We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Field Hotel and Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Field Hotel and Bungalows
Ranked #14 of 520 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We loved this hotel, so much in fact that we stayed on three different occasions in all types of rooms. Our fave would be the most expensive one which was a bungalow overlooking the rice paddies. The other rooms were perfectly fine as well. The salt water pool is fabulous- it is an infinity pool overlooking the rice paddies and was hardly used. For a hotel which was running almost 100% occupancy when we stayed, it didnt feel busy at all. The bonus was the free shuttle drop off and pick up ( very prompt service ) to Ubud - very hand position but sometimes we didnt feel like walking, The staff are friendly and got to know us by name- smiles everywhere. The breakfast was great- fruit and a choice of hot food as well so that set us up for the day. There was some noise from construction site but that was ok as we werent in our rooms all the time and the staff were very apologetic about that. It was no different to other hotels in Ubud where there seems to be construction going on everywhere- part of the urbanisation of Ubud. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: choose an upstairs bungalow overlooking the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    267
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
213
432
74
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stunning location looking out on the rice fields of Ubud and such friendly and accommodating staff. The gardens, pool area all beautifully maintained. Free shuttle service provided into Ubud.
The breakfasts are delicious and can be eaten by the pool area, in the restaurant or in your room. The saltwater pool and surrounds make for a very peaceful and meditative setting. Balinese sacrifices are placed around the hotel environment every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Green Field Hotel, Ubud, Bali. Good location, 10 minute walk from Monkey Forest and 30min walk from city centre. Very large choice of restaurants in immediate area, but need to watch the footpaths as many drain covers broken/missing. Two supermarkets and money changer also within 5 mins walk. Rooms are absolutely amazing, with really tall ceilings and lots of marble. You feel like you are in the Middle East! No TV (didn't miss it), a/c worked well, with mini-bar and coffee/tea making facilities. Overlooking rice fields, literally on your patio/balcony; not seen this view on my doorstep before, so quite a novelty. Friendly staff with good English and complimentary (until 10pm) shuttle to take you into town. Comprehensive, high standard local/international breakfast included in Rp.950,000 tariff. Friend stayed in cheaper (Rp700,00) room and we couldn't tell the difference, so would book that one next time. Only suggestions for improvement include the need for an in-room safe, better lighting over hand basin for ladies and makeup, and a deadlock/chain on door. Also, some rooms only have a hand-held (no wall bracket) shower over the bath. Large, clean swimming pool and small bar area for drinks. Complimentary umbrellas at reception. Would certainly recommend and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs room gives you a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

A group of 14 of us stayed here for 6 nights while studying Balinese music in Ubud. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel so welcome and were so willing to help us with anything at all. We needed help to tie our sarongs a few times and the reception staff were so happy to help.
The free shuttle into the centre of Ubud was great, and the drivers were all lovely and knew where we were going.
The rooms we stayed in were clean and tidy (we were in rooms 101-107, the most basic rooms the hotel has to offer) and were big enough to share between two messy girls. The pool was amazing and looks over the most amazing rice paddies. Breakfast each day was incredible as well. The banana pancakes are so good!
Overall, this hotel was great to stay in, mostly because of the beautiful staff. I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our first trip to Ubud and only our second hotel in Bali and we were not sure what to expect.
I organise all our holiday through travel Advisor and l like to surprise my family with my choice of accommodation. Green field did not let us down.
It is a beautiful resort in a magical location overlooking the rice padi's. The staff were beyond reproach.
Feny who organised our stay had the warmest smile and nothing was too much trouble, including asking the workers out the front of our unit to only work when we were out.
The resort is located in southern Ubud and very close to the Monkey Forest which was a hilight. There is shopping right outside the door and free resort transport
into the centre of Ubud if you want it. We would often get a ride to the top of town and walk back.
The cafe doesn't have the most inspiring outlook and the food was good but not outstanding.
You can of course eat around the beautiful pool setting which is truly inspiring.
We stayed in the Sampai rooms with Rice field views that were wonderful.
There were issues with doors that wouldn't close and poor workmanship in our units, but I could not let these minor issues cloud what is a beautiful resort and a wonderful place to relax and set out on your journey to enjoy Ubud

Room Tip: Tips: If you like good fresh food ask directions to Sari organic. Make sure you are there for Sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allens_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at Balek Adat for 4 nights.

We used airport pick up by the hotel, it was great as driver will talk to you everything about Bali with good command of English.

Greeted by reception staff with fresh watermelon juice.

Was a little bit disappointed with the room as sofa at the balcony was not really clean (with stain and sticky). The bed is OK, nothing fancy. The shower is bad as water did not flow nicely eventually we have to shower with cautious to make sure water dont overflow.

Breakfast selection is very limited with small portion. Eg, 2 pieces of pancake+fruit juice+tea; fried rice with egg+fruit juice+tea/coffee. We normally have it early in the morning and hunt for another round outside for brunch. It would be better if its buffet style.

We did not use the swimming pool as the pool is always with floated leaves and it doesnt look appetizing.

To us, the room is a bit pricey after walking around and compare with other accommodations in Ubud. You can easily get cheaper prices for similiar standard of local style accommodation, or pay a little bit more for fashionable branded style of accommodation with better cleanliness and better facilities eg TV, aircond, comfy sofa etc.

Thumbs up for their shuttle services around Ubud where you can call them to pick u up within the area.

Overall, good service at good location, but housekeeping and hardware facilities can be better with such price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We Stayed here four 4 nights between 16th and 20th June in room 506. The hotel and the rooms are beautiful with all the rooms apparently being uniquely furnished and decorated. Our 1st floor room was large and very comfortable with a large balcony terrace overlooking rice paddies and the Sacred Monkey Forest. The bathroom was large and pleasant. The atmosphere in the hotel was one of calm tranquility (despite the building work going on). Breakfasts were generous, varied and of good quality.

We had an allergy incident (My fault) where a doctor had to be summoned which they did very quickly and with no fuss. Although the hotel is fairly close to the Monkey Forest (a few minutes walk), they provide a free shuttle anywhere within the Monkey Forest Road and Jalan Hanoman area - very useful and would drop you off and pick up from local restaurants etc. They even arranged a driver for an afternoon visit to Denpasar for me and my wife (at very reasonable cost). The saltwater pool and reception areas were great places to relax. Although the restaurant seemed to be somewhat underused, all snack and food we ordered there were of high quality.

The only disturbance we had was when an errant troop of mischievous monkeys decided to visit our balcony at 5 am one morning and rather inconsiderately left "calling cards" all over it and the furniture, which the hotel staff very quickly attended to and cleaned up.

The hotel offers massage services (in room only) as they have currently got no spa. But this was of high quality and not overly expensive.

The hotel staff were all helpful, polite and friendly. Overall our stay was very enjoyable, our only complaint being that we could not stop any longer as we had to return home! We would definitely chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broughies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#51 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Field Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Field Hotel and Bungalows

Property: Green Field Hotel and Bungalows
Address: Dewa Made Santana, Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 520 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Field Hotel and Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Field Hotel and Restaurant is surrounded by peaceful rice fields in South Ubud, a 10-minute walk from the Monkey Forest & close to Yoga Barn, 10-minute walk from the Tibetan Sound Hall and Organic Vegetable and Fruit Market. It is 45-minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.ROOMSRooms at Hotel Green Field feature a private balcony or terrace. Each room is equipped with a minibar and tea/coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower facilities are provided in the en suite marble bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Field Hotel and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Field Hotel And Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing