We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ウブドでホームステイ homestay in ubud on Niepy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #56 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Setagaya, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ウブドでホームステイ homestay in ubud on Niepy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

i stayed this B&B when i went to bali for the first time. so i felt little bit uneasy to be in totally different culture. but ketut's,his wife wayan and their dautgter they are kind and friendly so, that made me feel at home. the room and buildings are traditional balinese archtecture, and i enjoyed it very much. and the garden was so beautiful. i happened to stay here on Niepi, but i was not bored. walking around the garden, taking pictuere, taking a nap in silence but hearing nature sound, it was one of the best relaxing day for the first time in long time. Wayan let me see the kitchen and her cooking and let me watch how she cooks balinese feast. it was fun.

i highly recomend to have a delux room because it has a much better view of tropical nature from big glass windows. you can go down the stairs to see little valley there. it was very nice too.

but this might not place for people who expect perfect clieaness or perfect serivices and facilities. it is perfect for people who enjoy different culture and experience. for me it was very good homestay.

to ubud center, it took me to 15 minutes by walk.

Room Tip: delux room with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review and stay in Nyepi at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    119
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
82
178
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ketut's Place is just a few minutes walk away from the noisy center of Ubud. Far enough to have a quiet place to relax but close enough to get back to the center myself instead of having to arrange transportation all the time. A big plus.

The whole estate is very beautiful with a little bridge in the middle and a view at the jungle valley at the back. I ended up staying so much longer because it offered the perfect combination of having privacy in my own room or the terrace, meeting other travelers at the pool or learning more about Balinese culture by joining the family in the shared living area.

The tours that I booked there have all been great. Also the Kecak dance in the temple nearby.

Mr. Ketut and his family have been so nice that it was easy to feel at home there. Next time that I'm in Ubud, this is the place where I will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review and stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

An OK location, about 10 mins from town centre. Ketuts Place itself is really pretty - the pool, the traditional temple style - it's gorgeous. However i you are effectively literally staying at Ketut's Place. They live at the front, so to get some help you are bugging the family to often leave watching TV or something to come and help you. You need to ask for towels to be replaced (and questioned why sometimes!), and when I had visitors I was asked constantly who they were... which is acceptable if I was staying at someones house for free.. but I was paying more than 600k rupiah a night. I had a leak, and was told I didn't. All my clothes were wet from damp, it all stunk and overall that was pretty bad. I just found the questioning of where I was going and who was visiting me weird - I certainly wouldn't go back, you can get this sort of quality for 200k rupiah a night. Brekky was fabulous though and the family have some really lovely dogs, turtles and so on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhondahirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. We want to tell al of viewer about this review. Our place is not a big hotel, and our services such as family service. So we apologize if our services to serve you not like in the big hotels like this person said. Issue price, it is part of the deal before this person stay at our place, so we can not comment on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The garden is beautiful although you can easily find similar ones in other Ubud hotels, with better service and a HONEST host... Being on honeymoon, we didn't think of checking the bill just to discover afterwards that we got charged more than agreed for airport pick up - that others offer for free !
That was the last straw after a long range of disappoints - on arrival our sheets and matress were still stained from the previous guest. Complimentary with our (deluxe) room was just one soap and a ridiculous small breakfast. Of course you can ask for extra... at a meal price...
The staff is neither friendly nor professinal. Our room was poorly maintained and smelling from humidity. There is no home at this stay, just a tourist trap. To avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. We want to tell to all of our viewer, we never offer free pick-up service at the airport like in a big hotel, of course because the price in a big hotel is more expensive. This couple before stay at our place already make reservation for a deal price. we do not want to discuss the price again because when you have been given reservation price. and it has been agreed, so if the issue price make you write these comments we suggest to check back when you make a hotel reservation in another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed there 2 nights in Dec, I paid 400,000 rp. per night. Mattress was stinking and stock of sheets and towels haven't been replaced for years. For half of the price I found plenty of home stays nearby with nicer bedrooms and toilets. As positive aspects: excellent breakfast, quiet location, very beautiful traditional garden and houses with family temple.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielaBNDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. all our price is the price that has been agreed upon prior to arrival, but we apologize if our service does not satisfy you. It has been our fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you know Doctor Who, you might think it's like the Tardis - bigger on the inside than the outside. Access is by a narrow door, and when you get in, it stretches out a long way with plenty of little gardens, all of which is very attractive of course. I found the bedding a bit meagre though and I didn't like a buddha in the shower. The breakfast seemed rather ungenerous too. When I asked for toast and jam, I got two slices of toast, a pat of butter, and a little box of strawberry jam. When I asked for scrambled egg and toast, I got two slices of toast, and one egg scrambled (with no milk/cream/butter added).

Room Tip: The rooms that were further back looked attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natkretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. If you want to try traditional balinese experience, Ketut's Place is best place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

When I first arrived, I was awed by the garden and the surrounding. But as a solo traveler, I need my wifi to be able to work in my room, and to find out it is only working in the "lobby", was a major issue for me.
Entering the room, was actually ok. Fairly big (no AC but a good fan) and clean. But then entering the bathroom was again a downer. Bad light and looked so, so clean. Hot water yes, but I wouldn't walk on the floor without my flip flops.
The location was ok, but it took about 10 minutes to go down to the center. For me it was totally fine, and I rented a bike. Was not interested to me in the center anyway, with all the tourists.
But then again, I still give the place a three, since you get what you pay for, the breakfast was free and the omelet was delicious. The staff very, very friendly. And again, the garden and the view from my room was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#90 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Property: Ketut's Place
Address: Jalan Sweta No. 40 Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing