We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and lovely setting!”
Review of Murni's Warung

Murni's Warung
Ranked #83 of 768 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Murni's Warung has received the 2017 Experts’ Choice Award. The only travel award based on professional reviews, Experts’ Choice reflects recommendations in leading travel guides, magazines and newspapers and recognizes Murni's Warung as one of the best restaurants in Bali. Murni, the owner of the equally famous Murni's Houses and the Award-winning Tamarind Spa, opened Ubud's first real restaurant in 1974 and it remains first in the hearts of many people today. The menu is varied and delicious and you can enjoy your drinks and meals and surf the Web using the free WiFi on one of four levels overlooking the river. Level 1: When you enter Murni's Warung, the first thing you'll notice is the view of the greenery on the river's hillside. The steel cable in the foreground supports the bridge next door. On the way to your table, you'll walk past a display cabinet of cakes and pastries that you should take a look at -- just so you'll know how much room to save for dessert. The restaurant is decorated with art from Murni's collection, including the small carvings high on the walls. Level 2: The large statue of Ganesha, the Elephant God, that greets you in the Lounge Bar was commissioned in 1997 and completed in early 2002. He and Murni are about the same height. This is a great place to have cocktails or meet friends for a drink. You can also eat here. Level 3: We generally reserve this level for parties, wedding receptions and birthday parties or when the Warung is overflowing. It can seat about 50-60 people. Level 4: And finally you arrive just above the river. You'll enjoy the sound of flowing water with your candlelit dinner in the midst of exotic surroundings. Murni's Warung Shop is a good place to wander in while you are waiting for your meal. And enjoy our books, Forty Delicious Years and Secrets of Bali.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely setting!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had our lunch here during our last day of our stay in Ubud and regretted for not trying out this place much earlier. The 4 levels restaurant is really special and with lots of antics displayed(the owner is a collector!). We were sitting on the lowest level of the restaurant next to the small stream of river which is really nice and comfortable with lovely view. We had bebek bertutu and nasi campur, which taste delicious and reasonably priced. Would definitely visit again if we return to Ubud next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LayShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for visiting and writing. I'm glad that you had great food and enjoyed the bebek bertutu and nasi campur,and they tasted delicious and were reasonably priced. I'm pleased that you would definitely visit again and hope you can. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    430
    124
    50
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Sat on 4th level near river. Saw a monitor lizard basking. Stunning setting and good service however food was disappointing. First guests at around 11:45am had special bbq skewers and jaffle. Chicken and beef was raw on skewer. Expectation of standards was higher. Jaffle small and expensive considering local competition.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for visiting. I'm pleased that the setting was stunning setting and you had good service. I hope that you can come back and try some of our other dishes, which I am sure you will enjoy. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent on All Levels”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed all our meals here. Delicious local food served in an amazing location. This restaurant is an historic landmark in Ubud. Very reasonable prices and nice service. No hesitation in recommending it as well as the very interesting shop. The owner has written several books on Ubud.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the congratulations. I'm delighted that you enjoyed it so much. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataram, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location n taste”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Come here on a visit to ubud and have a nice lunch...everything is fresh n delicious..the price is right too..quiet, traditional ambience n nice staffs..

Helpful?
Thank bayusuteja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for visiting us. I'm pleased that everything is fresh and delicious and the price is right too. I hope you can come back. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Balinese food with a great view.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Murni's Warung is a great location for a dinner set against a river valley. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and the dinner was very good. Check out the 4 levels before choosing a place to sit - they have a cosy bar area with comfortable seating. The duck and slow cooked chicken were very good... Service was good albeit a bit too personal for my liking. I would however recommend it. A selection of international cuisine if Balinese food is not to your liking... Take plenty of mosquito spray!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for visiting. I'm pleased that Murni's Warung is a great location for a dinner and you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and the dinner was very good. I hope that you can come back. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Murni's Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing