We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Abangan Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abangan Bungalow
Ranked #154 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great place to stay. On the edge of rice fields, on a river lined with coconut trees. Great location. West end of main street, only a few minutes walk to Monkey Forest Rd. The only negative is our room was very dirty. Toilet was filthy. I cleaned myself when we first checked in. Other reviews say their rooms are clean, so it may have just been the person who cleaned (or didn't clean) our room. No fitness center, but beautiful walking paths in the rice fields from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    43
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
47
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A good place to stay if you are not after all the bells and whistles. Such good value for money.
They had no standard fan rooms available so we were upgraded for free to an air on bungalow which was fantastic.
The bathrooms are basic, but all you need, shower, toilet, sink and mirror.
The upstairs room has beds and a mirror and a wardrobe. Note there is nowhere to keep drinks etc cool, which isn't a big deal.
The best thing was the porch, with a day bed, table and two chairs. The super-friendly staff brought breakfast to us every morning to eat on the porch overlooking the most amazing greenery.
A good place to enjoy a relaxing breakfast with a book and a good place to rest your head once you're done exploring for the day.
On another note, it is well located, about a 5 minute walk from the ubud markets and monkey forest, so very accessible but tucked away so it remains peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliet86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Ubud is a wonderful place and the best part of Bali. If you are looking for beaches and partying - go to Kuta or Seminyak. If you want peace and relaxation, go to Ubud. It is serene, extremely lush and green, and offers plenty of good eateries, shops, and activities. This is a place where you can step off the main road and immediately be able to wander through rice fields and chat with local farmers. Abangan is located right on the main road so it is easy to get to everything. You can arrange cars/tours right through the hotel staff, Putu who picked me up from the airport and checked me in also drove me around everywhere. Probably cheaper elsewhere, but literally only a few bucks difference for a safe journey.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Had a very comfortable stay in room 1A which is in a block of 4 rooms. The room had a huge balcony and lovely bathroom. Each morning breakfast was brought up to the balcony which was a lovely touch.

There is a small pool in the garden which is a great way to cool down after a day walking around Ubud. The walk behind the hotel to the organc restaurant is really pretty and worth a visit.

We arranged a private driver through the hotel which was a great way to see the local sights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_n_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We booked this online with Agoda last minute and were so pleased that we did!! On arrival we were really early but they let us check in anyway. The room was spotless, large and had a brilliant balcony.

The room price included breakfast which was bought up to our room each morning so we could eat on the balcony, this was a really nice touch.

The staff are very friendly and chatty and will help organise taxis, scooter rental etc.

Location is fantastic, about a 2 minute stroll into the main part of town near a lot of restaurants, bars etc.

I would recommend this place to all of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I travelled to Ubud without a reservation and looked at a few places before settling in at Abangan. I enjoyed myself so much I ended up staying 16 nights. The staff are fantastic. No sooner had I stepped onto my patio in the morning than someone was there asking me what I would like for breakfast. And in low season I was able to negotiate a price of approximately $20 a night with breakfast which was the best value of any hotel I looked at in Ubud.

The bungalows are lovely two-story affairs with a bathroom and large patio on the ground floor and a sleeping loft upstairs. All of the bungalows are different- so if you can look at a few before choosing one. They are numbered 1-15 and the higher the number the farther you are away from the main street but the more likely you are to hear roosters in the morning from the surrounding fields. I liked bungalows 3 and 8 personally. The bungalows all face onto a small river gorge which give them all a sense of privacy.

There is a small swimming pool for cooling down at the end of the day. They also have free wifi in the lobby which I used frequently for skype and for emails but which wasn't fast enough on my Iphone to surf websites.

The bungalows are in a great location. 5 minutes walk gets you to central Ubud but they are right at the start of the rice fields which make for a lovely sunset stroll.

The negatives: I had to change pillows because the ones in the room smelled a little. Also, the mattress is made of soft foam so I wouldn't recommend the bungalows to anyone with back pain. Finally, I stayed there on 3 Saturday nights and on two of them the temple across the river hosted band practice from 930 am to midnight. It is definitely loud enough that there is no chance of sleeping until they are finished. I was already installed so didn't bother moving but had I known about this noise, I might have chosen a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sarahs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We were very lucky to stumble on this lovely gem in Ubud!
The location is excellent - less than a five minute walk to the central Markets, main shopping streets , excellent restaurants, and Sacred Monkey Forest.
We paid about AU$40 a night which included breakfast delivered to our door at our desired time. (Fresh local fruit, tea/coffee, eggs done however we wanted or lovely pancakes or more indonesian choices as well) There is a refreshing pool and the surroundings are beautiful. From the top floor of our two story bungalow we had gorgeous views over the rice fields.
The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Our bungalow had two queen size beds and two complete bathrooms!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovealifeoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#161 of 198 in Ubud
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#126 of 198 in Ubud
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#176 of 198 in Ubud
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#138 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#163 of 198 in Ubud
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#168 of 198 in Ubud
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangan Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangan Bungalow

Property: Abangan Bungalow
Address: Raya Ubud St, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abangan Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Abangan Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abangan Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Abangan Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing