We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomad

Nomad
Ranked #110 of 714 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Nomad Restaurant is one of the pioneer restaurant in Ubud. Serves asian fusion, balinese to international cuisine, the taste of the archipelago. Do not miss our Tapas Balinese.
Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were quite disappointed by the quality of food and service. The restaurant was highly recommended but quite a let down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RPSPanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    669
    253
    71
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Made my day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a stressful journey to Ubud, and a stressful check-in at our hotel, my day was not quite going to plan. After finding Nomad however, my mood definitely lifted!

The food was beautiful and the atmosphere was really good too. On top of that, the staff were very helpful and accommodating as well. We have a 2.5 year old daughter, so keeping her happy while we eat is imperative. Of course, first on the check list is a highchair, which Nomad staff provided and immediately made our dinner-time that much more manageable.

They didn't have a child's menu, but our choice of the day's special, chicken wrapped in bacon, and tagliatelle chicken with mushroom sauce and Parmesan cheese, were easily shared with our daughter and loved by all of us. She also had a banana and honey milkshake which was delicious.

Finally, the location was great. It's right in the heart of Ubud town center and at 5.30pm when we were eating, there were numerous colourful ceremonies walking down the street playing drums and other musical instruments, which also kept us occupied. Great people-watching.

Overall, a very enjoyable meal and will likely return before we leave Ubud.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonscubachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I visited Nomad summoned by a local hotel recommendation. The starter was below average and the staff very uninterested, so I left even before ordering the main dish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maciej O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good food, nice decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited Nomad as it was recommended by someone. Had dinner and tried the tapas - very tasty and filling. The staff were honest and friendly and all in all, we had a good time...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mkris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

In one word: delicious! From Indonesian to Western cuisine, this place has it all and the taste is marvelous!
I would highly recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Wesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad also viewed

 

Been to Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing