We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #82 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Tanah merah is a wonderful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of tourist crowds. All the staff and host, Peter, we so welcoming and I couldn't fault anything. My short stay was perfection and I will be returning next year. Amazing views, amazing food and amazing service plus a fascinating gallery and museum showing pieces from through Indonesia. A must for all those interested in Balinese and Indonesian culture and history.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopyLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    85
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
61
190
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We booked one of Tanah Merah's studio apartments through agoda.com for half price. When we arrived, much to our surprise, we were shown to one of the villas overlooking the river valley instead. Peter, the owner, said it had become available and he thought we would like it better..... What was not to like! It was absolutely fabulous! The bathroom was filled with flowers, the king size beds comfortable (firm mattresses), the art work in the room and on the huge veranda wonderful, the view to die for, the grounds lush with plants, birds, and flowers - with art work everywhere.

Some reviewers complained about the breakfast. We stayed there in January 2012 and breakfast was good and plentiful. You had a choice of Asian and western style breakfasts. We mostly ended up with one of the western style choices which consisted of a plate of fresh fruit (pineapple, bananas, watermelon, papaya with slice of lime), a choice of 4 different fruit juices, 2 eggs any style, bacon, a small patty of fried potato, toast and croissant and coffee or tea. No complaints here!

As others have pointed out, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. And don't even consider turning down Peter's offer to show you his art collection. It rivals that of bigger and much more well-known museums.


I agree with some of the other reviewers. The restaurant is OK and the setting very nice, but there is much more variety in town and I would definitely recommend eating in Ubud. The hotel is about a 10 minute ride from Ubud, but you can always ask one of the staff members to drive you into town during the day. And the drive is gorgeous! In exchange for the relative remoteness (which does include early morning rooster wake up calls), you'll find yourself in a little slice of paradise.

Note: Tanah Merah has service to and from Denpasar airport for $35. I used a driver who had picked me up at Denpasar when I arrived and stayed in a hotel in Ubud for a couple of days before moving to Tanah Merah. The ride from the airport to Ubud was $22.00. He charged $27.00 for the ride from Tanah Merah back to the airport.

Room Tip: The older villas overlooking the river valley have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Uschi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed here in the hotel rooms with a friend. We loved the way the resort integrated beautiful art and artefacts into every nook and cranny, the attentive service and the beautiful lay out of the place, with mossy stone walkways leading you to dining areas and pools dropping away to lush gorges. The room was very largely, very clean and perfect for an in-room beer before heading into town or to the open air restaurant for dinner. The host organised tours and transfers for us, which was great, we didn't need to lift a finger. Affordable luxury. Be prepared to be woken by chickens and roosters - an integral part of Bali's charm.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 890nicolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed with my wife and daugther for 3 days in Balinese villa #8, which is next to the owners (Dr. Bloch) private house (temple). The villa is built entirely in wood and bamboo and thatched roof, very authentic. Two queen canopy beds in a large room with ceiling fans and A/C, and a (somewhat dark) stoney bathroom dominated by a large shower wall overhung with plants and flowers. In front a large deck facing a majestic drop-off to a gorge, and a magnificent view for miles of tropical forest and rice fields in between.
Situated well away in the rice fields away from the bustling Ubud center, the hotel grounds are actually located more or less on the cliffs off the gorge, with many steps and footpaths leading to different levels. The whole area is overgrown with lush vegetation, intermingled with small temples, statues and ornaments, all neatly illuminated at night. You can take a hike down to the river below, and swim up to a nearby waterfall. (WARNING! Do NOT attempt this on your own - the steps are extremely slippery, and during our stay alone 2 other visitors strained their ankles falling on the steps! The hotel staff will gladly escort you down there, and take you for a swim - but beware, the current is extremely strong!)
As such the place is unique for its location and architecture. Add to this that the owner (a Danish dentist who came to Bali 43 years ago) is an avid art collector, and has built a collection of artifacts that is second to none. Imagine a pair of 38.000 year old carved mammoth tusks... vases from the Ming dynasty... and we are not talking just a few items here, there must be several 1000's of items, all kept protected in a large underground concrete bunker. Must be worth billions in any currency.
While Mr. Bloch, whom we met and talked to personally (being Danes ourselves), deserve respect for his large interest in art and the Bali culture, it seems that running the hotel may have been given less priority for a while.
Our biggest criticism goes towards the breakfast, which was served at a patio two levels below our villa. For continental breakfast we were served a few pieces of cut fruit, two slices of dry plain white bread with absolutely no nutritional value, and a croissant. Tea and coffee was served in worn out plastic cups. When asked for some orange jam, the waiter (a very young girl barely able to speak any form of English) just passed us a nearly empty and greasy jar from another couples table. One morning we had to wait 10 minutes for our coffee, despite we were only 3 couples in the area; clearly a result of inefficient or untrained staff. A plastic container on the table containing wooden toothpicks was covered with mold on the inside!
Even worse, in the afternoon we were in need for a knife to cut up some fruit, and I went down to the breakfast area to ask for a knife in the kitchen, but it was closed. I happened to look through the window, and noticed mice running around on the floor and the counters. Had this been at home the whole place had been shut down on the spot!
On the negative side was also that the larger of the two pools appeared unappealing, with visible algeae, leaves, dirt and an oilish look of the surface.
On the positive side, all staff appeared extremely warm, welcoming and helpful, entirely in the spirit of Balinese culture.
All in all, the place has the properties of being a distinct alternative to mainstream hotels, but Mr. Bloch must remember to keep up the maintenance, and perhaps inspect the facilities himself, if he wish to keep the interest by more discriminating guests from the Western culture.

Room Tip: Bali villas #7 and #8 are seemingly the best, with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed at Bali Villa 1, family of 5. Different types of accommodation available.

Positives
1) Peter Bloch and his astonishing collection of Chinese ceramics, Indonesian artifacts and many things Balinese. Beautifully displayed. Dr Bloch gave us a private guided viewing that is worth a trip in itself
2) Views from our 2 level villa is just fantastic - across a river gorge with sounds of the rushing Petanu river below
3) Friendly staff and thoughtful service
4) Food from the room service is good with decent choice but perhaps cost a tad more (starters or desserts US$5 and mains US$10-17) compared to similar quality in town
5) Petanu pool is small but very good ambiance and we had it to ourselves throughout
6) Great wifi service in room - my teenage son said it was decent enough for gaming
Mixed feelings
1) Location is a fair way out of town smack in the middle of a village with temple close by. Cannot be beaten for authenticity but can be noisy particularly with crowing cocks even before sunrise
2) Bali Villa 1 is very unique construction, very open layout with views overlooking the Petanu river gorge. Great traditional design with 2 level layout and another attached single level chalet. Enormous and unique but shared bathroom downstairs behind the excellent communal areas where the whole party can sit on the raised dais to chill out or whatever with wonderful outlook to behold. Views even better from the upstairs porch. Bedroom walls are made from weaved mats porous to noise and the air conditioned air leaked out easily and its difficult to keep the upstairs bedroom cool. The attached chalet room is not air conditioned and on our first night the weather was a bit too warm. The shared downstairs bathroom is not ideal.
3) Bali Villa 1 is a very open and given the location of Tanah Merah backing onto jungle on one perimeter, insects abound everywhere. This room type is not for the insect challenged but other room types probably better
4) Another villa unit under construction on the grounds
Tanah Merah is overall a very good good stay experience for our party but the Bali Villa 1 was not so great for some.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapitan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This hotel is a paradise. Everything was clean, amazing and full of flowers. In the middle of the jungle just 4km out of Ubud. Service is very good, breakfast in the cottage and personal driver available.
Quality is high and the price good.
There is a big museum of Balinese artists inside the resort.
It's really near of a famous Temple (pejeng).
We suggest to do a bike tour in the ricefield arpone ubud.
Raccomanded!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed here in May 2011 with my partner. We were blown away by the resort! After staying in some more expensive places (that weren't that great) we were a little hesitant about this place. We had booked our room through a discount site so got a pretty good deal. We stayed in the rooms, as opposed to the bungalows but, we didn't feel short changed at all. Super high ceilings, clean bathrooms (with a massive bronze bath) and large windows! The grounds are amazing, very lush and tropical, the resort looks over a deep canyon which when you're in the drop off pools is quite exquisite. The resort dog is the friendliest most lovable thing you'll ever come across. He was big but he never once made us uncomfortable. Even though the resort doesn't supply a shuttle back from Ubud finding a driver was no problem at all. Their restaurant is good.......most tender steak ever, but I'd say head into Ubud for dinner, get amongst it! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoLime57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
3.7 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#66 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Sabandari
Villa Sabandari
#9 of 527 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
5.6 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Property: Tanah Merah Art Resort
Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#69 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing