We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saren Indah Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$699
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$721
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
556
309
62
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
309
62
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey forestrice paddiesfree shuttleubud centreclean towelshotel shuttleshuttle servicemosquito netstayed for nightshotel is situatedcouple of nightsbreakfast menuthe hustle and bustledeluxe roombanana pancakesbreakfast was includedthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I feel so lucky to have stayed at this hotel. When first planning our trip to Ubud I tried to get into Alam Shanti because of the excellent reviews but could only get in there for 2 nights and I am so HAPPY! The service at Saren Indah is so much better. All the staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful. Sure the rooms are a little more basic than many of the other hotels around but they're spotlessly clean and there is everything you need. We were amazed how every morning we would leave our room and go to breakfast and by the time we got back the bed would be made and we'd have clean towels and fresh beers. I will definitely stay here again.
I know others have mentioned the walk through Monkey Forest to town and it is really quick to do. One word of advice though - My fiance got bitten by a monkey and we had to visit a local clinic to get the rabies vaccine! We had debated about getting vaccinated before we left Australia and hadn't done it because it seemed a very low risk occurence, which it is, but I would advise people to look into it. We have travel insurance which we can claim the cost of the vaccine on .... the cost was just under 1 million IDR. The Doctor was lovely. I want to stress too that the monkey was not aggressive, he'd jumped on my partners backpack and was stealing the water bottle, my partner took the backpack off and the monkey jumped on his shoulder, he then tried to encourage the monkey to leave his shoulder and hop onto a statue (didn't touch the monkey) and the monkey bit his finger and then jumped off. My partner is fine but it did bring unnecessary stress to our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BilbyScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Too bad I was staying just one day on my last day at bali.
Definitely perfect hotel, clean and the service was like 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harri_anggi_suharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed there for 4 nights in 2 deluxe rooms with view: the view is very nice with a terrace overlooking some fields (unfortunately not rice fields any more) and the bathroom overlooking very nice rice fields. The rooms are not very stylish (for Bali standards) but extremely clean and practical. They also have the best mosquito nets ever seen (even if there were not many mosquitoes). Nice gesture: the staff puts mosquito coils in front of the rooms every evening. The restaurant is ok but nothing special and the swimming-pool is nice, even if also not very special. All in all a good choice. One plus: free wi-fi in the rooms with good speed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anouckar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed at Saren Indah for 5 nights in mid September.
I have to say we really enjoyed our stay here, fantastic service, very clean and great value for money.
We booked it after reading good reviews on TA, most of which are accurate. We booked through their own website and took advantage of their special Deluxe Package offer for US$250 which included 3 nights accommodation in a Deluxe View (Upstairs) Room and the following inclusions:-
Welcome drink upon arrival
Daily breakfast
Free daily afternoon tea at restaurant
Free daily 2 bottles of mineral water in room
Free a 90 minutes massage per person (2)
Free a set menu lunch or dinner
Free one way airport transfer in or out
Free daily shuttle service to Ubud centre
Extra days were charged at US$69 per day.
A superior package is available for $175 with similar inclusions in a downstairs room (Superior)
Importantly these rates are nett, inclusive of Govt. tax and service charge.
The rooms were extremely clean, spacious and comfortable; the bed was king size and very comfortable. The airconditioning was quiet and worked well.
The bed was beautifully decorated with fresh flower petals and the towels were shaped into love heart swans! The mini bar was stocked with the basics and quite cheap (R15,000 for a small Bintang - about AUD$1.80)
Our only real complaint was the bath/shower. The shower was a hand held shower mounted on a wall bracket at waist height over a small oval shaped bathtub, when you stand to have a shower the water squirts all over the bathroom floor and any items you may have left there. You cant have a proper relaxing shower. The only way to do it is to sit in the tub, sluice yourself down with water, turn it off, soap or shampoo up then hose the suds off! The tub is too small to have a nice relaxing lie down soak. There is no shower curtain or shower screen either.
As a constructive suggestion to management, they should install a western style "hand shower" with a longer hose that mounts on a vertical rail further up the wall so you can stand under the shower and adjust it so it does not spray everywhere.

The included breakfasts were served in the small restaurant by the pool. They are fairly basic, fresh fruit and one choice of cereal and bread and toasters at the buffet.
The staff would give you a menu and you could choose eggs either poached, fried, scrambled or an omlette served with bacon, ham & sausage. You could also choose pancakes or an asian rice dish. A choice of freshly squeezed (in a blender) juice was also offered. Also tea or coffee. All served with a smile from the very obliging staff.
An interesting entertainment at breakfast were a few cunning monkeys who would saunter in from the monkey forest and help themselves to bread or toast from the toaster or even guests tables if the staff didn't shoo them away first!
They were constructing a new restaurant for the hotel adjacent to the existing restaurant and the pool while we were there.

The pool area was very pleasant, located between reception and the restaurant. We never had a problem getting a sun lounge. The staff would bring you a pool towel and a drink or snack if you wanted.
The gardens were well maintained and very pleasant.

The location is just south of the Monkey Forest, officially in the small village of Nyuh Kuning. It is about a 10 - 15 minute walk on a path through the monkey forest to the southern end of Ubud itself. You need to take a torch if you want to walk it at night; there are also a lot of motorbikes that use the path.
The hotel runs a free shuttle into Ubud every 2 hours.
There is a great restaurant next door called Laka Leke, I recommend eating there. They also have traditional Balinese dancing on various nights and it is the venue for the famous Cafe Wayan Cooking Classes - well worth doing.
There are a few other small restaurants or warungs nearby and various craft and gift shops and tour agencies. You can also hire a motorbike nearby if you are game!
Free wi fi and use of a laptop for internet access was a great bonus.

The staff here were all wonderful, our drivers, Kade and Gusti, the reception staff, the restaurant staff and the staff cleaning the rooms. Always smiling and happy and very willing to help in any way they can.
All in all, a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brecker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I booked this hotel because the reviews and price were what we were looking for. All the positives are true and we will certainly be staying here the next time we travel to Ubud. We couldn't fault the service/food or facilities. Some may be put off by from walking through the monkey forest road of a night (rather than catching the hotel's shuttle) but for us it was fine and there are several excellent eating choices near the hotel if you don't want to venture to the main area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews