We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, beautiful view and "bang for your buck"!”
Review of Murni’s Warung

Murni’s Warung
Ranked #85 of 820 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Murni's Warung Resaurant received the 2017 Experts’ Choice Award. The only travel award based on professional reviews in leading travel guides, magazines and newspapers and recognizes Murni's Warung as one of the best restaurants in Bali. Murni, the owner of Murni's Houses and the Award-winning Tamarind Spa, opened Ubud's first real restaurant in 1974. There are 4 levels overlooking the river. Free Wifi. The restaurant is decorated with art from Murni's collection. Level 2: The Lounge Bar has been nominated by Honeycombers Bali in the Top 9 Best Bars in Ubud. You can eat here and drink cocktails. Level 3: We generally reserve this level for parties, wedding receptions and birthday parties. Level 4: Finally you arrive just above the river. You'll enjoy the sound of flowing waters in the amazing tropical jungle during a candlelit dinner. Murni's Warung Shop is a good place to wander while you wait for your meal. And enjoy our books, Forty Delicious Years and Secrets of Bali.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although we ate at Bridges, Mozaic, Taco Casa and the like during our wonderful two week stay in Ubud our absolute favourite place to hang out and eat was Murni's warung.

There are numerous reasons why Murni's was the place we liked to revisit the most:
- fabulous views akin to those found at Bridges across the bridge
- amazing service from the friendliest staff ever
- delicious local food
- cheap cheap cheap! (We paid $15 for two people to eat full large meals with drinks)
- range of Balinese food options

There were some things that could detract from your visit - Murni's does for example not make high end posh food, they make home cooked good cheap food. So if you are looking for something a bit more gourmet than this is not the place for you. Furthermore Murni's best food is the local food they prepare when trying to emulate foreign cuisine it was not as fabulous.

Overall Murni's is still our favourite. Their nasi campur and chap cay warmed us and our hearts - keep an open mind and eat their local food and you certainly won't regret your trip to this special place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FroggayFroggay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni’s Warung, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

I'm very pleased that Murni's Warung is your absolute favourite place to hang out and eat. I hope that you can come back. Murni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 615 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is oriented to river, so you can eat in very calm comfortable place just near the main Ubud road.
People are friendly and service is great.
The Indonesian meal was delicious (bebek betutu - traditional Balinese receipt for duck, as well as fried noodles). Just the order of "special offer of the day", gnocchi with tomatoes, was not good choice. My advice: don't try European meals and believe them only for their traditional Indonesian cuisine

1  Thank Zuzana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni’s Warung, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

I am glad that our people are friendly and the service is great and that you like Indonesian food. I hope that you have a great time in Bali. Murni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This warung is just down from Tjampuhan spa hotel, we really enjoyed our meal hear, then afterwards we checked out their shop. Great silver items..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni’s Warung, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for highly recommending Murni's Warung. I'm delighted that you really enjoyed your meal and also that you liked my shop. Murni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Fish was good, as was the nasi goreng. Staff were excellent and so friendly, even going so far as to describe how they make the black rice pudding, which was delicious. Good value for money too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlmaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni’s Warung, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

I'm very pleased that the food was good and that the staff were excellent. I'm also happy that it was good value. Murni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found this place by chance, just wandering around and on the way back to our hotel. We enjoyed it so much that we had a lunch and dinner there. The staff were great and it was almost like a meal with the family, they would have a chat and discuss the food or Ubud .... The place is well priced and good location/view ....
The Bali Caramel Cake is to die for.

Thank Murray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murni W, Owner at Murni’s Warung, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for coming for both lunch and dinner. I'm happy that you enjoyed great food, service and people and that it is well priced. Murni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murni’s Warung also viewed

 

Been to Murni’s Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing