We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most pretentious menu ever” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seeds of Life Raw Food Cafe Bali

The Seeds of Life Raw Food Cafe Bali
Ranked #103 of 708 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Raw & Vegan Cafe & Tonic Bar serving organic raw foods at the highest level by industry leaders. We have a Taoist Tonic bar serving ancient elixirs for superior health & longevity as well as a wild, organic ancient Chinese tea menu. Daily we have Ashtanga classes in the yoga studio & Bagua style Qi Gong. The place to be in Ubud if your looking for the cutting edge raw foods & ultimate health. In addition we have a raw food academy & run regular Raw Food & Yoga retreats here & around the world.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most pretentious menu ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good food can speak for itself; this menu screams. I agree with the tenor of Fris B's review, the dominant flavours here are pretension and affectation. The dips were bad; the juices good. Simple sliced vegetables but the two dips to scoop were very small in quantity and not pleasant. Despite its name the Bakti Bliss was a well balanced and good tasting drink as was the Banana Dharma. The wrap was good; the daily special of "Pad Thai" was acceptable. Simple in its elements, reasonable presentation but rather spoilt by that menu which made it difficult for me to eat it in public - "served with sweet tamarind juices of love", actually it was drowned in them.

The cakes looked good but we did not try them. We could not bring ourselves to try the teas. "Hand picked from 800 year old wild trees by families who trace their lineage back 2 000 years so the chi is strong .." or something, I was laughing at the pretension too much to remember any more.

If you are not in the target demographic, very clearly a twenty something female on her way to or from yoga; or if you are not there to prey on such targets, then you will be out of place. Be sure to avoid faux pas like not taking your shoes off to walk on the tiled floor even though the staff will keep their shoes on.

Overall, expensive for what are mostly simple ingredients but perhaps worth it if you need more comedy in your life, that menu will give you more pleasure than the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UbudBaliRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    47
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AmAzInG aLl ArOuNd :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The food served at seeds of life is amazing, cant believe a raw vegan chocolate tort could taste that good. Also planting the seeds of living in a sustainable way through eating organic whole foods (sourced locally when possible) just leaves a great taste in my mouth! Thank you to Ben, Sayurie, Joao and Sonja *~....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeLlA_rOsE_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“The Emperor's New Clothes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Only had a drink and a dessert (the 'decadent chocolate cake') - I don't have an aversion to healthy food (no really!) but the cake tasted toooooo healthy to my palate (ok hipsters I'm ready to be attacked for saying this). In fact, 20 minutes later I'm still really not enjoying the lingering aftertaste. Also found it under-sweetened.

The fruit-juice was small but tasty (should be tasty for 35000 + 15%).
Really don't enjoy taking my shoes off nor sitting on the floor on cushions (both seem like affectations, though I'm sure their audience digs that stuff) - but I guess it's safe to safe to say I'm not their target market.

Ps. Was filled with hipsters and self-righteous vegan-types, and as beautifully friendly as the staff were, battled 3x over to get their attention. Also menu hard to read - you have to use both hands, or the pages spring back on themselves! Sorry if I sound like a grinch, but it was all pretty irritating and having finished this review, alas still not digging that pervasive after-taste.

Pps As a tactile, affectionate individual I'm all for hugs. But seeing one of their regulars walk into the open kitchen and hug all the male and female Balinese staff upon arrival was jarring in its cultural insensitivity - but I guess indicative of how well this place fits into the Eat Pray Love yoga aesthetic of the 'new Ubud'.

Helpful?
4 Thank Fris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious raw food... something different that you have to try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food was absolutely delicious, the best raw food we have ever had... It's very innovative, very tasty, very healthy... Will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank greentravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible - I never thought Food could be Innovative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A few dishes here I've loved, and the majority have just *blown my mind*. It's incredible that they are raw, SO good for you, full of nutrients (do some research about the benefits of raw food to understand), combined so perfectly (do some research about food combining to understand!) and on top of it all, so affordable, fairly priced.

I'd say my favorite is the raw lasagna (featured on Mondays) with the raw chocolate pie or raw banana cream pie for dessert (get a bottle of freshly made coconut milk to go with it). The chia pudding or raw granola for breakfast are also amazing. They now have fresh (as in, not powder) spirulina! I had never even seen that. This place is seriously amazing. The staff are great too. I stop by here nearly every day, and have often stayed long enough to have two meals and a snack in between... I never write reviews, but this is so worth recommending, I just had to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Seeds of Life Raw Food Cafe Bali also viewed

 

Been to The Seeds of Life Raw Food Cafe Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing