We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and romantic stay- worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #90 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Its an excellent property away from the main Ubud city- nearly 3 kms drive from there, on the top of a hill, pool overlooking the hill top into the valley. The drive to the hotel from Ubud is beautiful with Paddy fields on both sides of the road and lot of greenery is there all around.
Property itself is excellent, very well maintained. Staff is very well trained and rooms are very clean. Rooms are beautiful. We had a very romantic 2 night stay there.
Rooms are equipped with a double bath tub and a jacuzzi also.
Our room was near the swimming pool and on the hill- we enjoyed a beautiful view from there.
It also has a large museum inside the resort- Hotel owner gave us a nice tour of the museum for 3 hours.
Caution: there is lot of art work done on the walls- of their ancient Gods and some of those look really scary.
There is noise of wild bugs at night. don't get scared.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajavrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed two nights at the tanah merah and it was really enjoyable. The hotel is beautiful and very big. We stayed in one of the cottages right in front of the infinity pool, and it was a bit of a walk to get to the restaurant and reception, but its fine because the restaurant where we had breakfast was simply breathtaking facing the forect valley, amazing views.

The room was nice, very dark wooden cottage and the visibility inside wasnt great. We did ask for an extra lamp and they gave us which improved things a bit but still a bit dark. We did have a hot tub in the bathroom though, which kind of made up for it. The breakfast was very nice and plentiful and the swimming pool was also nice.

The downside of this place is the distance to the center of ubud. If you're looking to stay close to the action that is not a good choice as its a 15-20min cab ride into up and down roads and costs around 50-70 thousand Rupees to get there.. the surrounding of the hotel is very nice though.

Room Tip: The cottages are very dark inside and because they are made of wood there are small gaps where insec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed in tanah merah for one night( could not stay more). The hotel is not in Ubud, but in the village north far away. It has tons of mosquitos, but the most frustrating part are the parrots. They look nice, but the noise they make in the morning is just inbearable. The village is just off the fence so you also have cocks in the morning. Don't go there

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5starhotelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It is my second time in Tanah Merah Resort and I would not recommend any other hotel to stay in. It is located in a beautiful location by the waterfall with a swimming pool overlooking jungle. Stuff at the hotel is helpful and quick, which is very rare in Bali. In addition, Tanah Merah is not only a resort but a gallery and if you want to get familiar with local art it has one of the best paintings and crafts to offer for viewing. If you are looking for a place to relax and find piece, Tanah Merah is an ideal spot!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houseonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is quite unique, it is just as much a museum and art gallery as it is a hotel. I stayed in a studio room, the cheapest alternative, but wow!! The room itself is decorated with paintings and antiques and two king-size beds. In the bathroom, I had the pleasure of using an enormous copper bath.
This place lies outside the main Ubud area, and here one can enjoy being surrounded by beautiful gardens, jungle and the constant and relaxing sound of running water. I will say though, if you have trouble with stairs, this is probably not the place for you.
I found dining was better done in town (far more choice), but the included breakfast (choice of American, Continental, etc.) was quite acceptable. Staff here are always smiling and ready to assist at anytime. The owner Peter is a gem, he has over 40 years put together this unrivalled collection of art, taking the tour of this collection is a must!
I have been so lucky to have had this experience, thank you Peter and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed in a 2 level 2 bed, 1 bathroom villa for 4 nights with my parents in their late 60s and it was fabulous.
Gorgeous room, great Indonesian or Western breakfast, sweet helpful staff and the museum was fabulous. Do see it on the first day. We left it to the last and rushed a bit and we were sad we didn't have more time. It's really impressive for a private collection, really well presented (even for people who don't normally love museums!) The Gallery is lovely too.
We ate in the restaurant once and it was great. Butter fish and steak were recommended by another traveller and we agreed.
We had a massage by the pool and she was fabulous! Best we had in Bali actually.
The 2 pools and grounds are all lovely. Lush and green. Do take the walk down to the river, the steps are steep and many but it's a pretty spot and a good workout on the way up!
The drive to town is through rice paddies and takes about 10 minutes but all drivers in Ubud were super safe and slow.
Best day is a walk to and through the paddy fields stopping for drinks and snacks at Bali Organik and Pomegranate. Gorgeous!
Hire a car for the evening and before the sun goes down go to see the fabulous resort at Fivelements and eat in the raw vegan restaurant. Even meat eaters will be impressed.
Also do the Bali Baik tour. I did it 5 years ago and again this time, all downhill riding (apart from 2 little hills) and really fun.

Room Tip: They all seem lovely, depends on your party size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GratefulTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

there are many places to stay in Ubud but this is the greatest, If you can get the Mades Lange suite!!! Don't miss seeing the gallery it will make you cry with happiness. Be sure to meet Peter and get to know him. The staff is fantastic. The birds are fantastic. The place is perfect and so are the massages. Oh ya the food can't be beat. Wish we were back there right now!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
723 reviews
2.9 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#98 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#57 of 199 in Ubud
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £56 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing