We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break at Ubud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #54 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great break at Ubud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

For a weekend break we stayed at Ketuts place. Although it is off the main streets of Ubud, it is a tranquil place to stay. Great value for money. The place is run by the family, where both the daughters also give their hand at running it. It is clean, the swimming pool is like a balinese pool. It overlooks a ravine and so beautifully green. Each room has its own porch and you can make some great friends who are also staying there. Breakfast either near the pool or at your on porch!!!
The only downside is the mattress and pillow. I would suggest carry your own and enjoy Ubud at Ketuts place.

Room Tip: the higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preetim1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    119
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
82
178
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our overall stay at Ketuts Place was fantastic. Just as how would you expect from a rich culture and serene place like Bali. Room was nice, the only thing I didn't like about it was the debris of wood falling from the ceiling which they need to clean up very often. One of the best breakfast I had. We were treated like princess. Bali massage was a thumbs up especially were we had it , fronting a natural waterfall. The owner and his family treated us very well. There were a lot of activities to do and visit in Bali. 5 days isn't enough to do all of it. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beinggayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

After reading some bad reviews I was apprehensive about this place. On arrival we were greeted warmly by ketut in to his spectacular home. Our room wasn't ready but he said If we wanted to sleep we could have the room downstairs which was stunning. Set next to the waterfall it was very authentic and relaxing, we couldn't have asked for more. We were asked to fill in a form for what we would like for breakfast which I thought was a fantastic idea and the first day it arrived promptly. We waited half an hour for it on the second day but I guess this is a busy time in the morning so we didn't mind sitting by the beautiful pool! Ketut was very friendly in arranging a fantastic price for transport by car and boat to the gili islands (half the price of everything else we had been looking at!) set in beautiful grounds in one if my favourite cities in the world, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a real Balinese experience! Hopefully I will return to this place one day. Thank you to ketut and his pleasant staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eieic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I travelled through java for three weeks and then stayed at ketut's place for nearly a week to enjoy bali and to releax. Ubud is a very nice city that has many things to do and also works as a hup for daytrips around bali. The best thing about ketut is that you stay with a family. Everybody is very helpfull and ketut's knows many things to do. At the right moment he askes you if you want to see a show that is just on that night or where you will go the next day. Just nice tips which made my stay at ubud very comfortable. Because i was not sure how long i would stay and i kept changing my checkout day i changed rooms a few times. I stayed in three different rooms which were al very nice. True, in some rooms the bathroom is a little outdated, but everything is clean, good hot shower and every room has its own outside space to sit and enjoy the surroundings. Good musquitonets as well. Breakfast is preordered and is good. You get to choose one fruitjuice, coffee or tea, and one dish like pancake, fruit salad or toast and eggs. The garden and the pool are stunning, a perfect retreat after a day of sightseeing. Ketut's place is very central, minutes away from the palace. I think this is a good place to get a good feeling of what balinese life is about, and do something more than just hit the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived to this guest house late at night after the train-ferry-bus journey from Java. We emailed the guest house 3 days prior to say we'd be arriving late, and when we arrived the place was in darkness and front door had a chair wedged up against it so we couldn't get in. We had to wave down a passer by to use their phone to ring the guest house (our phones didn't work), and eventually someone let us in.

The grounds of this guest house are absolutely stunning and very private, the room was dark and could use a dusting and lick of paint, same with the bathroom. Our towels weren't changed for the 4 days we were here, I wouldn't expect them changed everyday but maybe 1 or 2 changes would not be too much to ask for.

Also do not leave shoes outside, not even on the windowsills, they disappeared one day from the windowsill and were never seen again. (we were told the pet dogs like to do this, entirely our own fault)

We went to the jazz cafe one night (a must, a highlight of our Bali trip) and arrived back at 12.30 and we were made to feel guilty that we stayed out so late, and then we were asked if we wanted to have dinner in the guest house the following night for 200,000 IDR and we felt we couldn't say no. The meal for 2 was waaay too much for just 2 people, it could have fed 4 people, we felt terrible about leaving so much but physically couldn't eat anymore. Smaller portions and cheaper price would be better!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs as the pet dogs can HOWL through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in 5 different places and this was the last hotel of our trip to Bali.

When we arrived our bags were pounced on, as they were unloaded from the taxi but noone stopped to say hello. For Bali this is very unusual and impolite. We were quite glad to see them again when we got to reception. As we got there we were brusquely told to wait, our room was still being cleaned. (It was 2:30 p.m.).

We said that we would like to have lunch as we waited, since we were very hungry after our long trip and were guided to the restaurant. However, we were never asked, what we wanted to eat and after a long frustrating wait we just walked out and into Ubud for our meal.

When we got back in the evening, we had to fill in a form for a meagre breakfast, including the time when we wanted to have it - sorry, but that was a no go. In the morning we were ready half an hour earlier but we were told off for not keeping to the right time and we didn't get anything before our designated time of 8:30, not even coffee or tea.

Our room had a view into the jungle on the river and was quite nice.

However, the bathroom: nothing nice here. It was ugly and very dirty, the floor of the shower covered in brown grime that formed a thick layer on the blue tiles. The heavy urine smell added discomfort and the grubby washbasin was in the room and had two taps, one hot that worked and one cold that did not work. We scalded our hands every time we washed them. We used drinking water to brush our teeth because we didn't want to burn our mouths too.

The air conditioning was supplied with a bucket and a towel on the floor directly underneath it to catch the stream of condense water. Repair was apparently not planned.

We asked for a car and driver to take us on a trip to the rice fields in Jatuliweh. We were considerably overcharged for this. At other hotels it had been the exact opposite: the managers had friends that they worked with and ensured that their customers got fair prices.

We were charged a ridiculous 30.000 IDR for each piece of Toast and Jam that we ordered as supplements to the ungenerous breakfast that was included.

We had a problem with our flight and asked to phone the airline. We were forwarned, that we would be charged for this. Since the charge was not negotiable beforehand, we decided just to drive to the airport and discuss things directly.

In all other instances we found the people of Bali kind, helpfull, smiling and sympathetic. In some places we were treated like long lost family friends (Alam Nusa on Lembongan) in others like VIPs (Batuh Belah at Tulamben). I would definately not recommend this place. If we hadn't payed in advance through our Agoda booking (relying on rave reviews, that we cannot endorse), we would have left after the first night. There are lots of much better places in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I loved the place from first sight, we went there at night and we booked 2 deluxe rooms , owww it's heaven it looks over a little stream and it is a real jungle view , with great privacy and a very nice breakfast, i loved the banana panckes and the omlete.
The owner Ketut and his adorable family were so friendly he sent us 2 cars his daughter and his friend came to pick us up from the airport, they were really nice.
We stayed there for 9 nights, and we really enjoyed our stay, it is so near to ubud local market and 20 minutes walking from monkey forest, over all every thing was lovely , the people the view, the atmosphere, and the rates as well
also they plan trips and they have private taxis with really reasonable prices which i recommend to ask them for.
Really if i ever came back again i will sure stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#59 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#53 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#91 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Property: Ketut's Place
Address: Jalan Sweta No. 40 Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing