We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No maintenance and not clean”
Review of Abangan Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abangan Bungalow
Ranked #157 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed for two nights in one of the two bungalows with two beds in the top floor. Bathroom was in very poor condition: dirty and stained bathtub and shower not working. Hot water available. Room cleanliness very poor: bed sheets smelly and very damp, spider webs in several spots of the room, cabinet falling apart. Too bad because the location is pretty good (few minutes from the beautiful rice fields) but the place lacks a lot of maintenance and is now really run down.

Room Tip: Do not get bungalows 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Old_Spice_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel offers a great location. 16 separate bungalows, Beds up stairs and bathroom down. Quite location. Well priced. Jungle setting. Hot and cold shower. Pool. Good value. Resturants right out side your door.

Room Tip: New rooms close to reception. Traditional rooms out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UbudCyclingTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We are backpackers so it was ok for us. If you are on honeymoon or on a week or two holiday I wouldn't recommend staying here.
The bungalow is situated in lovely gardens and has a pool but the bungalow itself is old and needs some work doing to it.
Good- pretty garden, friendly staff, big space in the sleeping level, comfy and large bed, close to the main streets but not too close that you get noise from the road, peaceful surroundings, lovely clean pool.
Bad- broken taps, no hot water in the evening, dirty, dirty, dirty, dark room, needs renovation, the breakfast that's includes is small and average, building work across the way so choose a room at the back of the plot, wifi slow.
Overall it's a budget place for budget travellers but to be honest it's not at budget prices at all. There are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed there for one night and paid 250000 rp, after negotiating down from 350000. The hotel is fine, you get a bungalow located in a nice garden. However, the bungalows are dark, warm, and there are millions of ants downstairs (though not in the sleeping area). The bungalows are quite old and could use a good cleaning, so the asking price is way over the top. Staff is friendly and the pool is nice, as is the location. However, we checked out after one night and easily found a cheaper and more charming hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

3 years ago stayed there during our first travel together. Got proposed to get married, and 3 years later we came back as a married couple. Clean rooms, Bathrooms need renovation. Lovely staff and awesome breakfast! 3 years ago we payed half the prices because when the movie 'Eat,pray,love' came out, suddenly all the tourists found Ubud...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Abangan Bungalow is on the northwestern edge of Ubud proper, and it's an easy 10-minute walk to the northern end of Monkey Forest Road. I went to Yoga Barn daily while I was there and while it's definitely a hike - about 40 minutes at a relatively quick pace - I enjoyed getting to wander around Ubud on foot, checking out all the shops and restaurants and getting a street-level view of life there. I liked Abangan's location - it's a bit removed from the hubbub of central Ubud but is still very convenient to it.

The accommodation itself was average - comfortable enough for a week's stay, but otherwise unremarkable. (The mattresses are a bit hard, so if you have back issues, beware - it never kept me from sleeping well.) I chose a room with air-con, which was quite comfortable. I spotted a couple of spiders the first night but took care to keep the balcony door closed after that and had no further visitors except a couple of geckos that snuck in from the hall with me one evening. I generally took showers early in the morning and usually didn't get water any warmer than tepid at best (although in the heat, I usually didn't mind), but showered off after a muddy bike ride one afternoon and got hot water then. The included breakfast was fine and always came with fruit, which was nice, though there are far better options in town if you don't mind passing up a free meal.

I really enjoyed sitting in the breakfast area in the evenings, as there's a Balinese dance venue just across the garden - they didn't have performances every night, but it was lovely to hear the music and catch a glimpse of the dancers when they did.

The staff here really made my stay in Ubud - they were all welcoming, helpful and friendly. I spent time most evenings talking with Wayan at reception and really enjoyed discussing Indonesian culture and the differences between Bali and Australia/the U.S.

A nice enough place overall, where the staff really makes the difference between a comfortable-enough, unremarkable stay and a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingStudent218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the newer rooms upstairs with AC. Lovely grounds. Unobtrusive staff are pleasant.

Huge room, bed and balcony. One wall is all glass - lovely view out to treetops. Very clean room, bathroom and sheets. Amazing value - Rp 300,000 including a small but very tasty breakfast.

Only downside - no fridge in room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hamlaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#166 of 198 in Ubud
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#180 of 198 in Ubud
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#125 of 198 in Ubud
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#159 of 198 in Ubud
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#176 of 198 in Ubud
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#165 of 198 in Ubud
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangan Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangan Bungalow

Address: Raya Ubud St, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £10 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abangan Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Abangan Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abangan Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Abangan Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing