We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel in Bali”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ubud Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ubud Inn
Ranked #165 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel in Bali”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Dirty , damp, musky rooms. Dirty towels. No pool towels only old bath towels .No chairs in room . No plugs or hot water in vanity. Had to ask for new towels every day even though they took the old . Breakfast was a choice of one egg cooked any way . Staff harrassed you for transport both on the way & during breakfast & asked very inflated prices .
Spoilt a great trip to Bali

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    50
    45
    22
    13
See reviews for
24
50
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in August 2011.

Positive:
- In the main street of Ubud, two minutes walk from Monkey Forest and 10 minutes from the local market. Close to restaurants, shops, massage ...
- The rooms are arranged around a large tropical garden with pool. It is quiet and peaceful.
- The staff is friendly and try to help with your questions or problems. Cafeteria staff is helpful and professional.
- Breakfast, without being spectacular, is correct and plentiful. Includes tea or coffee, toast, eggs and some fruit.
- You can pay by credit card at no extra charge.

Negative:
- The rooms are not very original, and somewhat spoiled.
- The official prices of the hotel are extremely expensive for the quality of the rooms. We reserve the first night hotel for $ 40 Agoda when the price they had was $ 120.
- When asked for two additional nights at the same price, at first got problems, but later agreed and they respected us the price. (Best to book in any web page or at least know what the real price)
- They do not have WIFI in the rooms, unless you get one just above the cafeteria.
- The hotel taxi service for excursions is just as expensive than if you hire on the street. Should have lower prices for guests staying at the hotel.

CONCLUSIONS:

Well-located hotel with lovely garden and friendly staff. Rooms adequate but not spectacular and totally overvalued official prices.
Recommended? Depends on what you pay.
Return to this hotel if not pay more than $ 40 per night with breakfast and A/C included.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAVA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Great atmosphere, kind people and a good nights sleep. It has the perfect location because its close enough to walk all over town during the day and at night its an easy walking distance to restaurants, clubs, and bars. But not so close that you can hear blasting music. You get a wonderful nights sleep :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meant2travel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

It looks good from the outside, but you can do better on the same street for the same price. Their pool was always crowded. Maybe that had to do with the rooms which had very little character. The room was just a room. I had an AC room, but I might as well hadn’t. It was weak. Hmm, that’s another reason the pool may have been always busy.

I had serious bed bugs in my bed. Not the kind you can see. I was itching so badly I had to slip into my trusty sleep sac brought along specifically for if such situations should happen to find me. This was a rare occasion that it did.

To conclude with some good points, it is located centrally on Monkey Forest Road and breakfast is brought to your balcony. They have a big pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBearsBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We arrived in Ubud without any reservations.. figured we'd wing it and scout around for accommodation once we arrived there. Walked into Ubud Inn and Spa and was sold as soon as we saw the rooms. Location is central, shops and market all in walking distance from the Inn. Rooms were clean and simple (we got the suite facing the pool), helpful staff greeted you by name and breakfast was delish! Definitely returning when I head over to Ubud again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband and I were in Ubud and wanted to get a massage. We passed Ubud Inn and it looked decent from the outside. We decided to get 2 60-minute massages. As soon as we were led to our room I started having second thoughts. The room looked dirty and the fabric on the massage table was damp. I thought it was leftover from the last person. Reluctantly, I climbed onto the massage table.

About 10 minutes into the massage, someone yells for my masseuse and she leaves! I have NEVER had anyone leave in the middle of a massage. She was only gone a couple of minutes but I was annoyed. Then 10 minutes later she leaves AGAIN. This time I hear her go pee outside the room. She flushed the toilet and came straight back without washing her hands! I'm not sure why I didn't leave at this point.

Next, she asked me to turnover. The next thing I know, she pulls the sheet down to the waist, exposing my breasts. Then she massaged my stomach with my breasts still uncovered. I have had enough massages in Indonesia, Thailand and the US to know that this is NOT ACCEPTABLE. The masseuse was supposed to keep my breasts coved at all times.

Finally, the massage came to an end. I looked at my watch and my 60-minute massage was only 40 minutes.

This was the most disturbing massage of my life. I only paid for a fraction of the actual cost. I know this site is for reviewing the hotel itself but I wanted to warn the guests about the massage. If the massage rooms and service are this bad, I can't imagine what the hotel is like.

Please learn from my mistake and stay away from this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfabbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here because we arrived in Ubud at 2 am and this was the first hotel we came across that was open at that hour. The room rate was $55/ night, which is very high, especially since the flush was not working properly and the shower system was the strangest I have ever seen (also there is no shower/ bath unit, simply a shower head attached to one corner of the bathroom. I would advise booking ahead and staying elsewhere. On a positive note, breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAF1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#111 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#96 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#129 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#105 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Inn

Property: Ubud Inn
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ubud Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ubud Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hotel Ubud
Ubud Inn Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing