We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best ever stay thanks to Kusuma and Dewi”
other travellers have booked this property
Full view of rice fields, from anywhere in the villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full view of rice fields, from anywhere in the villa
Specutaculer view of rice fields Private Pool/9.5×3m View from above. Perfectly in the ricefields!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Full view of rice fields, from anywhere in the villa
Specutaculer view of rice fields Private Pool/9.5×3m
View from above. Perfectly in the ricefields!
View from above. It's all for you!
Welcome to the hidden paradise.
Villa staff, KUSUMA and DEWI, will stand by for your pleasant stay.
Villa in the rice fields
9.5×3m private pool with sundeck
Private pool with sundeck
Relax and enjoy!!
Yoga at the morning pool side, the best way to start the day.
Bedroom with King size bed
Bedroom with King size bed
Bathroom with tub and shower booth
Bathroom with tub and shower booth
Floor Plan. 2 bedrooms with bathroom and 1 living and dining room.
Clean towels provided everyday
Closet with safety box
Single wash bassin
Welcome fruits
Nashi Goreng break fast
Fresh fruits every morning.
Breakfast in villa served by private maid
Watching ducks from the pool, is just relax!
Living & Dining area with comfortable sofa.
Kitchen and counter table.
Amenity
Sun set time
Night scene with candle light at GUSKU.
Only the nature sounds at night.
Villa has its own small temple.
Praying every day for love and happiness.
Sunrise view from the villa.
Nearest supermarket in 5 minutes walk
Nearest supermarket in 5 minutes walk
Nearest supermarket in 5 minutes walk
Baby cot provided in villa.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dean m
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best ever stay thanks to Kusuma and Dewi”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thanks Kusuma and Dewi for making us part of your family and making your villa our home from home.
Peace and quite stunning views day and night approx 20 min or so walk into Ubud markets.
See you in March I hope..

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your stay and being a part of villa GUSKU family !
We also hope to welcome you back to home in Ubud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJL111
1 review
“THE place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had an absolutely lovely stay in Villa Gusku and would definitely recommend this spot to any of our family and friends. Kusuma and Dewi welcomed us into their family and home with open arms. The house itself is amazing and every need was covered. Would love to come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for your stay and helping us to making a Penjor!
And we are very pleased with such a nice review.
We are looking forward to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julicia
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem you never think would exist in Ubud”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Villa Gusku is not for the faint hearted. :) I'm talking about the narrow path in the middle of rice-field leading to the villa itself. As we are travelling with my 7 month young baby and 4 year old son, the narrow path can be quite challenging. My fit 63 year old mother managed it well though. :)

However, having tackled the path to the villa, once you arrive, you'll forget them all the bustling city problem you had before. It was a crazily mesmerizing view villa, located in front of rice-paddies and tall tropical coconut trees, accompanied by sound of small river, wind and bird chirping.

Despite the openness of the villa, you never feel intruded by rice-field farmer gawking or things like that. Pak Kusuma, the villa manager was very welcoming since the beginning until the end, making us feel like part of his own family. We even got the chance to meet his beautiful mother while passing prayer to what she called, the plant's God for fertile soil and fruitful plants.

Pak Kusuma's wife ensures that we stay fully fed at all times. :) She made beautiful breakfast in the morning, can run small errands if you're too lazy to leave the villa (which I'm sure you'd do so too), and she even got local older man to pick coconuts fresh off the tree in front of our pool, where we can see it. Exciting!

There's no cable TV in the villa, and the internet runs just okay but we are looking to escape the wild wild world and Villa Gusku is perfect for just that.

Hesitate no more, click to book and especially if you are a couple or even better, honeymooners, you'll never want to leave.

Thank you Villa Gusku, for making our short getaway so memorable. :)

Love from Seminyak.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefullnes, surrounded by nature, stand-by staff
Liked least: Narrow path leading to villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your stay and taking your time for this review.
That was our pleasure to have you as Villa Gusku family.
We hope you will come back to your home in Ubud soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nan L
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surrounded by beautiful rice paddies”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

the rice fields which surrounded the villa made it a unique experience. On our last day, the farmers actually came to harvest the rice! The infinity pool is great. Many thanks to Kusuma, the person-in-charge & his wife Dewi who cooked for us. If you want a quiet & unhurried holiday, come here. Our bedroom side door opens towards the nature as well. The only small hiccup is that access is slightly challenging as we have to walk thru the rice fields to enter so it may not be suitable for elderly/disabled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rice paddies
Liked least: access is challenging for the elderly as we have to walk thru the rice paddies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us during your holiday, and gave us a nice review.
We are looking forward to see you again in villa GUSKU.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailking2...
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have the pleasure of living on this beautiful island for part of the year so forever looking for "THE PLACE TO STAY ".

On this occasion Villa Gusku was perfect. As we search the Internet many places state that they are quite and in the rice field..
Villa Gusku is true to it's word....so quite and in the rice field.

Located down a small gang in the ricefield sets a romantic picture. Good sized pool, clean, comfortable beds, tasty breakfasts prepared by our beautiful hostess, Dewi.

Her husband, Kusuma works in hospitality, understands the requirements to make a perfect holiday and goes beyond the call of duty to ensure you enjoy your stay.

I would highly recommend this villa over many others that I have stayed in. It is a little way out of town, not to far to walk but the footpaths are up and down. Kusuma can arrange transport to and from town for a reasonable price.

Thanks Miho, Kusuma and Dewi....we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review.
It was our pleasure to hosting you in VillaGUSKU.
We all hope that you will come back to your home in Ubud again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGardiner...
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The villa was incredibly private and beautiful. The infinity pool was gorgeous. The rooms were very clean and pretty with large glass doors and two sides of the room. Kusuma, the manager of the villa, was so friendly and helpful. He organized ladies to come in and give us massages at late notice an This is a place to stay if you want to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Thank you for your stay and review!
We all are looking forward to welcoming you again to your home in Ubud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzSheila
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a week long stay at Villa Gusku.

The host, Kusuma kindly arranged transport to and from the Airport.

The Villa is situated in a quiet, residential part of Ubud, set amidst the ubiquitous rice paddies that one never tires of seeing. At night there was nothing but silence with the stars overhead in the clear evening skies.

The Villa is only newly built and finished to a high standard. It is serviced daily and beds turned down each night.

The pool is the hi-light of the property, totally private and a welcome relief from the heat of the day. We spent many hours just lazing by the pool happy to take in the serenity of the setting.

Kusuma & Dewi are consummate hosts; happy to accommodate most requests and make sure your stay is pleasurable. They are proud of their culture and happy to answer any multitude of questions from curious guests.

The Villa is located about a 15-20 minute walk to town but Kusuma is happy to offer a lift if he is around or put you in contact with a driver who can be at your disposal for a AUD$5 fare each time.

We understand that scooter hire can also be organised.

We were provided with a mobile phone FOC with which we could use to contact Kusuma if needed and/or use for local numbers.

A mini bar is provided at cost – this saved us going to the supermarket. Had we wished Kusuma would have been happy to source other selections eg wine.

We awoke each morning to a beautifully prepared breakfast by Dewi. Seasonal fresh fruits and/or juices. Cooked to order mee or nasi goreng. Generous portion sizes. Homemade jams. Other selections were available.

One afternoon Dewi presented us with afternoon tea by the pool. A selection of local sweet treats accompanied by coffee or tea of our choosing.

On the night of our departure Dewi cooked up a delicious Balinese feast which we shared with her and Kusuma around the pool.

There is a fab café – Kakiang Kafe – about a 5 minute walk up the road which was open long hours for coffee, cake, or light meals.

Early one morning we rose to partake in a cycling tour with Kusuma. Drove to a village a short distance away, picked up mountain bikes and spent a leisurely couple of hours riding through villages. We returned to the Villa in time for a late breakfast.

One day Kusuma took us on a tour of the North of the Island visiting Bedugal, the Twin Lakes, Danu Breraton and the Botanical Gardens. A thoroughly enjoyable tour and one we would highly recommend.

On our first and last days, Kusuma arranged for us to have hour long massages at the Villa. The girls were professional and it was lovely not having to trek home from a spa at the conclusion.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Villa Gusku, highly recommend it and indeed we are looking forward to a return visit.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, pool, peace and quiet
Liked least: We had to leave;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you for posting such a positive review!!
We really glad to know that you had a great time in our villa, and were satisfied with hosting by Kusuma and Dewi.
We all wish to say 'welcome home!!' at Villa GUSKU in near future.
Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing