opener seeing the family at work, managing the festival and the business all at the same time.

I had a lovely and restful time in Ubud and I really didn't want to leave for our next destination!

Ketut's Place felt like my home away from home and I also felt very close to Pak Ketut and his family members.

Ketut's Place will definitely be my choice of stay the next time I have the privilege to return to Ubud!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -WenMingMei-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Gorgeous garden feeling like you're in the heart of the jungle. There is a pool with a view down into a 'jungle' where you can watch squirrels eating coconuts on the canopy. A stream and bridge make the garden feel very chilled. You have your own stunning bungalow with beautifully ornate doors. You can eat breakfast in your own garden or by the pool restaurant. If you are considering it... I say go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomoNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place marks truly a remarkable unforgettable adventure that my husband and I had in Ubud. What a hidden gem! The staff is so welcoming and accommodating, pure and loving. We live all the way in CA and when we do make it back to Ubud this is where we will choose to spend our time. Unforgettably relaxing! The breakfast and fresh juices are delicious and the sound of the waterfall while you get massages daily you will remember forever. Thank you so much Ketut and family for making our honeymoon truly relaxing and unforgettable!

Room Tip: I would pay for the suite! You get the sound of the water fall while you sleep each night, its extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyR848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#62 of 200 in Ubud
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#51 of 200 in Ubud
709 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#68 of 200 in Ubud
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Address: Jl. Suweta no. 40 | Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing