We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect”
Review of Mandala Desa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandala Desa
Ranked #13 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mandala Desa is set on the edge of a village with views over rice fields and jungle. It is peaceful, in a rural way (chickens, roosters, dogs). Jacintha runs a wonderful and personal service, the staff are friendly and helpful, the meals and drinks are delicious and reasonably priced. It is a way out of Ubud, but there is a van to drop you into town and pick you up at no charge, or offer a service to other places at a very competitive rate. Our villa was spacious, private and comfortable with outdoor relaxing areas and an outdoor bath. There are many simple touches which make a great service e.g. a large water cooler size potable water dispenser. We ordered an in room massage at a very reasonable rate with a great masseuse. This is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prudence56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Mandala Desa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

It was great to wake up in the countryside near Ubud with such a peaceful view. The food was great and the staff was amazingly friendly and laughing all the time and they're willing to help and advise you. Rooms were very comfortable and clean.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maartje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

In June 2014 we spent a lovely two weeks at Mandala Desa and felt really pampered by Jacintha and her staff!
The Mandala Desa resort lies in the midst of a beautiful ‘Dessa’ landscape, where we had a good view of the farmers planting and harvesting their ‘Paddi’-rice.
In the mornings we awoke by the sounds of the local roosters and dogs and were treated with a big (Indonesian or Western) breakfast. After breakfast we could choose from a variety of trips like walking around Ubud, cycling among the rice fields or making a car trip with driver to impressive temples and other interesting sites.
Mandala Desa arranged trips for us in all available directions with safe (English speaking) drivers.
The resort is an excellent base for visits to famous places like the Lake Bratan, the important Besakih Temple, the Tirta Gangga palace gardens (Eastern Bali) and many other cultural sites.
Mandala Desa maintains good relations with guides who can accompany you on hikes e.g. to the top of the volcano Mount Batur of walks downs valleys around Ubud.
Apart from being an excellent base for visits to sites all over Bali the hotel is a quiet place with a nice swimming pool, garden and delicious Balinese (or Western) food for a relaxing afternoon or evening.
We stayed at one of the Villa’s with the outdoor bathroom (a real treat!) and the View suite, where we spent lovely early mornings taking photographs of the fields.
Alice de Gier

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice_de_gier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently stayed at Mandala Desa near Ubud and we loved it. We were welcomed by the owner Jacinta and staff as soon as we pulled in to the driveway. We stayed in a spacious, tastefully furnished villa with a wonderful outside shower and spa bath. We were able to breakfast on our verandah or under our Bali gazebo surrounded by our own fishpond full of koi, goldfish and other fish. Each morning we would look out and see the local farmers clearing their paddi fields ready for planting. Our stay was enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of Jacinta and all of our wonderful staff. Nothing was to much trouble. We were further away from Ubud than we expected but that wasn't a problem as Jacinta arranged for her drivers to take us to Ubud and pick us up as part of the service. This also included taking us to the airport on the last day. Food and washing services were very very reasonably priced. Bicycles were available and you could hire a scooter.
Everyday after touring around we enjoyed the wonderful pool and afternoon tea and cakes were provided. We also enjoyed the company of Pom the Pomeranian watch dog who was such a playful puppy. Thank you so much for such a wonderful holiday. We were glad we didn't stay in Ubud as it is now so busy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anni692003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I agree with another reviewer thought of not posting a review so this resort is not overrun. Set in the rice fields next to a Balinese village, this feels like the real Bali that has almost been destroyed by mass tourism. We arrived late, had a wonderful dinner on the verandah and at ten o'clock heard a man's voice chanting in the temple nearby. A not-to-be-forgotten experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jardiner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Gorgeous hotel with beautiful rooms and the views of the rice fields at all times of the day were delightful. I will start off with the cons so I can end on a positive note.
- The pool really is not suited to young children. It gets very deep very quickly, there is no paddling area.

- On two occasions I requested that our room not be entered by staff while we were away from the premises. On both occasions this request was ignored. I had a very good reason for making this request and was not impressed at all that it was not adhered to.

- The on site restaurant/kitchen would take forever to bring food. We waited one night for over two hours for them to bring us three toasted jaffles. I understand that it is not a large restaurant, but this was way beyond acceptable. It was also a little frustrating having to order all meals well in advance.

- Although I believe there has been some type of play equipment installed now (the day we left actually!) there was very little to keep children amused for very long. Kids don't seem to want to just relax as much as their parents do...

- The neighborhood dogs at night drove me insane! Coming from all directions.

- For some reason on several occasions there was no water in the villas. Not sure what the problem was but quite annoying, particularly when one had a tiny touch of Bali Belly and there was no water in the bathroom.

The nice bits -

* The staff are lovely and Jacinta (who is also lovely) should be very proud of her staff. Melissa who is at villa for six months is really great and Kadek who does most of the driving is a gorgeous man. I really enjoyed his company on our trips and our chats back at the hotel.

* The villas are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable and all the amenities are nice. TV's could do with an update though.

* There is a lovely garden area at the rear of the property which is lovely to take a stroll though and a lovely gazebo where you can take your meals or just sit and watch the goings on in the area.

* Highly recommend their breakfasts, mie goreng was great too, and the kids loved the jaffles.

I would stay here again, but probably not with young children. I look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: The most Eastern Villa has the best sun rises and so does the gazebo in the garden.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Wake up to sunrise by the rice fields and chill out within nature's compound. Mandala Desa is a haven for city folks looking for a quiet gateaway. Hidden twenty minutes outside the touristy areas of Ubud, Mandala Desa is a bungalow with five accommodation rooms of different sizes. All rooms have access views to the beautiful paddy fields. The rooms are spacious, clean and private. The hospitality by Jacinta and her staff are excellent. We couldn't have asked for more.

The Village Tours comes highly recommended and a great way to experience the local areas. It is a 2-3 hours bicycle ride around the local neighborhood guided by the local staff. Sukawati (Arts Market) is a 10mins bicycle ride. It is a tourist/ souvenir market for locals at local prices. It is advised to negotiate at least 40% off the quoted prices. To end your Village Tour (and if you are feeling adventurous), you can request to try the local food at the warung (neighborhood food stall) opposite the "Family of Mask" house.

Mandala Desa offers regular intraday car ride to and from Ubud centre. For those looking for limited (or less commercialised art pieces), there are local art galleries (from traditional to contemporary art work) littered along the road to Ubud centre that you can visit.

We will definitely be back and look forward to our next visit to Mandala Desa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveEatExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
551 reviews
8.8 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 585 in Ubud
167 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#21 of 585 in Ubud
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
2.5 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
5.2 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#9 of 585 in Ubud
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Desa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Desa

Address: Br. Lantangidung, Batuan, Sukawati, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £41 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandala Desa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mandala Desa A luxurious and laid back hideaway, Mandala Desa is the ideal destination for those wishing to experience authentic Bali up close and personal. Set on the edge of a traditional Balinese village with endless views of green rice paddies, the villa is within easy reach of Ubud’s many shops and galleries yet feels a world away. Relax in your private sanctuary while outside your window lies the living postcard of panoramic rice field views with farmers working their land and herons and kingfishers flying overhead. We warmly invite you to enter a beautiful oasis of just four accommodations that is everything a vacation home should be comfortable, unpretentious, with delicious food and staff that genuinely wishes to give each guest magical holiday memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandala Desa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Desa Hotel Ubud
Mandala Desa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing