We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy duck palace - smoked, chili-smothered, deep-fried”
Review of Bebek Bengil

Bebek Bengil
Ranked #217 of 731 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NYC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Touristy duck palace - smoked, chili-smothered, deep-fried”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

You can't' miss this place! It's a huge restaurant unlike most restaurants in Ubud. Almost feels commercialized compared to the quaint food places in Ubud. The setting is magnificent, with a mini rice paddy in the middle of the restaurant. There are booths available, request one if you could. Had the snails stuffed in mushroom with chili sauce & crispy duck entree as recommended by the server, it wasn't bad. It was on the lean side ( & the rice portion is small) so we had to order appetizers again (duck spring rolls) after our main course. My husband and I went here as an alternative to a nearby place that sells suckling pig (it closed early). This definitely is the most expensive restaurant we paid for. Glad we tried it but Fair Warung has much better good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenArcherNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    731
    543
    220
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique deep fried duck”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The food serve was delicious and unique but i do not like the fact that when we pay for the dinner the staff did not even bother to return us the change. If the service is really good customer would definitely give tips but to deliberately not return change and assume "Keep the change" is not the right practice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EPM_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BebekBengil, Manager at Bebek Bengil, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Customer

We apologize for the bad experience that you get when visit to Bebek Bengil.
For events that you experienced we will follow up and make socialization with our employees.
Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and it is not becoming common in our place.
Staff found guilty of cheating then we will act firmly.
Final words give us the opportunity to be able to welcome you back in Bebek Bengil for the next visit.

Best Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, wished the food match the view.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had dinner there with a girlfriend, we both got the crispy duck. The duck was dry, small and not very flavorful. Atmosphere was good but for $20 dollars (200,000 Rupiah, which is a lot for Ubud) there are plenty of other dining choices with better tasting food. I wanted to like it so much but it was disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tzu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overrated!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I'm an Indonesian. Honestly I think the restaurant is a bit overrated. Sure it has nice scenery, and the service was great, but my main goal for visiting any restaurant would be the foods. I have tasted way better "bebek bengil" dish, which is their signature. This place might be good in the past like what other reviewer says, but I guess they couldn't maintain that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bentley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, good food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The view over the rice paddies is lovely and the food is good. This place is HUGE, and walking through at night is beautiful, lots of lights spread throughout the open air layout. Although we liked it, we preferred smaller more local venues while visiting Ubud. The value was OK, but you might find better food at a better price in more local places. We had the duck which was surprisingly not our favorite of the things we ordered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cvb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bebek Bengil also viewed

 

Been to Bebek Bengil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing