We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet setting just a little outside the center of Ubud .”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #52 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet setting just a little outside the center of Ubud .”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Lovely peaceful location next to the monkey forest. It is a short walk from town but the hotel provides transportation if you want it. Our package came with 2meals and a massage. I would only take the package for 3 days or less as the set menu is somewhat limited. Pool is beautiful as are the surrounding rice fields. I stayed in rm 112 on the first floor overlooking a lovely garden and rice field. Staff is very friendly and helpful arranging day trips. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvhclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    278
    55
    11
    4
See reviews for
149
477
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked a 3 night stay in superior room with an extra bed for our daughter.
The upstair rooms overlook rice paddies, imagine our delight in waking the first morning to a group of monkeys wandering/playing in the fields, magic. And yes there are frogs and insects but that is the charm of it!
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The shuttle is a bonus. The short walk around the outside of the Monkey Forest to Ubud central takes 15-20 minutes and is a real adventure dodging monkeys and motorbikes, but great experience!
The package meals are ok, but the a la carte dishes were better.
Had a great stay and would recommend it if you like a quieter place to stay.
Massages were fantastic.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms have better views but stairs (only 2 story building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed for 5 nights which included their 3 night package that including a massage and 3 meals and stayed in room 109 which is upstairs at the end of the block and offers the widest ricefield views.
Over the years we have stayed at several wonderful places in the Ubud region now including Saren Indah. It is situated very close to the monkey forest and is a pleasant walk through it and then uphill to reach Ubud central. When we wanted to go to Ubud central we took the hotel's free shuttle service and then the downhill walk back to the hotel.
Being so close to the forest there were monkeys near the restaurant and front of the hotel each day. For anyone not familiar with the monkeys here beware that they can very quickly snatch your belongs and run off them them. They know that we carry food and drinks items in bags and will happy steal them, climb a tree and dispose of everything.
We enjoyed our stay and the friendly staff. Our massage including in the package was excellent. I wouldn't recommend the 3 night package that included meals as there are so many better dining options in the region, however the meals and juices were acceptable but there are many restaurants offering better.
Would definitely consider returning here.

Room Tip: Room 109 has the best ricefield views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendtofrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was a little apprehensive with the location of the hotel, being a touch away from the centre of Ubud, but this proved to be a masterstroke. The hotel sits just by the monkey forest and around a 20/25 minute walk to Ubud's markets and array of bars and holistic shops.
I have to say that above all, the service at the Saren Indah was truly exceptional. Each and every member of staff, from the knowledgeable reception staff to the sweet and polite waitresses/waiters at the bar and restaurant were a joy to be around. They made every effort to make my stay relaxing and enjoyable, so much so that my girlfriend and I opted to return to the hotel for dinner more often than dining in Ubud centre. The restaurant didn't let down with their surprising range of Balinese cuisine, lovingly cooked (which they were slightly too eager to serve with speed).
Surrounding the grounds were serene rice paddies, with dragonflies, butterflies and swooping swallows setting the scene. In the evening, the chorus of frogs croaking and crickets chirping sent you to sleep, without being too intrusive.
Our room was spacious and cleaned a couple of times a day with a nice sitting area outside looking out to the fields and little stream running through the grounds.
I can't speak highly enough of the Saren Indah, a beautiful hotel with exceptional staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I just can't stay away from this place! Researched other hotels in Ubud but really, you can't go past Saren Indah. The value, the comfort and the quiet location. The staff are wonderful and I love being 'just out of town'. The walk into central Ubud through the Monkey Forrest takes no time at all. Highly recommended once again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A great place to stay and great value for money. The service was spectacular, the rooms were beautiful, really can't fault the hotel at all. If I had to choose something it would be the breakfast didn't taste as spectacular as everything else was.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was our second stay at Saren Indah. We visited last January and you can check out my previous review by clicking underneath this one.
Although Saren Indah is not a 5 star resort, I have given this review 5 stars because it once again lived up to expectations.
The staff greeted us warmly on arrival, even asking if we remembered them from last year. I love this...it shows that they really take note on who is staying at the hotel. We had the same room that we had last year, and although there have been no renovations etc it is still excellent. Like last year, I still think that they need to get new showers (or place the shower rose in another position) but this is the only complaint of the whole stay.
We stayed for 4 nights and had the Superior room package (with an extra night). This included breakfast each morning, and 3 x set menu for lunch or dinner. The breakfasts here are always great, you get to order a fresh juice and a hot meal, either Indonesian (nasi goreng... yum!) or western, plus there is toast, fruit, pastries and cereal. So plenty to keep you going throughout the morning.
They have opened up a new building for the restaurant which was in the process of being built last year. It is an open pavilion like the breakfast room, and I just love this style. It has a huge roof so no problem with rain, but is totally open so you get the stunning views of the hotel and the rice fields.
The only other problem that I can think of with this hotel is that a lot of local drivers don't really know where it is. It is located in Nyuh Kuning village which is literally the other side of the Monkey Forest, however it can take 10-15 minutes to get there from Ubud centre. The hotel has a 2 hourly shuttle so if you can get that, then no problem. If you are hiring a driver off the street to take you back though, just make sure you get a hotel card from reception that has a map on the back. Very very handy!
Overall, another fantastic stay at Saren Indah.... and hopefully there will be many more.
You just can't beat the quality of the stay, especially for what you pay. Keep up the fantastic work!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 195 in Ubud
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 195 in Ubud
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 195 in Ubud
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Property: Saren Indah Hotel
Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing