We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, green and serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa
Ranked #94 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Taman Rahasia provides a really neat experience for those seeking a laid-back garden/jungle setting on the edge of Ubud, a tourist/art colony kind of town. The inn has a small number of 2-story villas, each of which are relatively new but give the appearance of coming from an earlier time period. Décor is artsy-craftsy. Rooms are relatively large with very comfortable beds with mosquito netting [not needed, however, but it adds to the effect]. It is great waking up in the morning to the sun flowing through cascading plant life and the sound of assorted babbling brooks.

Breakfast at the inn is quite good. Dining is at an outdoor covered area by the pool with assorted greenery. Wifi is a freebie and signal strength is best in the dining and nearby office area, although we were able to occasionally pick up a weak signal in the front of our villa. Another recent change is that the inn now accepts credit cards. That is a significant, welcome change.

When it comes to tours, my wife and I are picky, having experienced some truly horrible group tours around the world. The manager was very helpful in lining up a car/driver/tour guide for us. We saw what we wanted, stayed as long as we wanted, and ate where we wanted with none of the mandated stops at shops that typically accompany group tours. Upon our return to the inn at night, the manager was very kind in meeting our requests quickly and politely. The staff were so nice and helpful.

We would definitely return to this inn and will recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Taman Rahasia for 4 nights and found the hotel surroundings very beautiful and serene. the garden is very lush and green, and the cooler air of Ubud (as compared to seminyak) really makes this place great for a peaceful getaway. the staff were very helpful and did their best to accommodate all our requests. its location is not that near the main areas in Ubud, as it is in penestanan, which is slightly out of main Ubud. you have to take a 20 min walk through a small path to get to one end of the main road in Ubud. Whilst it is an absolutely lovely and rustic walk (you get to see the locals hanging around, many local dogs playing, some padi fields and villas along the way), it is probably not so doable at night as it is extremely dark and if you are unfamiliar with the route, it will be very tough. from there, to get from that point of the main road in Ubud, to the rest of the good food/monkey forest road etc in central Ubud will take another 20 min walk or more. a car ride takes 8 mins or more from the hotel to the main road in Ubud (more if you want to go to the monkey forest bit) as you have to go along the main roads and you can't cut through the small short cuts. also, traffic in ubud can be terrible, depending on the time of the day. when school ends, there are masses of school kids on motorbikes and this really delays travelling in general.

the minor disappointments:
- our room had no blinds or curtains (unlike the other rooms), with just a thin, white, translucent net-like cloth draped over the windows. this is nice when the sun shines in at sunrise as you get to see the golden rays of the sun dancing across your room walls, but it's not fun if you are a light sleeper affected by sunlight. also, at night, your privacy is compromised as you can see inside the room. we asked the staff for curtains and they put up another thin white cloth which somehow worked to give the room more privacy, but not in blocking out the sun (unlike the wooden blinds in the other rooms).

- i tried the hotel spa and had an oil massage. i didn't request specifically for a female masseuse as i assumed it was understood (as you have to be nearly naked for oil massages), and they gave me a male one. i think most hotel spas and non-hotel massage places in various places of the world provide female masseuses for oil massages, without specific request. after requesting to change for a female one, they did it very efficiently. the female masseuse was really good! Sad to say though, the spa area was slightly run down, like the bowls beneath the massage beds had flowers but no water or aroma oil or whatever. perhaps it isn't used that often. also, as there is some construction going on in the hotel, just beside the spa, the path to the spa was covered in earth and very narrow and next to a deep pit that they were working on. you have to mind your way back and forth, especially when the sun sets.

- the room had a ceiling fan and an aircon. the fan had only one low speed so we preferred to use the air con. however, they set it at 18 deg celsius and gave us a thin sheet and 1 thin rug as a blanket, it was freezing! so we requested for more thin rugs the following night and upped the temperature to 22-24 deg celsius or so. this caused the aircon to leak and it filled a glass in less than 20 mins. we requested for them to fix it and they did, but said that we had to keep the aircon at 18 deg celsius or it would leak. so we requested for even more thin rugs in order to have a comfortable night's sleep. also, after they fixed it, the room reeked of cigarettes. i don't know if the staff smoked in the room, or was just a heavy smoker, but i really did not appreciate my room reeking of cigarettes. it wasn't possible to air the room either as we did not want mosquitoes and other bugs to come in.

Overall, aside from those disappointments, it was a pleasant stay. the staff are really nice. Made especially is great to talk to and did her best to help us with dinner and transport arrangements. the french toast with banana in the breakfast set is really yummy too! Thanks, Taman Rahasia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 nights at Taman Rahasia and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was clean and spacious and the open-to-the-sky shower was lovely. The staff were friendly and quick to help with transport and other arrangements. Restaurant food was fine but not outstanding. Location was quiet and near a no-car area of restaurants and cafes. Overall, service was erratic but friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We loved the relaxed atmosphere, the area and its locals and the sophistication of the management manners. Ubud is in itself a great location for healthy food and spiritual growth but Penestanan village is seriously amongst the best places we've ever been to. Taman Rahasia is close to perfection and a very good deal as its close to a luxury resort but has the price of a standard hotel. best breakfast we had in 3 weeks in Bali. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanmariavele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We recently spent six fabulous nights at Taman Rahasia. This was our first trip to Bali, had we been more familiar with the island, I would have preferred to spend my whole trip at Taman Rahasia. It is centrally located and because of this, easy to use as a base to get to all parts of the island. The service and the facilities were beautiful with exceptional attention to detail. The staff were very helpful in getting us tickets to dances in town, tours, rides into town. The hotel is located about 20 minutes walk from town, but it is a beautiful, pleasant walk on a path rather than a busy road. The four breakfast sets were great. The pool was beautiful. We didn't use the spa or the cooking school, although they had both. The atmosphere was very serene and we felt incredibly spoiled the whole time. After this hotel we stayed in three other places throughout Bali and Lombok - non compared to this fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Ma family and I stayed in 2 different tastefully decorated spacious rooms. The rooms were located in a Balinese style house surrounded by a beautiful and very well maintained garden. The bathrooms had a special touch since half of the roof was open, we could see the sky while taking a shower.
The staff was very helpful, kind and discreet at the same time. They all speak some English and the manager speaks it extremely well! She was always ready to help us; they were all truly wonderful.
A very tasty breakfast was included; there was a nice choice.
The swimming pool was very beautiful.
My husband and I took a massage each and it was the best one I had during my stay in Bali (we stayed 3 weeks in total in Bali). The small massage parlour was set outside in a beautiful and peaceful setting, the music was nice and the pressure of the massage was perfect. I just wished I had taken more than one message while I was there but we only stayed 3 nights - too short!
There is a really nice small restaurant/café place 5 minutes walk from the hotel called Cafe Vespa; they served some european/asia fusion food, all organic!! Very tasty and very good prices.
I would definitely recommend going to this hotel...If we go back to Bali, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Taman Rahasia for 5 nights. From the moment we walked in to the secret garden (at 10pm of an evening) we were greated with warm smiles, cool towels and a refreshing welcome drink. We were asked to confirm which days we wanted to attend the cultural show, have our balinese dinner for two and indulge in our day of pampering- all of which were included in our accommodation package which we booked directly with the hotel. As the hotel does not have any twin rooms we were more than comfortable sharing a king bed. Rooms were clean, beds and pillows very comfy. Garden was a tropical balinese oasis. Open-air bathroom took our breath away. The next 5 days were pure bliss. Food was delicious and spa treatment was magical. 5 min car ride to central Ubud ($3AUS) I can not recommend this boutique hotel more highly. It exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.7 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
0.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 199 in Ubud
572 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#146 of 199 in Ubud
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#78 of 199 in Ubud
331 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pandora Hotel
The Pandora Hotel
#92 of 199 in Ubud
42 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#142 of 199 in Ubud
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa

Address: Penestanan Kaja, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#81 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £48 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Balinese, family owned hotel, with 8 pleasantly spacious rooms featuring modern amenities and open air bathrooms. We are located 50 meters off the main road in the quiet village of Penestanan Kaja. The walk to Ubud center is about 1.5 kilometers and you will get there by walking on a pleasant path with rice fields, small local warung's, shops and spas. We are in a perfect location for day trips around Bali. We want you to have a memorable experience and we are here to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Rahasia Hotel Ubud
Taman Rahasia Ubud
Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing