We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Peaceful with Balinese Hospitality.”
Review of Mandala Desa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandala Desa
Ranked #15 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Perfectly Peaceful with Balinese Hospitality.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mandala Desa is situated some way outside Ubud and is consequently very peaceful.The beautiful collection of buildings stand alongside attractive rice paddies, and adjacent to the village.
From the moment you arrive, and are welcomed by Jacinta usually with a cooling drink, you are pampered, if this is what you want, or if you prefer you can enjoy the peaceful surroundings punctuated with delicious meals prepared individually and served in various cool locations to suit. The rooms/suites are all very well appointed most with beautiful views over the paddies.
The distance from Ubud is not a problem as Jacinta lays on vehicles to take the guests into town at pre arranged times or on demand, in addition to collection and return to Denpasser Airport.
All the staff are without exception courteous and friendly. This particular property differs from others in the area in that it is small and consequently more friendly offering exactly what is required by individual guests. The nearby villages and market is a joy and more authentic than others, because it not overrun with other tourists. To sum up, it would be difficult to find a place that ticks all the boxes as Mandala Desa does.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
64
132
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Mandala Desa. The staff really made our experience. They were extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room was also spacious and lovely, including a very large bathroom. The pool is small but clean, and the morning breakfast is delicious.
We were a little surprised at how far the hotel is from central Ubud (at least 20 minutes by car). The hotel provides drivers (who were wonderful), but it isn't convenient to go to and from Ubud multiple times in a day. If you are prepared to be a bit more isolated, the location is fine. It makes for lovely walks through the rice paddies in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Mandala Desa with my wife, daughter, mother, and mother-in-law. We rented the Garden Suite and Superior Suite to accommodate our large group. We choose Mandala Desa because of the positive reviews here, and we were not disappointed. If one is looking for a peaceful location and an authentic experience of central Bali, then choose Mandala Desa.

Jacinta and her staff were very attentive to our needs and requests. They provided a very high level of service and were experts on sightseeing in and around Ubud. The accommodation was just as advertised. We were pleased with the choice we made, and I would definitely stay at Mandala Desa again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unoriginal_Name_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We would also like to thanks Jacinta, Ketut and all the staff at the Mandala Desa. The service, accommodation and food were all excellent.

The staff were extremely helpful, going over and above our highest expectations to make sure we had everything we needed and had an enjoyable holiday. Everyone was so friendly, we felt very welcome and like part of the family!

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in a village about 20mins by free shuttle from Ubud. Also if you are keen to explore the surrounds there are lots of things to see and you can cycle on the free bikes or arrange tours. Otherwise you can enjoy the day relaxing by the lovely pool and in your villa.

I should also say the bed was exceptionally comfortable and it was quiet at night so we had an excellent sleep. We didnt have any problems with insects (just keep the door closed) and the food was very tasty and good value for money.

Room Tip: The villas are lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janem78art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

First of all, thanks to Jacinta, Madi and all the guys at Mandala Desa - you were not only professional, but such warm team of people. You were impeccable with your service, attentive without being intrusive, and your relaxed & friendly approach made our stay so much more restful and enjoyable. We felt like we were a part of the village!

The property was situated among a small community in Sukawati, set back from a local temple.
First impression - seemed like we've arrived at someone's house, as the entry was not grand or ostentatious as your typical balinese resort frontage.
We were welcomed by staff and ushered straight to our villa, situated at the back of the property.
Once entering the small traditional gate into the villa, we were blown away! A thatched roof villa with a huge marble floor porch, wrapped by a gold-fish pond and our own private bale connected by a wooden bridge, overlooking a peaceful rice field. Furnishing simple and tasteful, spotless and large bathroom with an outdoor bath and shower area.
The garden was gorgeous with many flowers in bloom, where my girls collected frangipanis all day long.
We stayed there for 4 days, basically relaxing and enjoying the property. They drove us to Ubud once, which seemed like a casual 15minute drive. The closest supermarket is about a 10 minute bike ride away but we didn't eat in sukawatti township (too filthy for young kids)

Food and beverage was excellent value. Both wetern comfort food and local. I loved their spicy seafood soup, which was clean, fresh and delicious. Vegetables were fresh and tender, home made yoghurt generous and moorish, and the fresh crepes with caramelised ?palm sugar & coconuts ~ that was just warm & melt in the mouth... too good to be true...
The person in the kitchen must have loved baking because they've also served us afternoon tea one day with fresh pandan chiffon cake - lime syrup glaze with fresh coconut shavings ~ SO GOOD. Kids loved the mocktails all day ~ "rice paddy view" was our favourite.
Sorry, I love my food! ...but while it's not a 5 star culinary experience, I enjoyed all of them, and also my body felt better because they were all wholesome home-cooked meals, a nice break for a traveller. Compliments to the kitchen!

It's a lovely community outside the resort - the locals had a fishing competition one morning, where all the people gathered and had fun fishing on the rice paddy stream. One afternoon the local kids (on school holidays) showed us how to fly a kite, then the big kids came out with a whopping 3m hand made kite ~ what a wholesome way to spend the day, tweeking aerodynamics!
Later that evening we saw the same kids dressed up in their temple attire to go and practise their chants. In this neibourhood they pray at 6am & 6pm. Looking over to the rice fields and hearing the temple music and chants in the distance was truly magical.

Room bar - good value.
Internet connection - excellent.
TV - not available, but you can help yourself to the dvd collection and play it in your room.
No mozzies, but you can still use the gorgeous cotton netting on four poster bed for romance!
Aircon if you wish.
No issues with bathrooms/hotwater.
Yes it's semi rural, you get the occasional ants and a visit from the gecko, but they cleaned the place spotless everyday and it was not a problem, even with messy kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kickaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Villa Mandala Desa is a great place to stay as I wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and it's really affordable too!

Located beside the paddy fields, I wake up every morning to watch the sun rise over the fields ... a beautiful sight indeed.

They also provide complementary shuttle to Ubud town; which is good because it is about 20 mins away from Ubud.
My meals are served to my room and at very good prices too! As a frequent traveler, I never took anything from hotel room's minibar as they are usually overpriced ... but Mandala Desa's is not! Their has cans of soft drinks, beer, snacks, biscuits ... and priced about the same in the supermarkets.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Delicious food, lovely room (I stayed in the room by the pool) and a free shuttle to Ubud. I had a wonderful time staying at Mandala Desa and could not recommend it more highly. Everything they do is crafted to make your experience relaxing and peaceful. It is truly a sweet boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.8 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#9 of 542 in Ubud
149 reviews
7.9 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 542 in Ubud
204 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 542 in Ubud
321 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
5.2 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#12 of 542 in Ubud
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Desa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Desa

Property: Mandala Desa
Address: Br. Lantangidung, Batuan, Sukawati, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandala Desa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mandala Desa A luxurious and laid back hideaway, Mandala Desa is the ideal destination for those wishing to experience authentic Bali up close and personal. Set on the edge of a traditional Balinese village with endless views of green rice paddies, the villa is within easy reach of Ubud’s many shops and galleries yet feels a world away. Relax in your private sanctuary while outside your window lies the living postcard of panoramic rice field views with farmers working their land and herons and kingfishers flying overhead. We warmly invite you to enter a beautiful oasis of just four accommodations that is everything a vacation home should be comfortable, unpretentious, with delicious food and staff that genuinely wishes to give each guest magical holiday memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandala Desa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Desa Hotel Ubud
Mandala Desa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing