We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical Balinese experience”
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #59 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My wife and i stayed at the Saren Indah for three nights in November. We could not fault this hotel, its staff or management.
The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from and on the southern side of monkey forest, out of the bustle of Ubud centre it is an ideal location to explore the Ubud area.
I booked the hotel directly on the Internet as a short break away from our beach holiday at Sanur. With the intention of exploring the Ubud area. The Internet booking was problem free with the hotel maintaining excellent contact and answering of my email queries.
The hotel contacted us at our Sanur hotel to arrange transfers and were collect by arrangement and transferred to Ubud without hitch and all included in our room rate.
The staff were polite and very attentive. We ate dinner in the hotel one night and we could not find fault with the food or service.
Virtually next door is a restaurant which offers differing forms of Balinese dance most evenings.
Views from the 1st floor rooms over the rice fields are great,watch the farmers take the ducks out in the morning and collect again at night.
Breakfast is more than adequate with hot food cooked to order.
Our room was of good size with a comfortable double bed, Air con, TV, stocked refrigerator, Emergency light, Kettle , with tea, coffee and bottled water provided FOC daily. The bathroom was large with corner bath and shower over.
They run a free shuttle bus to various points in the area every hour.
Sun beds and pool towels are set arround swimming pool where you can cool off after a day of exploring the town.
Our only regret is that we only stayed three nights next time will be longer.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2009

Booked 2 rooms n stayed 3 nights. Location is alright. Reception staff and housekeeping staff are friendly and helpful but not the waitress/waiter serving the breadfast. Rooms are big but not the bed. Curtains are in light coloured shade, and with a east facing room, the morning sun shines directly at you before 7am. As a light sleeper, i woke up frequently in the middle of the night with sounds from the insects/frogs. Overall, i did not get a good rest over the 3 nights.

There is a scheduled power supply cut off in Ubud villages. The hotel has no back up generator. My daughter was preparing for her shower n luckily for her, before she used the shower cream, all water n electricty were shut down from 6pm to 10pm. Hotel staff could have fore-warn the guest earlier. My son saw our neighbour unit guy running out from his room in bath towel too.We left for our dinner at their neighbour -Laka, which has a generator n provides some light to the environment. My kids have their shower after 10pm on our first night.

Dirty water ... on the second night, my kids were having their shower. All was fine until water flow starts turning from light brown to grey colour. Dirt were seen accumulating in the bath tub. My kids finished their shower in hot, dirty grey, n smelly water.

Except for the main course, the breakfast spread has insects crawling around it. Ants were found inside a packet of sugar and lizards at the bread section.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel for family travelling with young children/teens and for people who are accustomed to having a clean and healthy environment.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank honeymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Location : In the village of Nyu Kuning, Saren Indah is at the bottom of the Monkey Forest. It is a 1 min walk to the forest followed by a 5 minute walk around on a pedestrian/scooter path. This will take you to the end of Jl Monkey Forest (about a 20 min walk to the very top where the pasar (markets) are. Saren Indah has a shuttle service every hour to drop off/pickup into Ubud mainstreets. Otherwise expect to pay 50,000 for transport.

Rooms : Compact and gorgeous. We had fresh towels twice a day with turndown at night. Mosquito net is romantic and functional. We stayed on the bottom floor which had views of the garden. Upstairs gave you the magnificent view of the village and rice paddies.
Sitting on the veranda at night listening to the numerous frogs and local music from the hotel next door was fantastic. The bathroom was compact and clean with really hot water and a great bath.

Breakfast : Expect a normal Bali version of Western Food. The bread has a funny texture and although my poached eggs were runny the presentation left a lot to be desired. The bacon was this tiny piece that was cold. Don't let this put you off. This is fairly normal for Bali unless you are staying at a Western Style hotel - or eating in somewhere like Casa Luna.
They had white, wholemeal and brown bread for toast. As much fruit as you want and both Western and Bali meals on the menu.
Their Bali coffee was excellent and we ate many pisang goreng (fried bananas) with icecream late at night next to the pool.
We ate breakfast at Saren Indah every day.

Service : The staff will go out of their way to help. We hired scooters through the hotel and they were so accommodating when I sent them back two times (bald tire, dodgy brakes). They even apologised for something that was not their fault. All the staff were happy and smiling and even helped us practice our Basa Bali (their local language). Things were done quickly and without delay.

Scooter hire note : 50,000 a day is a fairly standard rate. Check your bike over and send it back if you are not happy. Bali is not the place to be riding with bald tires. On that note, Bali is not the place to learn how to ride a scooter. If you decide to anyway, wear a helmet and more clothes than just singlet, shorts and thongs. It is very common for tourists to have accidents.

Pool : Always clean and because there are only 16 villas never busy. Park yourself on a pool bed and relax listening to the wildlife.

Value : Great value! Unbelievable value! We have stayed in Ubud many times and this place is by far the best value for money. They don't have adjourning rooms which would make it hard for us to bring all three kids next time (they are too little to be in a room by themselves). However, you can have the kids in the room with you in your bed.

We will come back again and again to Saren Indah!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeredithandMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

My husband and I have been to Bali and Ubud several times. We liked the look of reviews here and decided it would be great to introduce our friends to Ubud from here. Worked a treat, we all loved it. Great service, those real smiles and a good laugh were all fabulous. Great rooms, sooo spotless, with baths, aircon that really works but is nearly silent, a bargain price really, in a very close in location. Get up early for the walk up hill along Jalan Monkey Porest (local pronunciation that always makes me smile) into the main town, or take the hourly shuttle. Lovely gardens, and it's next door to Laka Leke, where tradit. dance and music are performed in the evening. We watched squirrels play in the garden and caught hopping frogs one damp evening after a shower. The night sounds are a treat. Only down side was the brekky. But that wasn't a priority. Good food abounds in Ubud these days. Did you know that Ubud is home to the 6th best restaurant in the world? Mozaic. ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. Even we spoilt people from Melbourne were overwhelmed. Book ahead from your hotel, and confirm on hte day. Be prepared for a stately pace. Including Aussie/Kiwi wine (hugely taxed in Indonesia, sadly) we spent around $200 per head, including canapes of our choice in the lounge and then the divine chef's tasting menu of six courses, and petit four makes eight really. Perfect service too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank switchedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

THe hotel has free 1 way airport transport if u stayed minimum of days and booked directly with them and it comes with free 1 hour body massage for2 at ur room. The price is very reasonable at only 55USD per night. .

The staff are all veryvery friendly n polite.. They are proficient in English n able to help in any way they can. The hotel provide shuttle bus to Ubud centre every hour till 11PM. U can arrange with the reception to pick u up at the ubud centre to go back hotel.


Hotel room is very very clean and they come twice a day to change towels and tidy up the room. The staff will take the effort to light up the incense( insect repellent) at our door every night.... nice n clean hotel. definitely will go back the hotel if i visit ubud again.!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOnikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Great for a relaxing for few nights away from busy bali (Kuta). THe staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, clean and had a gorgeous view of the rice paddies. YOu can hear all the forest animals at night (frogs, crickets, birds etc). OUr balcony was very private, we had a table and chairs so you could sit and have a coffee whilst watching the workers in the rice paddies. YOu can call the hotel to pick you up from anywhere in UBUD every hour or a taxi costs about $3 aussie dollars. I was very impressed with this hotel especially for the price. THe lake Lake resturant next door is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WACandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The hotel looks nice and is very well located. Central UBUD is a quick walk (through the monkey forest). At night they have the free shuttle that picks you up from anywhere in Ubud, which is great. The room was nice and the staff was fantastic. This was our favorite hotel in Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmartscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#19 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#51 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £30 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing