We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean, broken - Go elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden View Cottage
Ranked #150 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unclean, broken - Go elsewhere.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Well as per my previous review my expectations were high. Way too high. I was so disappointed with this place that I cut short my stay. Where do I start! The overhead fan was broken so had to use the air-conditioner that only had an on or off setting, no just fan. The bed had a piece of plywood under the mattress that creaked and cracked every time you moved. There was a power point hanging dangerously out of the wall in the bathroom. Black mould around the shower and the toilet looked and smelt like it had never been touched with bleach! Forget the in room wifi, if you can get a connection to even send an email you are winning. This sends you down to pay for the computers in the foyer. Pluses ... The gardens are beautiful. The property is set right back from the road. The staff are all very friendly and likeable. This just did not weigh in against the negatives for me. Very disappointed.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve JW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a pre stay post. I thought I would share my experiences before checkin, my perceptions before and then compare with my actual experience. I found the Garden View on Trip Advisor. I was looking for a quiet place close to the Ubud sanctuary that I will be attending for three weeks. I was looking for an economical place to say and I believe this bungalow ticks the boxes without sacrificing comfort. I will share more as my stay in Ubud progresses, further to my experiences in Singapore.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve JW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a nice little hotel with rooms with rooms with air conditioning, free wifi and friendly staff, The Bath room was old, but things was working. There was a nice view form the room, that had a small balcony. The Hotel had a nice little pool, It server a nice breakfirst and was a good hotel considering the price :o)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seward
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

No roosters so the mornings are quiet. Breakfast is great. Staff is superb. Rainy season makes the pool a little murky. Other than that its all you need to relax in a tropical paradise. Not a lot of traffic and off the main tourist paths so you don't get hassled like most of Ubud.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewardwatertaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed for 5 days in October. I love to stay in the Nyuh Kuning area. It is a beautiful walk into Ubud and away from all the business. Because I booked in the last minute, not much was available during this time, so I ended up in Garden View. The Balcony and the view were great.The room was ok. The bathroom was terrrible.I dont know why, but in general the place had a sad feeling to it and needs an Uplift. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I just spend my holiday in Ubud and found this hotel. It’s a peaceful place very close to monkey forest and surrounded by rice farm. So I can take a walk just 5 minutes to monkey forest, 10 minutes ubud palace, everything seem close from this hotel . Many old trees around nyuh kuning makes this place green and natural. I think the hotel is just renovated, I love the new clean room and the bathroom also. They have open style bathroom with garden looks clean and luxurious.
I like the breakfast, in the first day they server banana pancake with honey and lemon and in the next morning they offer black rice pudding with brown sugar and young coconut. Good breakfast.
Close the hotel there is Laka Leke restaurant with green garden and nice view, good choice to lunch and dinner, I recommend to try their frayed crispy duck, the hotel staff tell me this is their famous menu.
Three nights stay on this hotel the staff is very friendly. One of them offer us to join the tours to kintamani, so we go to Kintamani and seeing the coffee plantation, lake batur and the dance performance. I love this place

Room Tip: Bungalow with 2 floor good for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed for two nights in a new cottage. The older ones are being renovated, but were far, so we were not bothered by the noise. We had a whole cottage for us, as we were 4 persons. The bedroom upstairs had a fantastic view on the rice paddies. The living room on the groundfloor was spacious, but we didn't use it at all, because we preferred to stay in the small garden and in the porch with our friends. The staff was friendly but the breakfast not so rich. We chose this accomodation when we were already in Ubud and after visiting it, and we were very satisfied for the comfort and the price. I loved the swimming pool lapis lazuli.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annalecce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#161 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#145 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#133 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#175 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#174 of 199 in Ubud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Cottage

Property: Garden View Cottage
Address: Jl. Nyuh Kuning | Nyuh Kuning Village (Monkey Forest Road), Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden View Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden view cottage Ubud offers a wide green view of rice terrace to hide out and rest. We are located in the traditional village of Nyuh Kuning. Only 10 minutes to the monkey forest, shopping area, and restaurants of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottage Hotel Ubud
Garden View Cottage Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing