We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden paradise in a paddy field”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Swimming Pool
swimming pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joping93
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise in a paddy field”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is not easy to find Moshka Villas without using their transportation services because it is not located along the main street. But thats gives it the beauty of tranquillity, which is what I enjoyed throughout our stay

We were warmly greeted by a female staff ( long hair) and provided a large option of breakfast choices . We could choose to eat in at our front porch or the common area, which we gladly chose our front porch. Provided us some privacy and it was really romantic.

Rooms and toilet were cleaned everyday and towels are replenished twice daily. Despite the occasional cricket and dragonflies visiting us, we were glad there arnt many mosquitoes. We were told by Mega, the owner that they do harvest the crops in the paddy field and eat them. How cool! Will return:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Dear, Joping
Warmest Greeting from The Moksha Ubud - Bali, We would like to thank you for your time taken to write this beautiful review on this pages and shared your truly experience with us based on your stayed. Your highlight regarding the hospitality and the friendliness of out team members at The Moksha Ubud is highly appreciated. Also we are so glad to know that you have safe travel back home to your country. We miss you already my second family and do look forward to welcoming you back home again on your next trip to Bali. All the best for you!
Best Regards,
The Moksha Family:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diannasau...
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Feels more like staying with your family or friends”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a truly lovely surprise..... nestled in the rice fields is this quiet little oasis with everything that you need. Moksha was so convenient to town, great spa's, delish restaurants and the generally fascinating hustle that is Ubud. You won't be able to park at the door, but a small walk down a lane is is small price to pay for this seclusion and peace and quiet!

The rooms are comfy, fresh, modern with a Balinese touch and quite new. The biggest bonus was that there is only 4 rooms which assured us of personal service and peace and quiet! The only things we'd have wished for was suitcase stand and a little dress length hanging space (no biggie, just on the wish list). A small fridge in our room or communal area would be welcomed too, but we were able to chill a few small items in the kitchen fridge, (limited space however). New signage at street level at the end of the lane at the main access point would help our drivers and taxis identify where this new business is exactly (was a bit difficult without it).

Mega and Anda (and cute as a button bubby Cleo), and all their very attentive staff, were so gracious and friendly and really couldn't do enough for us. The food here will not disappoint, it's oh so yummy, from the delish and super refreshing afternoon teas complete with sweet treats and superb fresh homemade iced lemongrass teas, right through to the incredible, huge and always interesting breakys. Staff always wore a smile and were very gracious and the special notes and sweet treats placed in your room each night while we were out was a caring and thoughtful touch.

The pool is lovely even though it got pretty warm in the heat of a Nov Bali afternoon. Being nestled in beautifully manicured gardens surrounded by rice paddies it was lovely to sit and just be.... especially interesting to see the rice in various stages of the harvest. We had some friends (a local Balinese couple) join us one afternoon, and it was great that they were welcome to take a swim with us too. Such a welcoming and family atmosphere.

Moksha's location to town, the Royal Palace, cultural performances, superb restaurants, monkey forest etc was super convenient - 5 to 10 minutes walk to get to just about everything, though in Nov the heat and humidity was full on... so we usually opted to grab a taxi (so cheap) found quickly out on the main street a 1 minute walk from the hotel. At night you can't hear a single thing from your room, it is so quiet you won't believe you are this close to the crazy traffic of the main drag a mere few hundred metres away.

Our stay was great and we'll be booking in again for sure on our return next year. Thanks for the warm welcome and great hospitality Anda and Mega..... love your work and we are looking forward to seeing you all again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly staff, clean and fresh, nestled in an amazingly quiet location!
Liked least: No fridge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noura Y
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cosiest Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The host and his wife (Mega and Anda) were waiting for me at the airport arrivals and I was thrilled to see them. They had the biggest smiles that could light up any jet lagged soul. Always welcoming with a BIG heart and without being intrusive.

Every morning Anda would whip up the most delicious "homemade" breakfasts that lifted and fueled me up for the day with a western-indonesian influenced a la carte menu from Balinese traditional sweets, the best poached eggs, different local herbal infused teas, fresh juices, sweet pancakes with grated coconut and palm sugar (highly addictive!). The rooms were very clean, modern, airy, fresh and overlook the beautiful pool. The semi outdoor shower and notes left on a leaf, on the bed are just a few of the highlights. You get the feeling that you're in a cool private boutique hotel without the frills. Cut off from the hustle of Ubud's streets but literally a 5 minute walk to Raya Ubud. Excellent location. When I needed to get to the hospital one day, Mega sorted me out with a phone call and transportation. THAT is 5 star service. When the internet was up and down, Mega came up with different solutions to help. That is beyond 5 star service especially as they were working round the clock attending to other guests. Their home became home away from home and I absolutely loved being part of their family. Excellent location as a solo female traveler and you'll never feel like you "can't find the owners" - they are there. Always. Thank you guardian angels!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homemade breakfasts whipped up with love by Anda. And the amazing hospitality by Mega. Ok that's two!
Liked least: Sketchy Wifi that dropped a few days - a blessing in disguise? :)
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelkee...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The best part of the place was perhaps its setting. Surrounded by rice fields all around!
The place is peaceful, cozy and comfortable. Rooms were spacious and clean.
Staff was very friendly, generous and helpful.
We really enjoyed the leisurely breakfasts and the quiet and greenery. It was really peaceful spending time here.
In short, it was a great stay!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturalhe...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If only I could keep this place my little secret forever.......but that would be a terrible injustice”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Well Fellow Travelers

I have to say flat out....This place takes the cake...This is rather embarrassing. I intentionally don't have any form of social media and have never written any reviews on any websites prior to signing up with Tripadvisor. My sincere apologies for my selfishness. But after staying at the Moksha..... I felt absolutely compelled, almost obligated. Stumbling upon this property was truly a blessing in disguise. If it weren't for a discrepancy with one of my prior bookings, I may have easily missed out on this spot.

The Moksha is owned and operated by Mega and his charming wife Nanda. They are two of the most hospitable, personable and humble folks I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. It made our stay feel as comfortable as be home, and like returning to somewhere familiar. This unassuming little property is located just a moments walk from the main strip and surrounded by a flourishing rice field. It is as chic and trendy as any Upper East Side boutique, yet quiet and simple as a well cultured vinyasa yoga studio. It's decor is light and vibrant, elegant and upscale without being goddy. Talk about clean, this place is practically aseptic..... plus they are eco friendly....HELLO!. I can only imagine how difficult that must be to maintain these high standards while being situated in the middle of a rice field, but they manage to do so. Even still, they politely warned us of bugs and such, none of which were ever an issue.

And the breakfast!.....the breakfast was divine! To think; we almost passed it up, with the assumption it would be mediocre as many complimentary breakfasts often are. Boy were we wrong. Newly pressed juices utilizing only the freshest of local herbs. Perfectly caramelized bacon, eggs prepared to your liking topping golden brown toast . An array of freshly cut fruit salad over a bed of creamy yogurt lightly topped with a fresh mint. Dessert was equally great...but I won't spoil it for you Did I mention this was all FREE! On top of this all, the plating and presentation was pure art. I still refuse to believe Nanda had never received any kind of formal training.


I could write on and on...About the pool....The linens...About their bathroom...The fixtures ....All reminiscent of a high end 5 star day spa. And the bidet...lol! Although it was far from my first time using one, The Moksha actually inspired me to voluntarily install one at home. For the Mrs. of course, lol......

Being blessed to reside in Waikiki, growing up in the SF Bay Area and having family roots frequenting NYC(Manhattan), not to mention my decent repertoire of international travels...backpacking, hosteling, Four Seasoning, Ritz Carltoning....Having lived as both pauper and king.... I can honestly and confidently say ,The Moksha is an experience. My hats off to Mega and Nanda. You got something really special going on.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trubui
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing spot in Ubud”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My friend Christina and I stayed at the Moksha Ubud for one night. If we had known how wonderful Mega and Anda were and how pristine the villa was we would have stayed longer. We arrived late because our fast boat was delayed but Mega was nice enough to pick us up from the Ubud Palace.

The breakfast that Anda made was amazing. She is a really good cook. The room was clean and spacious. It did have a modern feel to it. The view from the room looking out into the pool and rice fields are beautiful. Mega and Anda and the whole staff were very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely come back and stay for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool and view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible !!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

One advice: Do not wait, book this place!

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 nights at the Moksha hotel in August and it was undoubtedly the best place we have stayed at during our Indonesian holidays.

This quiet hotel, located in the middle of beautiful rice fields but still close to the Monkey Forest street and the center of Ubud (no more than 5 minutes by foot) is truly one of a kind.

Mega and Anda, the two young owner of this place, are the most friendly people ever, and will do anything to please you. They are extremely available and their English is excellent.

Every day Anda prepares you an amazing breakfast, including tea, different juices, bread pancakes, balinese specialties, fruits etc. In the afternoon, it's tea time, so Anda prepares you a tea (or juice, she really tries to provide you what you want).

The swimming pool is very nice and quiet. The rooms are brand new, quiet, very clean and confortable (the mattress is excellent). The bathroom is also very nice and clean (sometimes hard to find in Indonesia...)

In one word, we could not have been happier about an hotel, and we really recommend it to anyone willing to spend an amazing time in Ubud for a reasonable price!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breakfast
Liked least: Nothing... really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;