We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for money in central Ubud”

Puri Dalem Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Dalem Cottages
Ranked #181 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for money in central Ubud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This place is in a good central location opposite the famous Dirty Duck Diner - it has only about 14 rooms set in a traditional bungalow style with rooms arranged in 2 upper and 2 lower room groups set around a Balinese garden and pool. Rooms were large and clean, including AC, TV, fridge, balcony, standard hotel bathroom. Staff were pleasant and helpful, but our 3 day stay was spoilt by a power outage (had to change rooms), water outages (no water at all for hours on two separate occasions), Hot water barely luke warm. However, our main concern was that there was no security at all and no staff to be found after 9pm when reception closed for the night. We felt a bit vulnerable as we only had a standard internal door with basic wafer lock between us and the outside world.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back, further from the road noise and backing onto the rice paddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray_R0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in this place for one night because of bedbugs! The first impression is good: nice garden and swimming pool. Huge rooms and beds, although the bathroom looks dated and needs to be restored. The staff was also very nice.

Unfortunately we woke up in the middle of the night because of a terrible itch: bedbugs (room1)! After searching for half an hour we found staff who gave us another room. The next morning the staff apologized, but didn't do more to keep us checked in the place when we told them we wanted to check out. Too bad for them because if they responded to our offer to give us (a part of) the refund of last night, we were considering of staying in the other room for more nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiesdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Sometimes I read reviews on Trip Advisir and I just despair... If I had read these reviews first I probably would have missed out on this great little find.

I arrived late at night & to save hassle just went where the taxi driver took me thinking I'll find something the next day as I had no booking. Bargain price quoted for one of the small rooms at the bottom overlooking the small fish pond and I thought not bad. Then I read these reviews and thought wow there must be some bargains to be had that are nicer than this.

I went to no less than 9 other places with pools. All rated higher on Trip Advisor. Some cheaper and some more expensive. Not one place I feel was as nice as Puri Dalem. Either facilities or rooms were not as nice or equal for a lot more money.

Location is excellent, right opposite large store that sells all you night need, next to a laundry if you don't want to pay hotel prices and a short walk to main street and an even shorter wall to the Monkey Forrest.

Grounds are lovely with a stone pool, three ponds and a wooden platform over one pond to sit and chill. Staff are constantly cleaning and say hello but also leave you alone. They speak English... Maybe some people just don't try to be understood.

Choice of breakfast and fruit juices and staff clean rooms every day regardless of what time you go out. They also top up your hot water jug and set out coffee etc on your private verandah which I thought was a nice touch.

No pink valance in my room and room spotless. Yes the bathroom was a bit dated and slightly moudly but for £23 a night I'm not expecting the ritz! I'm in the middle of the humid jungle... I expect a little bit of mildew! The room itself as I say was spotless, fresh towels and soap provided daily and my only grumble would be the mini bar fridge was a bit noisy and took a bit getting used to.

So on the whole I really can't complain for little over £20. I didn't make a booking so maybe benefited from a cheaper rate but I was shown larger rooms for more.

Having seen so many other places I can honestly say this is a cracker in it's price range and don't be put off by the reviews. I'm glad I wasnt.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caledonia_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Central location in ubud nicely located, view on the rice fields. And That 's it for the positive. Simple shabby rooms, some very close to street side. Smelly bathroom, dirty pool. No breakfast buffet, but eggs and toast served at the table. Disgusting. Pond with green algs. Decided to leave premature. I don't agree with those saying you get what you pay for. Usd45 a night is a very normal price in Indonesia and should give you access to 3 or 4 star hotels .. This place should be renovated and placed under new management .. To be avoided until then. Oh yeah no need to complain. Nobody speaks English whatsoever

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

I'm at a loss as to what people expect for $45AUD a night inc breakfast. If you want 5 star then pay for it. PD may not be perfect but they are trying hard.
The staff at Puri Dalem are helpful and 'Bali charming' and couldn't do enough for us.
The rooms were super clean - sure the furniture and fittings are a bit 'tired' but so what? for the price it is clean, secure, has a fridge and the a/c works - what more can you want? The breakfast was super fresh juice, omlette, fruit etc.
Close to excellent spas and only about 50 metres from the Yoga Barn which was the purpose of our trip. We'll definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, ca.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

stayed at this hotel for one night (by accident actually), and couldnt wait to leave. The grounds were really beautiful but the rooms are just gross. We stayed the next night in a hotel on Monkey Forest road that was only about $10 more and a thousand times nicer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsemmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

At only $60USD a night we thought it was a good deal. My 8 year old was a little shocked though - I'm afraid she's used to better quality. This place is good value if you are on a budget and in a great location. Right in town, you can walk everywhere, close to gret restaurants. It's just a bit old and tired. Our bathroom/toilet smelled a bit too which didn't help. Old pink satin valances around the beds, old curtains. the pool was clean but looked fairly ordinary. The grounds of Puri Dalem are lovely, nice gardens and quiet at night, which is a bonus in noisy UBUD town. I was reminded of my old backpacking days and thought how much I would have appreciated this place way back when. It's just our tastes are a bit more upmarket these days.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#172 of 195 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#126 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#170 of 195 in Ubud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#92 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Padi Hotel
Puri Padi Hotel
#174 of 195 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bumi Ubud Resort
Bumi Ubud Resort
#148 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Dalem Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dalem Cottages

Property: Puri Dalem Cottages
Address: Jl. Hanoman, No73, Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Dalem Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 14 rooms newly renovated set in traditional Balinese architecture, surrounded by lush tropical garden and rice field blended with the sophistication of modern hotel facilities, serene comfort, excellent family service grace all element of Puri Dalem Cottages. The 14 rooms come equipped with air conditioning, idd phone, mini bar, amenities, bathtub and shower with hot and cold water. There is a choice of rooms facing to the swimming pool, garden and fish pond, the open veranda with table and chair, daily coffee or tea, sugar and hot water in the jug set on your coffee table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Dalem Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dalem Cottages Hotel Ubud
Puri Dalem Hotel
Puri Dalem Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing