We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ubud”
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #55 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Ketut’s is a great Ubud experience! It has the feel of a homestay - there are 17 rooms but all are located throughout Ketut's property. The rooms are simple but adequate, and the grounds are beautiful. They are located about a 7 minute walk from the temple and market so it is close to town, and Ketut also offers a variety of tours for reasonable prices (better than the prices offered by vendors in town). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcbaranowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    125
    37
    26
    13
See reviews for
86
191
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The family was lovely and the rooms are set in some beautiful gardens overlooking a deep ravine at the back of the compound.
The rooms were simply, but effectively decorated and the breakfast in the morning served on your balcony or terrace was a wonderful treat. The hotel is quite a walk from central Ubud and quite diffucult to navigate in the dark, but it is close to the information Centre and to the Ubud palace theatre which hosts performance's every night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AstridMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Thank you so much to Ketut and his family. I stayed 12 days- I was magical to stay with this unique family full of wisdom, care and love. All staff are extremly friendly and funny. I highly recommend this magical place. It is quiet, clean with a unique swimming pool. Ketut is extremly helful and always recommend nice place to see in Ubud and more.
Terima Kasin - Om Shanti Shanti Shanti Om.....Delphine from Fremantle - Australia

Room Tip: number 3 - large, quiet with air conditionning, and a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delphinegarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I just stayed at Ketut's for the first time in two years and am pleased to say that not only has it not changed, things are even better. Ketut is putting refrigerators into the deluxe rooms and doing renovations that will include new bathtubs and toilets, there was no shortage of hot water, and breakfast arrived bang on time. Though I've always enjoyed Ketut, I also thought that he seemed more relaxed and friendlier than I've ever seen him before. The whole vibe of the place seemed more mellow somehow - and as relaxing as it ever was. And the presence and help of daughters Made and Ping really added to the overall enjoyment.

The only disappointing change was one that Ketut has no control over - building on the other side of the river gorge that has thinned the jungly foliage a little.

Room Tip: It depends what you like. The cheaper rooms around the front garden have a nice "village"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAsiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

For a weekend break we stayed at Ketuts place. Although it is off the main streets of Ubud, it is a tranquil place to stay. Great value for money. The place is run by the family, where both the daughters also give their hand at running it. It is clean, the swimming pool is like a balinese pool. It overlooks a ravine and so beautifully green. Each room has its own porch and you can make some great friends who are also staying there. Breakfast either near the pool or at your on porch!!!
The only downside is the mattress and pillow. I would suggest carry your own and enjoy Ubud at Ketuts place.

Room Tip: the higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preetim1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our overall stay at Ketuts Place was fantastic. Just as how would you expect from a rich culture and serene place like Bali. Room was nice, the only thing I didn't like about it was the debris of wood falling from the ceiling which they need to clean up very often. One of the best breakfast I had. We were treated like princess. Bali massage was a thumbs up especially were we had it , fronting a natural waterfall. The owner and his family treated us very well. There were a lot of activities to do and visit in Bali. 5 days isn't enough to do all of it. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beinggayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After reading some bad reviews I was apprehensive about this place. On arrival we were greeted warmly by ketut in to his spectacular home. Our room wasn't ready but he said If we wanted to sleep we could have the room downstairs which was stunning. Set next to the waterfall it was very authentic and relaxing, we couldn't have asked for more. We were asked to fill in a form for what we would like for breakfast which I thought was a fantastic idea and the first day it arrived promptly. We waited half an hour for it on the second day but I guess this is a busy time in the morning so we didn't mind sitting by the beautiful pool! Ketut was very friendly in arranging a fantastic price for transport by car and boat to the gili islands (half the price of everything else we had been looking at!) set in beautiful grounds in one if my favourite cities in the world, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a real Balinese experience! Hopefully I will return to this place one day. Thank you to ketut and his pleasant staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eieic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 198 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 198 in Ubud
1,013 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#57 of 198 in Ubud
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Property: Ketut's Place
Address: Jalan Sweta No. 40 Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing