We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
1,104
51
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
51
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kubu restaurant ayung river ladies and gentlemen the cocoon vintage tour director of operations kids club river front rice the general manager personal butler degustation menu buggy service walk in closet living room private pool stunning property
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely amazing dinner and beautiful setting in a cocoon for dinner by the river. We did book a few months before our trip so we could get the cocoon and it was well worth it. We had the wine pairing with the discovery menu and all dishes were absolutely delicious and the presentation was "wow" factor. Our waiter was brilliant and ran the degustation from start to finish perfectly, I think his name was Asryi and he was fantastic, a real asset to the restaurant. We heard from a few people that this restaurant and Blanco per mandif are two of the best in Ubud. Mandapa beats Blanco Per Mandif in every way; food , service, ambience, I could go on and on. Mandapa is miles and miles ahead by far ! My only diss-appointment of our holiday was that we didn't get to come back again. You must go , you will love it ! We will be back.

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Debbie B,
It was a pleasure to have you visiting Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, in Ubud for your dinner in Kubu, our signature restaurant by the Ayung river!
We appreciate all your wonderful comments about our facilities, the wine pairing, the menu and the service offered by our Ladies and Gentlemen. Most importantly your reference to Asri who is very thankful and proud to be recognized for her service and dedication.
We look forward to welcome you back to our village in the very near future and hopefully for a stay.
Best regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Mandapa is a must! I travel 180 days a year and Mandapa is the most magical resort I've ever stayed in. There's a reason it was rated #1 in Asia and consistently is in the top ten resort lists in the world!
The resort is set off a dramatic hillside, among undulating rice paddies and beside Bali's largest river in Ubud, Bali's artistic and spiritual center and one of the most mystical spots on earth. The combination of this stunning property with the mysticism of Ubud and the genuine kindness and superb training of the staff make Mandapa a cut above almost any spot on earth. No detail is too small: from every nook and cranny of the construction, to the beautiful Bali decor, to the attention of staff remembering how you take your coffee and what sports teams your children love, to the ancient healers who come to the spa for treatments. If you've ever been to Bali you know the kindness and spirituality of its people is genuine; at Mandapa that is combined with legendary Ritz-Carlton training to bring it to another level. In addition, Mandapa is not a huge resort overridden with people. They purposefully limited the number of Suites and villas to keep it relaxed and exclusive. Yet there are many activities on the property and tons of things to do around Ubud.
A special thanks to our butler Stephanie and her assistant Sharon for being so kind and helpful, as well as to Anna, Reka and the entire staff. What a special place!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Emason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Emason1,
On behalf of all Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve team, I would like to thank you for staying with us for your holiday in Bali.
Thank you very much for all your amazing comments about our facilities, the view and the service offered by our Ladies and Gentlemen.
Most importantly, your reference to Stephanie, your Patih (Butler), Sharon and Reka who were very grateful for the recognition to their service and dedication.
We look forward to welcome you back to Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve in the very near future!
Best regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We are just about to check out of the Mandapa and can't speak more highly of this incredible hotel. My husband is already planning our next visit. We have 2 children, a 3.5 year old and a 7 month old baby. The combination of a family friendly hotel with the pure beauty and luxury of this hotel Is world class. We stayed in a suite which was spacious with all the amenities you would need... the heated electronic toilet/bidet was a real hit with our son. The room was set up with an extra bed and also a cot with a very large balcony that overlooks the the resort and onto the wall of tropical greenery and river.

The room decor is very tastefully done and high quality with a traditional Balinese feel, which is what we were looking for (previously we have stayed at Chedi Club and Komanika Tangauda). Complimentary unlimited water with a range of ammenities and little touches like fresh fruit, and small sweets brought to your room around 5 every night.

The hotel is only 2 years old but sits in the landscape like it's been here for 100. The gardens and rice paddies are immaculate, vast and incredible.

The hotel is on a steep slope so transportation around the hotel can be done via small paths and stairs, or on the Buggy system. You call a Buggy and within a minute there is one waiting for you, which was handy with the kids and pram.

The pool is stunning overlooking the rice paddies and river with a great menu for dinning, they offer complimentary water, fresh coconuts and fruit every time you go down.

The kids club is free and brilliant, the staff are so caring and attentive. George our son was shown around and got to feed a cow and also a rabbit.

Breakfast is a true pleasure overlooking the river and gardens. They offer a great range of Western and Asian cuisine and the coffee is GOOD and plentiful.

The staff as you would expect are faultless. Friendly, attentive and passionate. They love their jobs and that shows. We found out through many conversations that allot of the staff are locals, employed as part of a village hotel program. This is a good thing! These people work hard long hours so having good working conditions is important.

Our Patih - Niti (personal Buttler) was amazing, making sure that every aspect of our holiday was perfect. No request is too much trouble for them wether it's a last min babysitter, bottle sterilisation or every morning having fresh baby food waiting for us at breakfast. Everyone seemed to know our names... even our babies which is very nice.

It was our anniversary so we booked dinner at Kubu their fine dinning restaurant (which is excellent and great value and the location ) and as we were about to leave Niti came to greet us with a bouquet of Frangipani and a chocolate cake. Very thoughtful and kind.

It's not cheap... but worth every cent.
I didn't not think we can stay anywhere else in Bali now, it's that good!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank charlottechambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear charlottechambers,
It was a pleasure to have you staying at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, in Ubud for your family holiday!
We appreciate all your very detailed comments about our facilities, design, landscaping, amenities, view of the surrounding and service offered by our Ladies and Gentlemen. Most importantly your reference to Niti, you Patih (Butler), who is very thankful and proud to be recognized for her service and dedication.
Thank you also for your highlight about the food and Kubu, our signature restaurant by the Ayung River, as well as for Mandapa Camp, our special kids club.
We were thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and to know that “you don't think you can stay anywhere else in Bali now”.
We look forward to welcome you and your Family back to our village in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here after a 3 night stay at the Hanging Gardens and wow were we impressed!
We booked a villa with our own pool, it was beautiful and so modern and high end. Every inch of this place is designed with high thought process.
Our butler, Yosi, was so knowledgeable, very useful and gracious. We bought many souvenirs in Bali and she suggested we ship them. They took care of everything for us including packing.
The food at the resort was amazing, anything you order tastes great!
Even though we had our own pool, we swam at the main pool one day and the service there was great too.

This place is the best! I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WorldTravelerDC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear WorldTravelerDC1,
It was a great pleasure to have you staying at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, in Ubud for your holiday!
We appreciate all your amazing comments about our facilities, the design, the food and wine, and service offered by our Ladies and Gentlemen. Most importantly your reference to Yossi, you Patih (Butler). She is very thankful and proud to be recognized for her service and dedication.
We were thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back to our village in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Being whisked through the top of the Mandapa in Ubud was like being taken through heavens gate itself. What a view, what an experience. The spa was the most quiet, serene experience, we stayed there for quite a while and also enjoyed watching the rafters round the corner of the river. All the staff we interacted with were extremely pleasant and professional. Also the restaurant was sublime, (see own review.) Two thumbs up for the Ritz - we will be sure to stay here next time. If you are in doubt, just go!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbird0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Travelbird0505,
It was a pleasure to have you staying at Mandapa, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, in Ubud for your holiday!
Thank you very much for your amazing comments about our facilities, the view, the restaurant and the service offered by our Ladies and Gentlemen.
We were thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and to know that “you will be sure to stay here next time”.
We look forward to welcome you back to our village in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews