We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #52 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our third trip to Bali. We've previously stayed in larger more resort style accommodation in Nusa Dua which was at least three times the price of this hotel. Saren Indah cannot be beaten for value for money.

1. Service— Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here from booking to departure. Their English was perfectly adequate for anything we needed to communicate. They organised airport pick up for us all booked by the owner Ary via email. The difference between this hotel and the resorts is that you get the impression that they actually care. Their were really nice little touches like they lit mosquito coils outside our rooms in the early evening and put the outside lights on. These little things matter and I hope they will continue to understand that what they lack in facilities (gym, large restaurants etc) is more than made up for by the little things. The staff were all lovely very friendly and eager to please.

2. Value— This didn't feel like a 3 star experience to us. The price will keep attracting visitors who want good value for money.

3. Sleep Quality—Great location just a few minutes walk outside of Ubud so away from the traffic noise means that the only thing that you'll hear at night is frogs and crickets. You can hear guests in the upstairs rooms moving about but it didn't disturb us. Beds and pillows were excellent and the mosquito nets were much appreciated.

4. Cleanliness— Spotless from the rooms to the pool. Much better than some of the 5 star resorts we've stayed in.

5. Location— A few minutes walk from Ubud (they do provide a shuttle every 2 hours until 10.30pm, we didn't use it). The path takes you along the side of the monkey forest and wouldn't be suitable for anyone with a disability, pushchairs or those with a fear of monkeys. We were a little nervous of the monkeys at first. NOTE don't walk the path with any kind of shopping bag in hand. The monkeys will try and swipe it from you, backpacks seem to be fine.

We liked the fact that the hotel wasn't right in the heart of town which meant if was peaceful. Lovely views of the rice terrace made us feel like we were experiencing a bit of the real Bali.

The paths in Ubud centre are narrow and uneven and the roads busy with tourist and local traffic.
Most days we had the pool to ourselves as people are off on day trips etc.

Rooms—Spacious, comfortable and private, we had a lovely terrace that was nicely screened from other guest rooms. AC, basic TV, tea and coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries, daily servicing. Feels better than 3 star. Free wifi was temperamental but there is a computer you can access in reception.

Food—The food is good value especially if you book the three night package. There isn't a massive range at breakfast. You can order eggs as you'd like them, Nasi Goreng or pancakes. There is sliced bread for toasting, one choice of cereal (cornflakes), fruit, cake and grilled vegetables. You can also order freshly squeezed juices. They are the real deal, (apart from the orange juice which I think was processed). Tea and coffee is also provided. If I were to change one thing I'd add more bread and pastry selections and maybe a couple of cereals. This is the only thing that lets them down at breakfast. Having said that it is still brilliant value for money.

Don't miss—If you want to experience real Ubud get up by 7am and walk up to the local market (20mins). This is where the locals shop for things like fruits, fish, meat, vegetables, and clothes. The roads are teeming with mopeds and bikes, trucks full of people selling everything from eggs to sweet treats. This is not an experience that's put on for tourists but real life. Not sure if this is on every day but we happened upon it two days running.

If you're craving and espresso or cappuccino look out for the organic cafe called Kafe half way up the main street on the Coco supermarket side. They have green juices, flax seed porridge, eggs etc and are open all day from 7.30am. The free wifi is faster than anything that you'll get in Australia, no wonder the place is teeming with Australian, US and European tourists all with their Macs in tow.

Suitable for—Saren Indah is suitable for couples, friends, backpackers who want a comfy bed, and families with older children who don't want to go clubbing or load up empty suitcases with Bintang singlets.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden view rooms with a view of the rice terrace on the ground floor. The three ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LivinginPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    278
    55
    11
    4
See reviews for
149
477
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Saren Indah and again we weren't disappointed. You can't beat this place for value for money in Ubud! We had two deluxe rooms; one for hubby and I and one for our teenage daughter - highly recommend this for anyone travelling with teens. We were upstairs and our verandahs had a connecting door which you could leave open, effectively giving us the whole upstairs to ourselves with beautiful views and a gorgeous little squirrel going about his daily chores right in front of us. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable with a huge verandah overlooking the gardens and rice paddies, a peaceful haven away from the bustle of Ubud and great for relaxing whilst having a cool Bintang. Although the village is a little out of town (about 10 mins drive) the hotel shuttle is free to take you into town and pick you up or you can always pick up a cheap driver - this is Bali after all. The staff are amazing and really friendly, some of them are trainees from school but this does not effect the service, they are extremely friendly, helpful and there to please. There is a good restaurant at the hotel with a wide selection of different cuisines. The monkey forest is just down the road but no need to go there, the monkeys come to visit you! We had some hilarious breakfasts (which are also very good) with the monkeys stealing peoples toast! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have the best views but they are all upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Value, great service, nice staffs, everything are perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I was stunned by its beautiful view and service. Just like staying in the four star hotel, but paying maybe 1 or 2 star price. I just love it very much. Walk to Ubud market about 20mins, however hotel has free shuttle bus to bring you there, you may also rent a motocycle to travel which is cheap. But remember to wear helmet.. if not the traffic police .. you konw it.

Room Tip: Wear helmet when riding motobike. Becareful of monkeys as they may robe your items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and it was quiet and comfortable. The first 4 nights were in the rice view room and it was lovely. The last 3 were in the garden view and they were okay. The rice view rooms are larger, more attractive and have more storage space, though I actually thought the view of the garden was more attractive than the view of the rice field. Both rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The a/c worked well. The pool is lovely and the breakfast is very good. You can have your choice of cooked to order Indonesian or western food, both complimented with fresh fruit, juice and some buffet selections that change daily. The monkeys often come to visit for breakfast, but the staff is observant and kindly shoos them away...it's a good show.

The free shuttle was reliable and ran every 2 hours...or you can walk along side the monkey forest for free. Shuttle or taxi is recommended at night as the monkey forest is very dark. We did walk it one night and it felt safe enough, but it was way too dark to be comfortable...you can't be sure of your footing.

The best part of the stay was the staff. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. In particular, we bought tickets from a street vendor to see a Balinese dance and when we went to the performance site that night, it was empty. Well we thought we had been taken, but when we got back to the hotel and recounted the story to the young man at the front desk, he immediately made a phone call to the vendor (we had asked the vendor his name and he gave us his business card). The next night, when we returned from a tour we had taken, we were handed back out ticket money. They said the dances had been cancelled due to the Hindu holiday of Nyepi. We were delighted and thankful for the assistance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdmintucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great rooms with an even better price ! The only downfall of saren indah is that it's next to monkey forest which is the only way on foot to ubud center (shopping)-which is fine with me but my girlfriend wasn't a big fan of walking through,that aside it's a lovely place and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I love this hotel!!!
This hotel are suitable for honeymoon couple:
(1)the rooms is nice and good and beautiful
(2)the staff in the hotel is nice and helpful
(3)the breakfast is delicious especially the fried noddles but I think their management need to do some changes for the menu.

The bad things for this hotel is nearby monkey forest, this is very dangerous when you wan walk to the Ubud town you must walk through the monkey forest. The monkeys there are fierce and will come in to the restaurant and stolen the bread when we having the breakfast.

But the final conclusion is this hotel is valuable and nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.0 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Property: Saren Indah Hotel
Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing