We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay in the countryside!!”
Review of Mandala Desa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandala Desa
Ranked #11 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights in the villa of Mandala Desa and it was really perfect. It gave a really relaxing and luxurious feeling. The guesthouse lies in a beautiful tranquil environment in the middle of the rice fields. The villa is huge, has an outside hot shower, bath and nice seats to enjoy the evening in a private area. What really makes the difference is the eye for every detail and the very attentive staff. The owner Jacinta was very helpful in advising for a great restaurant, arranging boat tickets for us and organizing the driver to take us to Ubud and back. We have enjoyed our late afternoon bike ride to the waterfall and surrounding villages using the free bicycles. Also the food was freshly prepared and tasty. In a nutshell, very relaxing and great experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik_brentjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Jacinta and her staff made our stay and truly memorable experience.

On arrival we were greeted with a cold towel and a welcome drink. Jacinta give us a quick overview of Mandala Desa and the surrounding areas.

The staff at Mandala Desa were attentive but never in the way.

Jacinta organised a driver for the day (10 hour) to take us to Elephant cave, water temple, coffee plantation, wood carving, Mt Batur, Elephant safari lodge and the rice terrace fields....WOW what a awesome day.

Mandala Desa is a bit isolated but that was ok with us. We ate dinner at Mandala Desa every night andf the food was always excellent.

Room Tip: Garden suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellyman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

For our family with two children, we booked the Garden Suite and the above View Suite. We booked nearly one year in advance, and the email conversation with Jacinta was always very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very big, with large bathrooms, very good mosquito nets, A/C, safe, free water and nice views from the balcony. Pool area is very nice, we liked especially the several small bale bengongs, which are beautifully decorated and where you can have dinner or lunch.
We had several meals at the resort, which we all very good and tasty.
We went once to Sanur, which is a 30 min. drive from Mandala desa. Another evening we went to the dance performance/dinner at Lake Leke, which is about 20 min. driving from the villa.
What we enjoyed very much is the peace at the resort, and the natural surroundings. The village is quiet, you can easily go for a bike ride through the ricefield.
We also went to Sukawati market by bike, only 10 minutes cycling. To reach the market you have to take one hill, but furthermore the area is flat and quiet, very easy to go around.
Also liked the friendly staff and the conversations with Jacinta, the very attentive owner.
One of the staff members invited us to a cremation ceremony very close to the villa. What an impressive experience! We watched the ceremony for three hours, so very special!
This place is in the middle of nature, but still close to many activities, location was just perfect for us!
Thanks Jacinta for your kind hospitality, we can't recommend your place enough!

Room Tip: Garden Suite and View Suite are above each other, suitable for families with older children. With yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrakelSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mandala Desa is situated some way outside Ubud and is consequently very peaceful.The beautiful collection of buildings stand alongside attractive rice paddies, and adjacent to the village.
From the moment you arrive, and are welcomed by Jacinta usually with a cooling drink, you are pampered, if this is what you want, or if you prefer you can enjoy the peaceful surroundings punctuated with delicious meals prepared individually and served in various cool locations to suit. The rooms/suites are all very well appointed most with beautiful views over the paddies.
The distance from Ubud is not a problem as Jacinta lays on vehicles to take the guests into town at pre arranged times or on demand, in addition to collection and return to Denpasser Airport.
All the staff are without exception courteous and friendly. This particular property differs from others in the area in that it is small and consequently more friendly offering exactly what is required by individual guests. The nearby villages and market is a joy and more authentic than others, because it not overrun with other tourists. To sum up, it would be difficult to find a place that ticks all the boxes as Mandala Desa does.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Mandala Desa. The staff really made our experience. They were extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room was also spacious and lovely, including a very large bathroom. The pool is small but clean, and the morning breakfast is delicious.
We were a little surprised at how far the hotel is from central Ubud (at least 20 minutes by car). The hotel provides drivers (who were wonderful), but it isn't convenient to go to and from Ubud multiple times in a day. If you are prepared to be a bit more isolated, the location is fine. It makes for lovely walks through the rice paddies in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Mandala Desa with my wife, daughter, mother, and mother-in-law. We rented the Garden Suite and Superior Suite to accommodate our large group. We choose Mandala Desa because of the positive reviews here, and we were not disappointed. If one is looking for a peaceful location and an authentic experience of central Bali, then choose Mandala Desa.

Jacinta and her staff were very attentive to our needs and requests. They provided a very high level of service and were experts on sightseeing in and around Ubud. The accommodation was just as advertised. We were pleased with the choice we made, and I would definitely stay at Mandala Desa again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unoriginal_Name_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We would also like to thanks Jacinta, Ketut and all the staff at the Mandala Desa. The service, accommodation and food were all excellent.

The staff were extremely helpful, going over and above our highest expectations to make sure we had everything we needed and had an enjoyable holiday. Everyone was so friendly, we felt very welcome and like part of the family!

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in a village about 20mins by free shuttle from Ubud. Also if you are keen to explore the surrounds there are lots of things to see and you can cycle on the free bikes or arrange tours. Otherwise you can enjoy the day relaxing by the lovely pool and in your villa.

I should also say the bed was exceptionally comfortable and it was quiet at night so we had an excellent sleep. We didnt have any problems with insects (just keep the door closed) and the food was very tasty and good value for money.

Room Tip: The villas are lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janem78art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.8 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 609 in Ubud
175 reviews
7.5 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#6 of 609 in Ubud
177 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tebesaya Cottage
Tebesaya Cottage
#12 of 609 in Ubud
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
5.2 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#14 of 609 in Ubud
193 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#19 of 609 in Ubud
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Desa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Desa

Address: Br. Lantangidung, Batuan, Sukawati, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £41 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandala Desa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mandala Desa A luxurious and laid back hideaway, Mandala Desa is the ideal destination for those wishing to experience authentic Bali up close and personal. Set on the edge of a traditional Balinese village with endless views of green rice paddies, the villa is within easy reach of Ubud’s many shops and galleries yet feels a world away. Relax in your private sanctuary while outside your window lies the living postcard of panoramic rice field views with farmers working their land and herons and kingfishers flying overhead. We warmly invite you to enter a beautiful oasis of just four accommodations that is everything a vacation home should be comfortable, unpretentious, with delicious food and staff that genuinely wishes to give each guest magical holiday memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandala Desa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Desa Hotel Ubud
Mandala Desa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing