We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High expectations were not met...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anini Raka Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Ranked #133 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“High expectations were not met...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we booked the hotel, we had high expectations - and three unanswered questions based on the reviews in Tripadvisor: 1) was the hotel within walking distance from Ubud centre?; 2) how bad was the breakfast?; and 3) was the bathroom outside, as some of the reviews here mentioned. I will answer the questions here - but in summary, our stay overall was pretty average and had we paid the full advertised price we would have felt very hard done by.

We booked the two bedroom family suite, travelling with two children aged 5 and 7.

I will start with the positives: the hotel is indeed set amongst beautiful peaceful rice paddies, and whilst not close to the centre, it is located in close (walking) proximity to some good restaurants, including Elephant and the famous Naughty Nuri's. The hotel also does provide a free hourly shuttle into the centre and will pick up any time - just get the restaurant you are eating at call them. That was great because although we could (and did several times) walk from/to town, in rain or in the dark this was not easy with two kids.

The family suite was large enough to accommodate our family comfortably, with two bedrooms with large queen sized beds and two bathrooms, one each attached to the bedrooms. There is a TINY sitting area adjoining the two rooms.

Staff were friendly and the pool past the restaurant was pleasant, although there were not very many seats and it was difficult to find towels.

Now for the negatives. The cleanliness of this place really has a long way to go. For example, when we arrived there were stains on the wall next to the bin in the sitting area. These stains were still there when we left. Glasses which we used were not washed but simply rewrapped in the "I-promise-this-is-clean" paper. Although we stayed seven nights, sheets were not changed at any point. Both bathrooms smelled like stale urine, sinks were dirty, and there were cobwebs above both mirrors.

The sinks were also very small, to the point that it was difficult to use them. The rooms were very dark,and dingy feeling. I assume there are better rooms than this in the hotel - just be mindful that the nicer rooms with paddy views are situated along the main walkway - and it is very very easy to see inside all the rooms, particularly at night.

The breakfast was, in a word, awful. We are not very picky and would have been very happy with just a Indonesian breakfast or banana pancakes. But the attempt to put on a Western-style buffet has backfired on Anini Raka. The food did not seem fresh and we were very hesitant to eat any of the hot breakfast with the exception of the pancakes or eggs which were made to order. For example, I know that my kids were the only ones eating the cereal, as the cereal bowls would not be refilled until they were empty (over a course of days).

The renovations which some reviewers mentioned back in March are ongoing, with workers tiling and doing all sorts of things right next to the swimming pool. This was also not pleasant.

Wi-fi was incredibly slow and frustrating.

In summary, the only things that have moved up this review to 3 out of 5 as opposed to lower is the lovely location and the size of the accommodation, which was adequate. Definitely don't pay the advertised rates here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    106
    35
    7
    10
See reviews for
41
89
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

we booked this hotel thinking that it would be great value given the great reviews on this site. the hotel looks pretty good on first arrival however on closer inspection the hotel was in bad condition and not the cleanest.

The bed was a disaster, it wasn't a mattress but rather a large piece of foam and on my side of the bed the foam had a deep indentation from a previous guest. the pillows weren't any better, very thin and you only got one each.

The first problem we encountered was that the remote for the tv didn't work, not a huge issue but still inconvenient but before we could call to get this fixed we discovered our toilet was broken and got distracted but this new problem.

we had to call them to fix the toilet 3 times before someone came, very late at night, to fix it properly.

we then had problems when trying to shower, the actual shower itself never got hot so we resorted to using the handheld shower in the very large bath.

we were very excited to use the bath, it took over an hour to fill and then as it was tiled and not porcelain it didn't retain any heat so within a minute or two of us getting in the water was cold. very disappointing for a bath lover.

we then had a problem where there was a blackout to our room and then the air-conditioning broke and it wasn't fixed even when we left, we couldn't sleep that night as the room was swelteringly hot.

VERY sleazy gardener tried to get us to book a tour with him privately. i don't appreciate this. made me and my boyfriend very uncomfortable to the point we went out of our way to avoid him the following days when we saw him around the hotel.

Room Tip: there is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Anini Raka has so many wonderful qualities to recommend it: the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Located about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Ubud (there are free shuttles departing hourly), it was quiet and peaceful at night. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meng_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Anini Raka Hotel is best avoided. The place is in dire need of some TLC. Our room was very dirty, there were thick layers of dust on the furniture, very old rough towels, a dirty shower floor, a yellow stained toilet and loads of ants. The shower was an open one Which is usually good but when you turned the shower on it swivelled and soaked everywhere else in the bathroom except you!! You had to hold the shower head to wash. The breakfast was inedible, just terrible. There are two pool areas, one is dirty, with cracked wooden floor boards the other is ok. There are some positives to note however; friendly staff, nice views of rice fields, good pressure in the shower, comfortable bed. This place would probably suit backpackers looking for low to medium budget accommodation, it's not suitable for families or couples.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Something special about this place. Location is great, short 20 mins walk to center of Ubud, but free shuttle if you don't want the walk, and they will pick you up again if you call. But many restaurants/bars along same road if you walk up close to Hotel. Large comfortable rooms and great staff. Amazing view of rice terrace, two swimming pools, spa on site. Breakfast is fine and they will do eggs/pancakes as you wish. Ubus is nice place, central and easy transport once you know (Parama Bus, Jallan Hanoman !). Back to Hotel, clean, quiet, wonderful. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The lower floor rear block room we had was great with patio doors out to rice terrace view and seats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Bear with me, as this is my first review. Had a lovely, quiet 4 night stay here. The hotel is just a bit out of town, which was perfect for us, as downtown can be a bit chaotic. Situated in the middle of a rice field, the surroundings were very green and lush. Hotel was very clean and the a/c worked really well, which was a relief. The staff was so kind, lovely and extremely helpful. They have a "shuttle" service which was like having our own private driver as he took us and picked us up where ever we wanted to go. We were going to the Yoga Barn every day, some days 2x, restaurants, massages, etc. Very accomodating.

I was traveling with a girlfriend, and the hotel was so reasonable, we each had our own room, which was fab.

Would not hesitate to stay there again. Wonderful place.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor with a great view of the rice paddie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I'm sorry, but do not agree with the description given that it is a "Luxurious boutique hotel"! We arrived at the hotel in the middle of rice fields in Ubud, Bali, and expected a lot more than we experienced. The pool by the spa was very small with no towels available and no one around to request them. It was later afternoon, and the spa was closed already, so unfortunately we were unable to have a " Balinese Bliss massage after a day of exploring". Our room was ok, but the white towels appeared very "dingy". Breakfast buffet was ok, but not up to the standards that we had been used to on the trip. It is a good location for nature lovers and the town is walkable and there are lots of good restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#91 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.1 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#145 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kori Ubud Resort & Spa
Kori Ubud Resort & Spa
#114 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#129 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.8 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#103 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#108 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anini Raka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anini Raka Resort & Spa

Property: Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#103 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anini Raka Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anini Raka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anini Raka Hotel Ubud
Anini Raka Resort And Spa
Aniniraka Hotel Ubud
Anini Raka Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing