We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Ubud”
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #50 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful stay here. Squeaky clean rooms with aircon - very well maintained. Balinese style with family compound at the front of the property. Ketut, the owner is very attentive, helpful and knowledgable. His wife, daughter and son all working to make for a happy stay. Lovely cold pool. Great massage.
A goodly walk to the market- but get a driver if you find the mid day heat too much.
Luck to be there for a banquet dinner in the small restaurant at the front. Wonderful food. Followed by Balinese dancing a few metres away. Great breakfast- always delivered at the appointed time- on your verandah or the back restaurant
Have 3 dogs- so must like dogs to stay, I suggest.Will stay again I am sure.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on ground floor- many steps to second storey ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Julia and friend for your long stay with us at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. We hope all is well and can see you in another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Ketut's place is terrible value compared to the competition; you can stay more centrally for as little as a quarter of the price (if you don't mind losing the pool), to half (if you do). I assume it thrives on a reputation from an earlier time.

The place is pretty, particularly the view from the massage/spa area. The massages were not cheap, though not as overpriced as the rooms. The restaurant was decent; good food if expensive and lacking in variety. Rooms were okay, though lacked privacy. WiFi didn't reach them, if that matters to you. The pool was dirty and gave me an ear infection, so I can't recommend you use it. One of the dogs chewed up my sandals whilst I was there.
Ketut himself was busy with a wedding or ceremony of some kind, so when some nasty surprises appeared on my bill due to a misunderstanding, he was not there to talk to our resolve them.

Overall I had one of my most negative travel experiences staying here, and would categorically not recommend staying here to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. We must make sure for all reader, this person stay with us for 1 weeks with a deal price, but after he checked out he said that there is a problem about the price. we do not know her intentions, there may be a specific intent to get a discount.
We are very grateful to the given input, he stayed with us 1 year ago so that what is said is not the same as it is today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed a week here. After an initial misunderstanding about a refrigerator in the room that management rectified promptly we couldn't be happier. Lovely peaceful gardens, clean toilet and shower room, new air-conditioning, perfect. Our room was next to the pool and breakfast was brought to our outdoor terrace on time every day. Ketut's is about 400 m up the road from Ubud market and restaurants Bali Bumbu and Warung Babi Guling, both good food.

Room Tip: Some rooms upstairs, also some below the pool level, try for ground level near the pool.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in the 'Deluxe' cottages. Above a river, facing the forest, the location is quiet and beautiful.

There's a pretty large terrasse, perfect to have breakfast or reading in the evening.

The staff is very kind and helpful, though some small things that are uually expected in hotels were missing (no water bottles for instance)

The hotel itself is in a traditional balinese compound, one of the most beautiful and well maintained i ve visited.

Room 15 (at the bottom) to be avoided, while slightly bigger, the decoration and layout are not as nice as the rooms above (14 & 13).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Ketut opens his beautiful family compound to visitors and immediately makes them feel at home. The rooms are lovely, the included breakfast is absolutely divine (get the pineapple or banana crepes) and the location is secluded enough for peaceful sleeps but close enough to the action to walk everywhere. Ketut will also help you arrange tours, rent scooters, etc and he is involved in the community's fire dance performances, which are a must-see. If we are lucky enough to be back in Bali some day, we will visit Ketut's again.

Room Tip: We paid for air con but I'm not sure it's necessary. When we were there the night temperatur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

i stayed this B&B when i went to bali for the first time. so i felt little bit uneasy to be in totally different culture. but ketut's,his wife wayan and their dautgter they are kind and friendly so, that made me feel at home. the room and buildings are traditional balinese archtecture, and i enjoyed it very much. and the garden was so beautiful. i happened to stay here on Niepi, but i was not bored. walking around the garden, taking pictuere, taking a nap in silence but hearing nature sound, it was one of the best relaxing day for the first time in long time. Wayan let me see the kitchen and her cooking and let me watch how she cooks balinese feast. it was fun.

i highly recomend to have a delux room because it has a much better view of tropical nature from big glass windows. you can go down the stairs to see little valley there. it was very nice too.

but this might not place for people who expect perfect clieaness or perfect serivices and facilities. it is perfect for people who enjoy different culture and experience. for me it was very good homestay.

to ubud center, it took me to 15 minutes by walk.

Room Tip: delux room with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review and stay in Nyepi at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ketut's Place is just a few minutes walk away from the noisy center of Ubud. Far enough to have a quiet place to relax but close enough to get back to the center myself instead of having to arrange transportation all the time. A big plus.

The whole estate is very beautiful with a little bridge in the middle and a view at the jungle valley at the back. I ended up staying so much longer because it offered the perfect combination of having privacy in my own room or the terrace, meeting other travelers at the pool or learning more about Balinese culture by joining the family in the shared living area.

The tours that I booked there have all been great. Also the Kecak dance in the temple nearby.

Mr. Ketut and his family have been so nice that it was easy to feel at home there. Next time that I'm in Ubud, this is the place where I will stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketuts_Place, Owner at Ketut's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at Ketut's Place Ubud-Bali. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#62 of 200 in Ubud
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#51 of 200 in Ubud
709 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#68 of 200 in Ubud
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Address: Jl. Suweta no. 40 | Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £24 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing