We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
306
26
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
26
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior suite garden suite rice fields sukawati market afternoon tea arrange tours coffee machine outdoor shower warm hospitality three nights village life nasi goreng every morning local village visit bali close to nature welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Jacinta and her staff made our stay and truly memorable experience.

On arrival we were greeted with a cold towel and a welcome drink. Jacinta give us a quick overview of Mandala Desa and the surrounding areas.

The staff at Mandala Desa were attentive but never in the way.

Jacinta organised a driver for the day (10 hour) to take us to Elephant cave, water temple, coffee plantation, wood carving, Mt Batur, Elephant safari lodge and the rice terrace fields....WOW what a awesome day.

Mandala Desa is a bit isolated but that was ok with us. We ate dinner at Mandala Desa every night andf the food was always excellent.

Room Tip: Garden suite was excellent
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellyman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

For our family with two children, we booked the Garden Suite and the above View Suite. We booked nearly one year in advance, and the email conversation with Jacinta was always very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very big, with large bathrooms, very good mosquito nets, A/C, safe, free water and nice views from the balcony. Pool area is very nice, we liked especially the several small bale bengongs, which are beautifully decorated and where you can have dinner or lunch.
We had several meals at the resort, which we all very good and tasty.
We went once to Sanur, which is a 30 min. drive from Mandala desa. Another evening we went to the dance performance/dinner at Lake Leke, which is about 20 min. driving from the villa.
What we enjoyed very much is the peace at the resort, and the natural surroundings. The village is quiet, you can easily go for a bike ride through the ricefield.
We also went to Sukawati market by bike, only 10 minutes cycling. To reach the market you have to take one hill, but furthermore the area is flat and quiet, very easy to go around.
Also liked the friendly staff and the conversations with Jacinta, the very attentive owner.
One of the staff members invited us to a cremation ceremony very close to the villa. What an impressive experience! We watched the ceremony for three hours, so very special!
This place is in the middle of nature, but still close to many activities, location was just perfect for us!
Thanks Jacinta for your kind hospitality, we can't recommend your place enough!

Room Tip: Garden Suite and View Suite are above each other, suitable for families with older children. With younger kids I would advise the Superior Suite, with 2 bedrooms, livingroom, kitchen and very large balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrakelSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mandala Desa is situated some way outside Ubud and is consequently very peaceful.The beautiful collection of buildings stand alongside attractive rice paddies, and adjacent to the village.
From the moment you arrive, and are welcomed by Jacinta usually with a cooling drink, you are pampered, if this is what you want, or if you prefer you can enjoy the peaceful surroundings punctuated with delicious meals prepared individually and served in various cool locations to suit. The rooms/suites are all very well appointed most with beautiful views over the paddies.
The distance from Ubud is not a problem as Jacinta lays on vehicles to take the guests into town at pre arranged times or on demand, in addition to collection and return to Denpasser Airport.
All the staff are without exception courteous and friendly. This particular property differs from others in the area in that it is small and consequently more friendly offering exactly what is required by individual guests. The nearby villages and market is a joy and more authentic than others, because it not overrun with other tourists. To sum up, it would be difficult to find a place that ticks all the boxes as Mandala Desa does.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Mandala Desa. The staff really made our experience. They were extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room was also spacious and lovely, including a very large bathroom. The pool is small but clean, and the morning breakfast is delicious.
We were a little surprised at how far the hotel is from central Ubud (at least 20 minutes by car). The hotel provides drivers (who were wonderful), but it isn't convenient to go to and from Ubud multiple times in a day. If you are prepared to be a bit more isolated, the location is fine. It makes for lovely walks through the rice paddies in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Mandala Desa with my wife, daughter, mother, and mother-in-law. We rented the Garden Suite and Superior Suite to accommodate our large group. We choose Mandala Desa because of the positive reviews here, and we were not disappointed. If one is looking for a peaceful location and an authentic experience of central Bali, then choose Mandala Desa.

Jacinta and her staff were very attentive to our needs and requests. They provided a very high level of service and were experts on sightseeing in and around Ubud. The accommodation was just as advertised. We were pleased with the choice we made, and I would definitely stay at Mandala Desa again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unoriginal_Name_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews