We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy and over priced”
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #53 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I arrived at Ketut's had booked and paid for a twin deluxe room. Got the deluxe room but my teenage son got the bed becuase the twin matterss they supplied was too short for him, I slept on the floor.

There was no privacy at all, Ketut kept coming into the rooms at the most inappropriate times, he provided incorrect advice ( I speak Bahasa he didn't know this at first)

the bathroom stank, and black soil came out of the shower head,

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank mendibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

Yes,its bungalows are ina lovely quiet tropical forest an are cool and shadowy.For those ina standard room at least,after a couple of days these rooms become claustrophobic and oppressive.One could scarcely read at night in bed.The bathroom stank like a public urinal.Our room was cleaned when they felt like it ie four out of seven days.Breakfast is OK.Do not eat dinner there,our nasi campur was the worst meal we have had anywherein the world.
His big feast is a bit of a con...the touted 13 or 14 "courses" include as courses intheir own right a dollop of white rice,a prawn cracker,some pieces of orange...you get the idea.Poor value at 135000R.
Ketut himself is a very smart entrepreneur,enough said for the moment on that.He will be on at you to go to his feast,his kecak dance,use his overpriced "taxi service' etc.The walk to the centre is 10 to 15 minutes on dangerous often blocked pavement,unlit,and involves confronting numerous yappy scabrous dogs...someone died of rabies in adjoining Tabanan when we were there.Our bill was much higher than expected because he charged for another day when we naively thought he was kindly offering to let us leave our bags there for seven hours after checkout .On top of that he hit us up 3 percent on everything for using a credit card and converted his $US figure into rupiahs at a rate far more favourable to him than any money changer would givehim.
Finally,hot water was missing in the morning and the bamboo bed frames were so rotten they were in danger of imminent collapse.
I left feeling I hadd been done over like a dinner.Lonely Planet must be out of their mind.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bozo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We have stayed, I think four or five time at Ketut's Place and loved every minute. It's so wonderful to stay with a family in a place they have so tenderly, carefully and artistically developed over the years. The animals, birds, frogs and all the paraphenalia of Balinese culture are thrown in. A nice walk uphill from the centre of town, you are in Ubud but apart from the hustle and bustle. Sure, nowhere is perfect, but for a real Balinese family experience with unfailingly helpful and kind hosts this is the place. We will be back again soon...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We booked Ketut's Place pretty last minute and it was probably the only choice we had since other places around Ubud area were all fully booked. We thought USD60 (incl tax) was not too expensive, for a Deluxe Aircond room for 3 persons. When we checked in, our room wasn't ready. We strolled around the area and was quite pleased that the place was indeed was at its closest to nature. Swimming pool was clean. Only when we came back to the room at night, we were led down many many steps of dim lighting to get to our room - Room 15. Ketut said we wouldn't be disappointed with the scenery of the ravines and trees. I'd beg to differ here. Night time was scary, I can't imagine going back to my room alone! Our room had a damp and musty smell. One thing that really bothered us: no in-room telephones! I had to call using my own mobile to ask for wine glasses and a hairdryer (which wasn't available anyways). And they only sent in an extra towel after we got in. Having said all that, I'm glad we only stayed 1 night. If you're looking for a budget place and you just need a place to sleep and to store your things, I would recommend it. Otherwise, look elsewhere. Location-wise, it's a bit far off from the central area and walking back to Ketut's at night is not recommended with the lack of lightings along the street.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darkcherrymocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We booked at Ketut's based on the glowing reviews on trip advisor and our first impressions were positive. We booked 2 deluxe rooms overlooking the ravine. Although a steep climb up and down to the rooms we were impressed with the size of the rooms and the private garden attached to each room. The bathrooms were a little rundown and in need of renovation but we could have lived with that.
Out of the 2 rooms room 12 was the better, being higher up, lighter and with better air circulation. But room 13 was so damp and musty I would class it as a health hazard. We didn't see the other rooms further down but I can't imagine them improving as they descend down the side of the ravine.
The one night we spent in our room was almost unbearable. Even with the air conditioner running and the windows open we still had the sensation we were inhaling mould spores with each breath. In the morning we had to chase up breakfast as it didn't look like it was going to appear.
We asked Ketut if we could change rooms, and he did try to accommodate us, but was fully booked. We decided that we couldn't stay and decided to move across the road to Ben's Homestay. (see review)
To get out of our booking we had to stay for one night and pay for two, and have a long face saving conversation.
Maybe at another time of year or if you are not concerned with what goes into your lungs then this homestay will suit you but I think there is better value around.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

And the reason is this : If you can afford the higher end rooms then this place is great. If you cant (because you're on a budget) then this place is the pits

The location is great and the ambience is outstanding. It seems like you've walked into a tropical jungle that is on the edge of a river. Then you walk into your room and if it is the higher end room then you will be thrilled with the view, etc.. BUT if you've booked one of their budget or 'traditional' rooms you will be great by a danigy, badly-lit cramped room that is far too over-priced.

In fact, while we were there another family was so upset that they check-out in the morning.

Warning : The Lonely Planet calls the owner a 'local luminary' but you have to be willing to pay for his over-priced buffetmeal / musical night to be able to get any insight that he might have to offer. The only time he seemed exceptionally clever was when he tried to OVERCHARGE me for the rooms (tried to charge me a tax when his website clearly stated that all prices were inclusive of all taxes!)

Tip : just around the corner is Rumah Roda (www.rumahroda.com) that is less than half the price and about triple the quality!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

If you want to be a traveler, not a tourist, then this is the place to stay. My husband, a friend, and I stayed here for 4 nights, and it was pure bliss. You will not find another place like this. We stayed in the deluxe room on the bottom floor overlooking the ravine- with the smell of jasmine in the air and the rushing water underneath it's impossible not to relax here. It is quite a climb with all the steps, but it is so worth it. The architecture, carvings, and landscaping of this place is just beautiful. The breakfast is simple but satisfying, and the town is only a few minutes walk down the road (a very easy, safe walk). We were very happy with the informal attention- Ketut and Wayan were like family by the end of the trip. Be sure to check out the Kecak Fire and Trance Dance with Ketut and his son (the white monkey). What a great show! And make sure to get a massage and scrub- just can't beat the price, atmosphere, and the service!
This is one of those places you want to keep a secret so it doesn't turn commercial and ruin the local flavor!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#95 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 199 in Ubud
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Address: Jl. Suweta no. 40 | Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#47 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £29 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing