We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel on edge of Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary in Ubud”
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #57 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Wedowee, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great little hotel on edge of Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary in Ubud”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed at the Saren Indah 5 nights in March 2011. We booked a package that included superior view room with a king bed, daily breakfast, one set meal dinner for two, one-half hour massage each for two, two bottled waters each day, free local shuttle daily, free one-way shuttle to/ from Denpasar airport. From the moment we checked in the hotel was very comfortable. The bathroom had a corner tub and a mounted hand held shower. There are 10 full time staff and some trainees working at this small hotel. Everyone was friendly and did everything they could to accommodate guests. Rooms were cleaned early and thoroughly each day. The pool was refreshing and had adequate loungers. Breakfast was buffet with made to order options. We paid to double our massages to one-hour and it was wonderful. We ate dinner at the hotel two nights and the set meals were well prepared and presented. There is free wifi throughout and a computer in the lobby area for guest use. The hotel is about 200 meters from one entrance of the Mandala Wisata Wenara Wana (Sacred Monkey The hotel Forest Sanctuary). The monkeys did “come to breakfast” and visited on the upstairs porch of our room and others several times. The employees try to keep them away as they get into everything. They ate the sugar on the porch on the building next to us. Just past the Sanctuary (20,000 Rupiah each entrance) is Ubud. Alternately there is a walkway just along the edge of the Sanctuary with vendor’s shops that takes you to town. We only walked this way in daylight since it is unlighted. There are lots of restaurants and shops in town along with a very active day market. The hotel will pick you up after dinner or a cultural show in town. There are many excursions that the hotel will arrange or that you can arrange with tour agencies in town. There was only one complaint that my husband had. The porch lights are turned on each evening. We turned ours off each night when we retired. The bedroom curtains are not thick and the light from the neighbor’s porches came through each night. This was a minor issue. Overall this hotel was great. Our shuttle to the airport was there on time and got us to the airport with ample time for checking in with the airline. I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linmikga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    287
    57
    11
    4
See reviews for
155
490
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We booked Saren Indah for the first two weeks of a 6-week trip to Bali. We ended up staying an additional week because of the wonderful staff. The service was far superior to any hotel we stayed at in this price range. The staff especially went out of their way to accommodate the children, from the drivers to the room cleaners to the restaurant staff.

Although a modestl hotel with limited gardens and a small pool, the staff shone and made us and our children feel welcome and well cared-for. The restaurant was also good and did a good job of both Indonesian and western food. The breakfast was a great deal for our family, who could fill up on eggs or pancakes, and unlimited toast, cereal, fruit, and fruit-juice. The rooms were also spotless.

This hotel is on the south side of the monkey forest, in Nyuh Kuning, so not directly in Ubud, but walking distance. If you want to walk back from Ubud at night, bring a flashlight! Otherwise there is a free shuttle from the hotel.

We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank olemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed 3 weeks in Saren Indah and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff is very polite, friendly and allways welcome you with a big smile. It is a nice quiet hotel, but no far away from the main streets of Ubud. Also dinners are of best quality and not expensive. Breakfast is very good. Beds are allways clean and bath towels more than you need. This was our second stay and we like to come back.

Room Tip: take an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harrietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Saren Indah hotel was the highlight of my trip in Bali! The staff were so welcoming and accommodating. They went above and beyond to help make every guest feel comfortable. My favorite part about the hotel is that it is not directly in Ubud. You were able to escape hasslers and traffic, and just relax by the pool, or even sit on your balcony, gazing out at the rice paddies.
The hotel provides a free shuttle that runs every other hour to and from Ubud. They are very accommodating, and would drop us off anywhere we requested in Ubud, and also would ask where we would like to be picked up. It is also very quick to walk to Ubud, maybe 10 or 15 minutes. You exit the hotel, turn right, and follow the little path that runs past monkey forest, and you end up on Monkey Forest Road (one of the main roads in Ubud).
There are loads of restaurants along Monkey Forest Road, although my favorite meals I had in Ubud were served at Saren Indah! The breakfast was excellent! You had 3 choices off of their menu, served with coffee/tea/juice, as well as a small spread to choose from (buffet style; fruits, cakes, cereal).
The room itself was more than I expected. The balcony was more private than I expected, aircon worked wonderfully, and the room was spotless. The room had a mini fridge, a tv with a dvd player, umbrellas (so you could get to the restaurant in case it was raining), and almost anything else you could possibly need! Towels were replaced daily (sometimes twice a day if you showered before the turn-down serves), and 2 bottles of water were provided daily as well.
I would not hesitate to return back to this hotel! We booked 2 nights, and loved it so much we tried to book a 3rd night. Unfortunately they were booked-up so we were unable to stay an extra night, however they arranged for us to stay at another hotel close by. When they heard about our plans to go to the Gili Islands, they took care of all of our bookings (for the fast boat). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful getaway from the hasslers and craziness of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kellilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The position was Quite and peaceful. The scenic view was so nice to wakeup to everyday. We thought staff were just the best ever.I have a motel in Queensland and I wished I could take each of them home with me. The food at night was done to perfection. It was so good we didn't eat any where else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gregandjan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Not that far away from town (short cut along edge of monkey forest), but the hotel shuttle will drop you off wherever you want to go. VERY CLEAN!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cwiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We seemed to have a similar experience to the previous posts - we really enjoyed staying here. The staff are very friendly and really bend over backwards to provide excellent service. We were in room 111 (like a previous post) which had a big king sized bed with a mozzie net around it (could be tied back if you didn't want it). The room had good A/C which kept it nice and cool. The breakfast was ok, not brilliant but definitely not bad. The bathroom was fine, the shower head is a little low (fine for me as I'm short but if you are tall you might find it a little difficult).
Like another review, somone from this hotel also dropped us at our next hotel which I thought was really nice of them.
Overall I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleino28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 196 in Ubud
487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 196 in Ubud
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 196 in Ubud
652 reviews
1.1 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Property: Saren Indah Hotel
Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing