We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ubud”
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #65 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Everything about Saren Indah in Ubud is a truly great experience. I would recommend it to everyone. It is very clean with exceptional service. It is also close to the Ubud Center (10-15 minutes walk through the Monkey Forest ) or if you prefer to get there quicker you can always get a shuttle from the hotel free of charge every two hours with no problem of getting wherever you wish within Ubud location. You can dine in or in the Laka - Leke restaurant next door where they have dance performances nearly every evening. Also you can indulge yourself in the Alam Wangi Spa next door very good and clean with great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelerWorld7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

This has been one of the best value hotels we have stayed in over the many years we have been visiting Bali. Lovely peacful surroundings but only a 10 minute walk to town along the Monkey forest road where we were amazed by the beauty and sights of Monkeys everywhere. We recieved 5 star treatment at 3 star price the whole 7 nights we stayed.
Positives:
Clean bright large marble floored room with modern bathroom including nice bath.
Two comfortable single beds made into large canopy king with two pillows each.
Nice private balcony
TV, Hair dryer, kettle with coffee & tea provided
Free choice al la carte breakfast plus buffet fruit, coffee,tea, fruite juice & toast
Budget priced restaurant for lunch or dinner
Free afternoon tea at 3pm includes snack,coffee & tea
Free return shuttle every two hours into town or can book time
Great friendly staff that got us anything we needed
Nice pool area providing pool towels
Free wi fi in our room for out computer or free computer in lobby
Negatives:
Electrical lighting could be better but most lighting is bad everywhere
More English movie channels HBO didn't have sound but that's not a big thing after all we were in Bali to get back to nature.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We had room 108 which was great. My Husband found the lighting poor for shaving and the one wardrobe was very small so most of our clothes were left in the suitcase. I have a severe back problem and the staff brought me another mattress to put on top of the other one which was a great help.Because of my disability I found the steep step to the eating area difficult but the staff were always there to help. A ramp would have helped. Acouple of comfy chairs would have been good in the room. The pool was fantastic and very clean. The staff were superb couldn't ask for more. Breakfast great and the chef very obliging. A lovely place to relax by the pool and read. Good value for your money. Shuttle bus very convenient and drop you off at a resteraunt and pick you up. Ubud not a good place for people with a disability if you have a walker as I did. Footpaths too narrow and hilly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cook31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We had booked this hotel because we had some days left after traveling the Moluccas. We chose this hotel because of the price and the location seemed okay. Well the location is super, just a 10 minute walk (through the monkey forest!) to the main roads, close to everything but still nice and quiet. The hotel itself is also amazingly good for the price; very nice rooms, outstanding service, pretty damn clean (especially Indonesian standards) and free internet. Also you have a free Ubud shuttle, international television (it even had a Dutch channel :P) free umbrella's and oh yeah, a very cheap mini-bar in your room!

The internet was pretty dodgy and finding signal wasn't the easiest but hey, this is Indonesia :) plus it's a holiday so it's lame to whine about that. There is also a (new) laptop near the front desk which you can use free at will.

Breakfast was okay. Nothing special, but nice enough. Dinner at the hotel was surprisingly good and also relatively cheap. The cook really knows what he is doing.

The swimming pool was nice, nothing to fancy but very very clean!

All in all I must say this was one of the best hotel experiences we had in years. 5 star big chain hotels may be more fancy but the staff, price, and atmosphere makes you feel so much better at Saren Indah.

Ubud is also a pretty awesome place with a great atmosphere and beautiful nature all around.

Go to this place!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Datmeenjeniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after arriving In ubud after the place we booked was terrible and we had nowhere to go.

They had room for 2 nights in a lower unit 110 and 1 night in an upper unit 101.

For Bali and what's available in ubud its not bad. Small hotel. Basic swimming pool and property and basic 4 item breakfast with toast. 110 was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. Had a bathtub so that is nice since it seems rare in Bali.

101 was cheaper and pretty shabby. Smaller room, less furniture, almost no plugins and everything was very worn. Holes in the walls, rough looking furniture, door disintegrating at the bottom, lock on the main door did not stay locked and was fully open when we came back after leaving. This disturbed us with all our electronics inside. No safe in the rooms and they're not responsible for anything.

There was contraction going on next door every day. Pretty loud right beside the pool. Did not use the pool area once because of this. Not relaxing at all.

The Internet also stopped working in the rooms for 2 days. I had to call and ask about it 5 times over 2 days, each time all they said is oh really? Ok I'll call. I'd ask if it'd be fixed and they'd say ok thank you and hang up. Only when we left did it start working again. We needed internet because it's really hot outside and lots of bugs and needed to find a new hotel for the rest of our 3 weeks in Bali and it was important.

Internet in Bali is abysmally slow everywhere so don't expect much. Slightly better than dial up thats it.

Its on the other side of town by the monkey forest. It takes 15 to 20 min to walk through the forest to any restaurants or shopping. I got attacked by monkeys coming back from the market as i was 2 buildings away from the hotel on the gravel road outside the forest. One tried to slash my bags and bit into my oranges. The others tried to scare me and corner me, I had to get a ride the remainder of the way to stop them from chasing me and stealing my fruit.

The staff were all very friendly and smiley but the English was not the best and hard to understand them. Compared to other countries Bali is not the most up to date and beautiful tropical place. Its pretty dirty and they burn incense and garbage constantly in ubud so if you're sensitive or have asthma watch out. The locals also throw garbage in the rain forest. One threw his empty water bottle into the monkey forest after taking a rest on his motor cycle. I was in shock and gave him a dirty look and he didn't care. So different kind of mentality here. Ubud was cleaner 5 years ago. Btw theres no taxis, just private cars and no meters so they will generally charge you much more than whats fair for a few minutes drive. So make sure to negotiate prices.

We did not eat at the restaurant because were vegan and they did not really have anything without meat, milk or cheese for us to eat, so that was a little disappointing.

For the price its ok, if your on a budget and looking for a good sleep and basic comfort you'll be fine. But its not as close to town as you think.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed in the Saren Indah for 7 nights. The price was amazing for the standard of the hotel. We had booked direct with the hotel and got a good price for the deluxe garden room.
The package included an airport pickup, but as we were already in Sanur, they collected us from the hotel there instead. We also had a free massage each and one free meal each. Oh and a buffet breakfast every day, which was excellent.

We were delighted when we saw the room. it was beautiful. The bed was huge and comfortable, with lovely mosquito nets around, not necessary as the room was air conditioned, but great fun to wrap around the bed at night. The pillows were luxurious. The towels were renewed twice a day, but many of them could do with replacing, they are a bit grey and tatty. The sheets, however, were white and pristine.

The staff were happy to bring breakfast to the room and there were tea and coffee making facilities. Included in our package was afternoon tea every day, which consisted of nice little sweet treats. They would serve you at the pool if you asked. We also had two bottles of water every day. There is a fridge in the room, too.

The staff were wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Nice little touches, like frangipani and hibiscus blossoms placed around the place, in the pool etc, on the steps of the restaurant, made you feel spoilt. The pool is lovely. But it could do with a few more sunbeds in shade. The sun is very hot.

The views around the hotel are beautiful. Rice fields and thatched builidngs. We loved our garden room,room 110, the garden is beautiful, with a lily pond and tropical flowers around us. It sounded like being in the jungle at night with the noise of the frogs and geckos. Magical in the tropical rain, too.

The hotel is right next to the monkey forest, where the Macaques live. One or two mornings we were entertained by a mischievous troop coming into the hotel grounds, the waiters had various ideas for chasing them away.

We ate in the hotel restaurant most nights. They are building a new kitchen and eating area, which will add to the experience. The meals were nice and not pricey. There are also a few restauarants on Monkey Forest Road, within walking distance. Next door is a restaurant that offers dinner and balinese dancing most nights.

The hotel shuttle bus runs every two hours, but you have to book it. The drivers are very helpful and even took us to the start of a rice paddy walk one day.
You can walk into Ubud town, through the monkey forest, past lots of shops, it is a nice walk.

Don't book a room upstairs if you are not very fit, like us, as the steps are extremely steep and high. You can still enjoy the great views from the hotel's little temple.

We were torn between spending our last few days here or returning to the Tropical Bali in Sanur. We did go back there so that we had spent 7 nights in each place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidandjanet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Nicely set up hotel (take a room on the top floor for the best views from your own private balcony) with a lovely swimming pool. Staff is friendly, lots of choice for breakfast and a free shuttle-service to Ubud-center. If you want to walk, you have to cross the monkey forest. Fridge in room (with reasonably priced drinks), DVD player (you can borrow DVDs free), and tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ibu_Petani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 196 in Ubud
586 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 196 in Ubud
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 196 in Ubud
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#51 of 196 in Ubud
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 196 in Ubud
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#98 of 196 in Ubud
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £27 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing