We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
301
26
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
26
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior suiterice fieldsafternoon teaarrange tourscoffee machineoutdoor showerwarm hospitalitythree nightsvillage lifeevery morningnasi gorenglocal villagevisit balipiece of paradiseclose to naturewelcome drinkbalinese hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mandala Desa is situated some way outside Ubud and is consequently very peaceful.The beautiful collection of buildings stand alongside attractive rice paddies, and adjacent to the village.
From the moment you arrive, and are welcomed by Jacinta usually with a cooling drink, you are pampered, if this is what you want, or if you prefer you can enjoy the peaceful surroundings punctuated with delicious meals prepared individually and served in various cool locations to suit. The rooms/suites are all very well appointed most with beautiful views over the paddies.
The distance from Ubud is not a problem as Jacinta lays on vehicles to take the guests into town at pre arranged times or on demand, in addition to collection and return to Denpasser Airport.
All the staff are without exception courteous and friendly. This particular property differs from others in the area in that it is small and consequently more friendly offering exactly what is required by individual guests. The nearby villages and market is a joy and more authentic than others, because it not overrun with other tourists. To sum up, it would be difficult to find a place that ticks all the boxes as Mandala Desa does.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Mandala Desa. The staff really made our experience. They were extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room was also spacious and lovely, including a very large bathroom. The pool is small but clean, and the morning breakfast is delicious.
We were a little surprised at how far the hotel is from central Ubud (at least 20 minutes by car). The hotel provides drivers (who were wonderful), but it isn't convenient to go to and from Ubud multiple times in a day. If you are prepared to be a bit more isolated, the location is fine. It makes for lovely walks through the rice paddies in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Mandala Desa with my wife, daughter, mother, and mother-in-law. We rented the Garden Suite and Superior Suite to accommodate our large group. We choose Mandala Desa because of the positive reviews here, and we were not disappointed. If one is looking for a peaceful location and an authentic experience of central Bali, then choose Mandala Desa.

Jacinta and her staff were very attentive to our needs and requests. They provided a very high level of service and were experts on sightseeing in and around Ubud. The accommodation was just as advertised. We were pleased with the choice we made, and I would definitely stay at Mandala Desa again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unoriginal_Name_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We would also like to thanks Jacinta, Ketut and all the staff at the Mandala Desa. The service, accommodation and food were all excellent.

The staff were extremely helpful, going over and above our highest expectations to make sure we had everything we needed and had an enjoyable holiday. Everyone was so friendly, we felt very welcome and like part of the family!

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in a village about 20mins by free shuttle from Ubud. Also if you are keen to explore the surrounds there are lots of things to see and you can cycle on the free bikes or arrange tours. Otherwise you can enjoy the day relaxing by the lovely pool and in your villa.

I should also say the bed was exceptionally comfortable and it was quiet at night so we had an excellent sleep. We didnt have any problems with insects (just keep the door closed) and the food was very tasty and good value for money.

Room Tip: The villas are lovely and private.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janem78art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

First of all, thanks to Jacinta, Madi and all the guys at Mandala Desa - you were not only professional, but such warm team of people. You were impeccable with your service, attentive without being intrusive, and your relaxed & friendly approach made our stay so much more restful and enjoyable. We felt like we were a part of the village!

The property was situated among a small community in Sukawati, set back from a local temple.
First impression - seemed like we've arrived at someone's house, as the entry was not grand or ostentatious as your typical balinese resort frontage.
We were welcomed by staff and ushered straight to our villa, situated at the back of the property.
Once entering the small traditional gate into the villa, we were blown away! A thatched roof villa with a huge marble floor porch, wrapped by a gold-fish pond and our own private bale connected by a wooden bridge, overlooking a peaceful rice field. Furnishing simple and tasteful, spotless and large bathroom with an outdoor bath and shower area.
The garden was gorgeous with many flowers in bloom, where my girls collected frangipanis all day long.
We stayed there for 4 days, basically relaxing and enjoying the property. They drove us to Ubud once, which seemed like a casual 15minute drive. The closest supermarket is about a 10 minute bike ride away but we didn't eat in sukawatti township (too filthy for young kids)

Food and beverage was excellent value. Both wetern comfort food and local. I loved their spicy seafood soup, which was clean, fresh and delicious. Vegetables were fresh and tender, home made yoghurt generous and moorish, and the fresh crepes with caramelised ?palm sugar & coconuts ~ that was just warm & melt in the mouth... too good to be true...
The person in the kitchen must have loved baking because they've also served us afternoon tea one day with fresh pandan chiffon cake - lime syrup glaze with fresh coconut shavings ~ SO GOOD. Kids loved the mocktails all day ~ "rice paddy view" was our favourite.
Sorry, I love my food! ...but while it's not a 5 star culinary experience, I enjoyed all of them, and also my body felt better because they were all wholesome home-cooked meals, a nice break for a traveller. Compliments to the kitchen!

It's a lovely community outside the resort - the locals had a fishing competition one morning, where all the people gathered and had fun fishing on the rice paddy stream. One afternoon the local kids (on school holidays) showed us how to fly a kite, then the big kids came out with a whopping 3m hand made kite ~ what a wholesome way to spend the day, tweeking aerodynamics!
Later that evening we saw the same kids dressed up in their temple attire to go and practise their chants. In this neibourhood they pray at 6am & 6pm. Looking over to the rice fields and hearing the temple music and chants in the distance was truly magical.

Room bar - good value.
Internet connection - excellent.
TV - not available, but you can help yourself to the dvd collection and play it in your room.
No mozzies, but you can still use the gorgeous cotton netting on four poster bed for romance!
Aircon if you wish.
No issues with bathrooms/hotwater.
Yes it's semi rural, you get the occasional ants and a visit from the gecko, but they cleaned the place spotless everyday and it was not a problem, even with messy kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kickaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews